VOGONS

First post, by SpeedyJ

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

hi, i'm a dosbox noob. i downloaded dosbox 0.73 in order to play the game big top on my win xp laptop.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Big_Top_%28video_game%29
on default dosbox settings the game runs at normal speed, but the sounds are extremely pitched up. i changed 'cycles' on the configuration editor from auto to a value of 500 - as a result the sound is correct, however, now the game (animations, movement) is way too slow. what can i do to have both, sound and animation, at optimal speed?

Reply 1 of 22, by DosFreak

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

Hit CTRL/F11/F12 until you find the proper amount of cycles needed for the game.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
Make your games work offline

Reply 2 of 22, by SpeedyJ

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

like i said, the cycles amout for a proper sound differs from the game speed!
the game speed's proper cycle value would be 4000, but the sound needs a value of 500 to be played correctly...
i can either play the game at normal speed but with wrong sound pitch (cycles 4000) or i can play the game with normal sound pitch but extremely slowed down game speed (cycles 500).
so what i need is a way to set the sound speed and the game speed separately...

Reply 3 of 22, by ih8registrations

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie