VOGONS

Common searches

First post, by pedrazzisoilmec

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Hi everybody,
I'm new to DosBox, but I have found it deeply buried in a third-part MATLAB (!) application that I have to use.
DosBox is launched there with the purpose of executing old dos-type scientific software, that probably would not run under XP. It is run with the -noconsole option, and the .exe to run are coded in the [autoexec] part of the dosbox.conf file, that finally terminates with "exit"

My problem (and my question) is: could it be possible to avoid the "opening" of the DosBox window, that overrides all other opened windows and jumps in the foreground? Actually I do not need to see the output of the .exe, at least not always. What I would like is an option like "-background", or "-nowindow" 😀

Could you devise some way to do this in a relatively simple way?

I hope not being OT here, and I do have read the FAQ.

Best regards and thanks in advance

Claudio

Reply 1 of 16, by Qbix

User metadata
Rank DOSBox Author
Rank
DOSBox Author

You would have to look if SDL supports some sort of dumb screen mode.
DOSBox asks on SDL for a screen to draw on. DOSBox can't be easily changed and it doesn't match the goal of DOSBox which is to run DOS games.

Water flows down the stream
How to ask questions the smart way!

Reply 2 of 16, by Jorpho

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

Can't you edit the line that launches DOSBox to use the Windows "Start" command instead of DOSBox.exe directly? I'm pretty sure the "Start" command has switches that allow you to launch a program minimized.

Reply 4 of 16, by HunterZ

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
mr_bigmouth_502 wrote:

I think that there should be a version of dosbox specifically made for running old business/scientific/industrial applications.