dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Developer's Forum, for discussion of bugs, code, and other developmental aspects of DOSBox.

dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby kolijoco » 2009-1-31 @ 19:27

hi all,
with the help of some gurus on the forum, i've finally gotten my s60 (wincw emu for now) build to run - which has been done before -, and also to run a dos game (magic candle) - which i'm not so sure has been done.
anyway, if all goes well, there will be some updates and hopefully a sisx release soon...
here's a shot :-)
cheers!

ps: eye of the beholder actually plays! i had to do some key mapping so that i can make the setup choices, but after that the sdl virtual mouse pointer worked (almost) like a charm :-)

ps2: an emulator running in an emulator... creepy :-)
Attachments
eob_emu.png
eob_emu.png (78.48 KiB) Viewed 73308 times
mcandle_emu.png
mcandle_emu.png (72.44 KiB) Viewed 73326 times
User avatar
kolijoco
Newbie
 
Posts: 72
Joined: 2006-6-16 @ 07:38

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby Freddo » 2009-2-01 @ 09:24

Wow! :shocked: This is so awesome! :happyhappy:

Will the dynamic ARM core work?
Last edited by Freddo on 2009-2-01 @ 09:37, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Freddo
Oldbie
 
Posts: 583
Joined: 2003-10-29 @ 21:56
Location: Sweden

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby Qbix » 2009-2-01 @ 09:27

eye of the beholder looks pretty nice.
Water flows down the stream
How to ask questions the smart way!
User avatar
Qbix
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10108
Joined: 2002-11-27 @ 14:50
Location: Fryslan

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby kolijoco » 2009-2-01 @ 11:09

dynamic arm will have to wait a bit, for now i'm happy normal core is working

will spend today trying to build a gcce release (its a bit more fussy about iso c++ compliance)... so keep your fingers crossed :-)

update:

moved to debugging on target (my trusty e51). the inits all check out (after reducing emulated ram size from 16M). but seems i'm losing some of my static constants (probably have to tune the linker settings a bit), i'm expecting to iron that out with some googling/foruming... :-)

...
User avatar
kolijoco
Newbie
 
Posts: 72
Joined: 2006-6-16 @ 07:38

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby kolijoco » 2009-2-01 @ 21:12

haha!
the good news: its finally working :-)
the bad news: its pretty slow (haven't tinkered with any settings yet)...
check out the photo (its blurred. i have yet to figure out how to photograph my phone's screen)
Attachments
eob_e51.png
eob_e51.png (447.71 KiB) Viewed 73208 times
User avatar
kolijoco
Newbie
 
Posts: 72
Joined: 2006-6-16 @ 07:38

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby eL_PuSHeR » 2009-2-01 @ 23:29

Nice work!
Intel i7 5960X
Gigabye GA-X99-Gaming 5
8 GB DDR4 (2100)
GeForce GTX 970 (Gigabyte)
User avatar
eL_PuSHeR
Moderator
 
Posts: 6395
Joined: 2003-6-20 @ 16:39

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby William 'Bill' Munny » 2009-2-02 @ 11:30

nice and congratulations for your work. have you tray that in OMAP 2 (N95)?
really curious to see the performance in OMAP 2.
She was a comely young woman and not without prospects. Therefore it was heartbreaking to her mother that she would enter into marriage with William Munny, a known thief and murderer, a man of notoriously vicious and intemperate disposition.
William 'Bill' Munny
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2009-2-02 @ 11:21

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby Freddo » 2009-2-02 @ 13:00

William 'Bill' Munny wrote:nice and congratulations for your work. have you tray that in OMAP 2 (N95)?
really curious to see the performance in OMAP 2.

It's been ported to N8xx, which use OMAP2420. You can read about it here. Don't expect it to be noticeably different than E51, though, since it's the CPU that do all the work and they both use similiar ARM11 CPUs. The OpenGL ES hardware support on OMAP2 is pretty much useless for this software.
User avatar
Freddo
Oldbie
 
Posts: 583
Joined: 2003-10-29 @ 21:56
Location: Sweden

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby Pickle » 2009-2-02 @ 18:40

You should be able to drop in the dynamic arm core with too much difficulty. There are some newer versions of it since I originally posted.

Pretty much copy the files into your source, setup the config.h, and compile.
Pickle
Newbie
 
Posts: 94
Joined: 2008-4-14 @ 13:15

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby wd » 2009-2-02 @ 18:46

The ones from the cvs wouldn't work you say?
wd
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10818
Joined: 2003-12-03 @ 21:23

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby kolijoco » 2009-2-02 @ 19:02

ok, i'm pushing to get something releasable assembled.

to that end i've implemented screen rotations, and virtual mouse controls (i've troubles with s60sdl's own virtual mouse). thats done.

i'm ironing out config file usage, so the user has an easy way to configure screen orientation, and possibly key mappings.)

i promise i'll check out the arm core, when thats done :-)
User avatar
kolijoco
Newbie
 
Posts: 72
Joined: 2006-6-16 @ 07:38

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby Pickle » 2009-2-02 @ 19:56

As far as i remember M-HT made 2 version's one for 0.72 and a version for the cvs.
if kolijoco is using cvs, then he probably just needs to check the config.h
Pickle
Newbie
 
Posts: 94
Joined: 2008-4-14 @ 13:15

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby kolijoco » 2009-2-03 @ 08:08

i'm using the dosbox-0.72.tar.gz ball, not cvs sources...
what do i gotta do then?
User avatar
kolijoco
Newbie
 
Posts: 72
Joined: 2006-6-16 @ 07:38

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby crazyteknohed » 2009-2-03 @ 11:59

Looks like an awesome emulator!!

By the way, running an emulator inside an emulator isn't so spooky; I do it all the time. As there is no (decent) Master System emulator for S60 I use a GBA Master System emulator via vBag :)
crazyteknohed
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2009-2-03 @ 11:55

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby Dominus » 2009-2-03 @ 12:25

(its blurred. i have yet to figure out how to photograph my phone's screen)

If you use a digital camera, use the button (or setting) that has a flower on it. That setting enables you to photograph smaller stuff (I think it's called something with makro or so...)
But nice that you got it to work!
User avatar
Dominus
DOSBox Moderator
 
Posts: 6823
Joined: 2002-10-03 @ 09:54
Location: Vienna

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby Pickle » 2009-2-03 @ 14:00

Latest dynarec code for 0.72 is here: http://members.chello.sk/apauer/dosbox4/dosbox4.html
Pickle
Newbie
 
Posts: 94
Joined: 2008-4-14 @ 13:15

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby kolijoco » 2009-2-03 @ 14:01

ok, lets try this. here's something adventurous people might like to test drive.

not sure about system requirement, i would guess you need at least a 3rd edition s60 device, and having a minimum 320x240 (either orientation) display is probably a good start.

the release includes:
-my gcce release build,
-the s60 sdl binary release,
-nokia's openc redists (the redistribution license document is included, if you don't agree to the terms within, don't use them! from my limited understanding this should be ok, if not, let me know and i'll kill the post).
-example dosbox.conf and mapper.txt
-"detailed" :-) instructions in README.TXT

DO READ THE README.TXT !!!

[attachment removed]
User avatar
kolijoco
Newbie
 
Posts: 72
Joined: 2006-6-16 @ 07:38

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby kolijoco » 2009-2-03 @ 14:10

as said, i'm testing mainly with "Eye of the Beholder 1", its available on just about every abandonware site out there (goog'lit).

consider trying games with low system requirements and conservative key assignments (you won't really be able to type anything on a T9).

if you find a game playable, let us know :-)
User avatar
kolijoco
Newbie
 
Posts: 72
Joined: 2006-6-16 @ 07:38

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby fernando20 » 2009-2-03 @ 14:50

Good news, it works on S60 fifth edition! No keyboard means I can't do anything with it, but it's already awesome, will try on my N95 later.

edit: no dice on my N95-1, dies with a not enough memory error on boot. So you'd need more then 30mb free ram it seems.
Attachments
Photo 53.jpg
dosbox s60
Photo 53.jpg (62.07 KiB) Viewed 72917 times
User avatar
fernando20
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2009-2-03 @ 14:47
Location: Michigan

Re: dosbox for s60 (symbian) first results

Postby Freddo » 2009-2-03 @ 16:07

fernando20 wrote:edit: no dice on my N95-1, dies with a not enough memory error on boot. So you'd need more then 30mb free ram it seems.

I got the same problem with my old phone (6120 classic). Seems like a new phone is in order! :pppt: Hopefully Nokia will announce some device that catch my interest at the GSMA Mobile World Congress in two weeks.

Still, well done kolijoco! :happyhappy:

I belive the 6120 classic was the last S60 phone Nokia released with only 64mb system RAM, so any newer S60 phone should be fine.
User avatar
Freddo
Oldbie
 
Posts: 583
Joined: 2003-10-29 @ 21:56
Location: Sweden

Next

Return to DOSBox Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests