cmi8738 pci - dos (no FX)

Discussion about old sound cards, MIDI devices and sound related accessories.

cmi8738 pci - dos (no FX)

Postby SpaceOne » 2008-6-29 @ 10:34

Hello

I have cmi 8738 pci sound card (genius sound maker value 5.1)I tried two games in dos 7.1 (pure dos) - Elder scrolls arena and Raptor, and in both games I get only music. So, there is no fx sound (like shooting, or swinging with sword in Arena).

I have this in autoexec.bat.

autoexec.bat
Code: Select all
C:\PCIAUD\SETAUDIO
SET BLASTER=A220 I5 D1 H5 T4
C:\PCIAUD\C3DMIX /MFF000 /FFF000 /WFF000 /L00100 /E00100 /A00100 /C00100 /P00000 /400000 /R0f0ff /D040ff /Q0 


c3dmix is only for setting volume and mute and I set everthing on.

Arena and Raptor settings for sound are the same like in autoexec
DMA 1
IRQ 5
port 220

When Raptor is started I get message that FX is disabled.

Perhaps somebody knows how to fix this?
[/code]
SpaceOne
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2006-9-17 @ 11:41

Re: cmi8738 pci - dos (no FX)

Postby Davros » 2008-6-29 @ 10:52

looks like you have missing parameters for setaudio
what happens it you delete the pciaud line ?

ps: dos driver for your card if it helps
http://www.cmedia.com.tw/?q=en/thanks&d ... 8%20Driver

* SETAUDIO.COM

DOS initial program

The following are the parameters format:
/Gx : x=0 disable game port, x=1 enable (default)
/Mx : x=0 disable MPU-401 MIDI port, x=1 enable (default)
/IOxxx : Set SB I/O port to 220(default),240,260 or 280.
/FMxxx : Set FM I/O port to 388(default),3C8,3E0 or 3E8.
/MPUxxx : Set MPU-401 MIDI port to 330(default),320,310,300.


* FIXEPIC.EXE

EPIC DOS games patch program

We found that there are some EPIC DOS games can not detect PCI
audio. This is due to these games using instruction loop as time
counter not a real constant period. In high speed CPU PC, the loop
time become shorter. That is reason that games can not detect PCI
audio. If you meet this problem, please run patch program to fix.
All of fixed files will backup to *.old.
User avatar
Davros
l33t
 
Posts: 2484
Joined: 2004-3-01 @ 03:08

Re: cmi8738 pci - dos (no FX)

Postby SpaceOne » 2008-6-29 @ 11:47

Thanks for quick answer.

If I remove pciaud then no sound drivers are loaded and I get no sound.

I try meddling with parametrs, diasbling game and midi port ,but there is no difference.

Does somebody managed to setup this card properly in DOS?
SpaceOne
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2006-9-17 @ 11:41

Re: cmi8738 pci - dos (no FX)

Postby eL_PuSHeR » 2008-6-29 @ 12:49

Some time ago I had one of these CMI8738. DOS compatibility was lousy, to say the least. A lot of games didn't work.
Intel i7 5960X
Gigabye GA-X99-Gaming 5
8 GB DDR4 (2100)
8 GB GeForce GTX 1070 G1 Gaming (Gigabyte)
User avatar
eL_PuSHeR
Moderator
 
Posts: 6488
Joined: 2003-6-20 @ 16:39

Re: cmi8738 pci - dos (no FX)

Postby Davros » 2008-6-30 @ 05:56

setaudio /G0 /M1 /IO220 /FM388 /MPU330
SET BLASTER=A220 I5 D1 H5 T4
C:\PCIAUD\C3DMIX /MFF000 /FFF000 /WFF000 /L00100 /E00100 /A00100 /C00100 /P00000 /400000 /R0f0ff /D040ff /Q0

Have you tried that ?
Guardian of the Sacred Five Terabyte's of Gaming Goodness
User avatar
Davros
l33t
 
Posts: 2484
Joined: 2004-3-01 @ 03:08

Re: cmi8738 pci - dos (no FX)

Postby SpaceOne » 2008-6-30 @ 20:30

Doesn't work. It's the same.

When I get IRQ table of devices when starting a computer, I see that multimedia device has IRQ 11. But setaudio (sound card driver) always sets IRQ to 5. I guess this is a problem

When I try with cmi 8330 ISA card, everything works flawlessly.

So nobody actually got this 8738 to work in dos?
SpaceOne
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2006-9-17 @ 11:41

Re: cmi8738 pci - dos (no FX)

Postby songa » 2008-11-04 @ 03:26

SpaceOne sad:

When I get IRQ table of devices when starting a computer, I see that multimedia device has IRQ 11. But setaudio (sound card driver) always sets IRQ to 5. I guess this is a problem.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Its the same with me!!! The one difference is IRQ10 in the table of devices.
I tryed various programs and versions like setaudio.com (v1.8, v1.91),
8338.com, etc...
My chipset is HT8738AM/PCI in M598 motherboard.
I try change de IRQ or Address, but dont happens!!
Some software comes with tests like CMTest.exe, CMUtil.exe, CMOrgan.exe
I execute setaudio.exe and SET BLASTER A220 I10 D1 H5 T4, the cmorgan.exe works good, but when I try to execute quake.exe v1.06 the
audio start and crash playing the same ton continuos.

D1 is Low/first DMA channel used by the audio interface with Possible values are 0, 1 and 3
H5 is HIGH/Second DMA channel used by the audio interface and possible values are 5, 6 and 7
I have the following doubt... setaudio.exe dont have variable to set Hx (high dma), what value is stored in HT8738 ?!?

Exist some program to check all variables/registers of HT8738 ?!?
songa
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2008-11-04 @ 02:59

Re: cmi8738 pci - dos (no FX)

Postby Harekiet » 2008-11-04 @ 07:06

Don't think the irq of pci devices has anything to do with how they emulate the soundblaster, that's ussually done through some extra driver you run to even get sound emulation. On avarage pci soundcard and dos soundblaster compatibility is lousy. Get an isa card :)
User avatar
Harekiet
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 1049
Joined: 2002-7-01 @ 07:14
Location: Fryslan


Return to Sound

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BLEXBot [Bot], jheronimus and 4 guests