SimAnt "illegal command win", SImEarth "This program requires Microsoft Windows"

Having problems with a specific game or application? Post your problems here!

SimAnt "illegal command win", SImEarth "This program requires Microsoft Windows"

Postby TubeZ » 2009-4-26 @ 22:16

Trying to play simant, but when i select setup.exe in dosbox by mounting the drive then typing setup.exe which is SUPPOSED to run the program
the next line shows what i typed (C:\SIMANT\Setup.exe is what i typed)
but it randomly shoves a win in there so it is like this:
C:\SIMANT\win Setup.exe
which gives me a message "illegal command: win"
I'm running vista 64-bit, running dosbox in compatibility mode for win XP sp2
SimEarth same thing, except it doesn't do the win thing but tells me i need microsoft windows
TubeZ
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2009-4-26 @ 22:10

Re: SimAnt "illegal command win", SImEarth "This program requires Microsoft Windows"

Postby h-a-l-9000 » 2009-4-26 @ 22:43

What do you think what the issue is?
1+1=10
h-a-l-9000
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 4179
Joined: 2005-2-23 @ 00:14

Re: SimAnt "illegal command win", SImEarth "This program requires Microsoft Windows"

Postby TubeZ » 2009-4-26 @ 23:00

I have no idea
TubeZ
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2009-4-26 @ 22:10

Re: SimAnt "illegal command win", SImEarth "This program requires Microsoft Windows"

Postby DosFreak » 2009-4-26 @ 23:15

Trying to play simant, but when i select setup.exe in dosbox by mounting the drive then typing setup.exe which is SUPPOSED to run the program
the next line shows what i typed (C:\SIMANT\Setup.exe is what i typed)
but it randomly shoves a win in there so it is like this:
C:\SIMANT\win Setup.exe
which gives me a message "illegal command: win"



DOSBox is SUPPOSED to only run DOS programs. SimAnt is a Windows program.

The error message: "illegal command: win" is telling you that you are trying to run a Windows program in DOS which obviously will not work.




I'm running vista 64-bit, running dosbox in compatibility mode for win XP sp2


You never need to run compatibility mode on DOSBox. It's like running compatibility mode on a text file (if you could) it doesn't do anything.


SimEarth same thing, except it doesn't do the win thing but tells me i need microsoft windows


Because it's a Windows program so you need to run it in Windows and no trying to run it in DOSBox which is running in Windows does not count.




SimAnt and SimEarth are likely 16bit Windows programs and as such cannot be run in a 64bit OS. If you want to play these games on a 64bit OS then you need to:

Download Vmware/VirtualBox/VPC and install a 32bit Windows OS and play your 16bit Windows games in there.
or
Install MS-DOS and Windows 3.1 in DOSBox and play your 16bit Windows games in there.
Game Acronym List
DosBox CVS Builds
DosBox Feature Request Thread
DosBox FAQ
PC Game Compatibility List
"People like coldplay and voted for the nazis, you can't trust people."
User avatar
DosFreak
l33t++
 
Posts: 8726
Joined: 2002-6-30 @ 16:35
Location: Your Head

Re: SimAnt "illegal command win", SImEarth "This program requires Microsoft Windows"

Postby TubeZ » 2009-4-26 @ 23:19

That helped me quite a bit, thanks
now i can finally play simant
TubeZ
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2009-4-26 @ 22:10


Return to DOSBox Games/Apps

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests