error "illegal command: win" when installing Return to Krondor

Having problems with a specific game or application? Post your problems here!

error "illegal command: win" when installing Return to Krondor

Postby plantfood » 2008-6-08 @ 15:59

I just installed DosBox and am trying to install Return to Krondor. I created a directory for my game and mounted it as the c drive, and mounted the cd-rom drive as the d drive. I switched to the d drive and I can run the directory command and see the file "setup.exe" in the list. However, when I type "setup" or "setup.exe" the prompt says "win setup.exe" and then the error "illegal command: win". I didn't type "win". What am I doing wrong?

Thanks in advance.

Kelly
plantfood
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2008-6-08 @ 15:50

Re: error "illegal command: win" when installing Return to Krondor

Postby leileilol » 2008-6-08 @ 16:05

PRO TIP: Windows games run on Windows
On the virge of being a rendition of a raged voodoo savage with a bundle of TNT leading a revolution into an apocalypse. At speed warp 5, mindnumbed from the geforce
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 5186
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Re: error "illegal command: win" when installing Return to Krondor

Postby DosFreak » 2008-6-08 @ 16:06

Return to Krondor is a Windows game.
User avatar
DosFreak
l33t++
 
Posts: 8573
Joined: 2002-6-30 @ 16:35
Location: Your Head

Re: error "illegal command: win" when installing Return to Krondor

Postby plantfood » 2008-6-09 @ 04:24

Ok, duh, but it's a 16 bit game and I read somewhere else on the Web that 16 bit games run on dosbox because Win 3.1 overlayed dos. Do you have any suggestions on how to run a 16 bit game in win xp?
plantfood
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2008-6-08 @ 15:50

Re: error "illegal command: win" when installing Return to Krondor

Postby leileilol » 2008-6-09 @ 05:29

I dunno, but... have you tried running it in Windows XP!
On the virge of being a rendition of a raged voodoo savage with a bundle of TNT leading a revolution into an apocalypse. At speed warp 5, mindnumbed from the geforce
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 5186
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Re: error "illegal command: win" when installing Return to Krondor

Postby DosFreak » 2008-6-09 @ 10:30

16bit Windows games run fine in Windows XP 32bit.

16bit Windows games only run in DOSBox if you install Windows 3.1 in DOSBox.

Is Return to Krondor a 16bit game? and would it work in Windows 3.1? Since it was released in 1998 somehow I doubt it.


Return to Krondor works fine in Windows XP, duh
User avatar
DosFreak
l33t++
 
Posts: 8573
Joined: 2002-6-30 @ 16:35
Location: Your Head

Re: error "illegal command: win" when installing Return to Krondor

Postby Miki Maus » 2008-6-09 @ 13:18

Both Wikipedia and MobyGames mention that Return to Krondor is game released for Windows 95 which is logical as it came out in 1998.

Offtopic:
Did anybody else notice disturbing trend on Internet where people are recommending DOSBox for any game that doesn't run on WinXP/Vista? It seems that it doesn't matter to them if it was made for DOS or Windows. :disapproving:
Last edited by Miki Maus on 2008-6-09 @ 15:39, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Miki Maus
Member
 
Posts: 197
Joined: 2004-10-18 @ 22:19
Location: Cave

Re: error "illegal command: win" when installing Return to Krondor

Postby wd » 2008-6-09 @ 13:29

That might mean dosbox is too user friendly, let's do something against this!!
wd
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10819
Joined: 2003-12-03 @ 21:23

Re: error "illegal command: win" when installing Return to Krondor

Postby Qbix » 2008-6-09 @ 13:36

agreed
Water flows down the stream
How to ask questions the smart way!
User avatar
Qbix
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 9655
Joined: 2002-11-27 @ 14:50
Location: Fryslan

Re: error "illegal command: win" when installing Return to Krondor

Postby DosFreak » 2008-6-09 @ 13:38

We could make people have to type in pig latin. :)
User avatar
DosFreak
l33t++
 
Posts: 8573
Joined: 2002-6-30 @ 16:35
Location: Your Head

Re: error "illegal command: win" when installing Return to Krondor

Postby collector » 2008-6-09 @ 17:20

inway romfay hetay ommandcay romptpay?
User avatar
collector
l33t
 
Posts: 2410
Joined: 2003-1-15 @ 10:39

Re: error "illegal command: win" when installing Return to Krondor

Postby leileilol » 2008-6-10 @ 05:33

Betrayal of Antara is Win16 though

Return to Krondor is definitely Win32, and also OMG 3D ACCELERATEZED
On the virge of being a rendition of a raged voodoo savage with a bundle of TNT leading a revolution into an apocalypse. At speed warp 5, mindnumbed from the geforce
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 5186
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Re: error "illegal command: win" when installing Return to Krondor

Postby DosFreak » 2008-6-10 @ 09:59

collector wrote:inway romfay hetay ommandcay romptpay?


Esyay eway avehay emthay imetay igpay atinlay inway ethay
ommandcay omppray. Ouldshay etgay idray ofway allway ofway ethay
oobsnay.
User avatar
DosFreak
l33t++
 
Posts: 8573
Joined: 2002-6-30 @ 16:35
Location: Your Head


Return to DOSBox Games/Apps

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest