So I finally got an mt-32...

General information and assistance with Munt.

So I finally got an mt-32...

Postby Mr_Blastman » 2009-11-30 @ 01:47

It only took me 22 years. ;)

Adlib and SB Music no more! (though, to be fair, in some games the fm synth does sound better).

If I had heard an MT-32 in the 80's, it would have been bad because, well, I still wouldn't of been able to get one so it was all for the best.

Anyways, my question is this:

I am using an SB Live X-fi and the Drive-bay expansion, it has a midi-in and a midi-out

Right now I have only the midi-out on the SB Bay hooked up to my MT-32. Is it neccessary for me to hook the MT-32's midi-out back into the drive bay's midi-in?

Games work great in dosbox and it was really extremely easy to set up. I'm even using it via it's midi device id rather than setting the mt-32 to default. Oh, and my MT-32 is Revision 0, Version 1.
Mr_Blastman
Newbie
 
Posts: 73
Joined: 2005-7-26 @ 02:53

Re: So I finally got an mt-32...

Postby Kippesoep » 2009-11-30 @ 08:36

Mr_Blastman wrote:Right now I have only the midi-out on the SB Bay hooked up to my MT-32. Is it neccessary for me to hook the MT-32's midi-out back into the drive bay's midi-in?


It's possible, but not really necessary. That's only if you want to record music that has come from another MIDI-In or if you want to get status info from the MT-32 (patch dumps etc), which I doubt many (if any) games use.
User avatar
Kippesoep
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: 2005-5-04 @ 22:36
Location: Netherlands

Re: So I finally got an mt-32...

Postby HunterZ » 2009-12-01 @ 22:09

You don't need to connect that direction, and in fact DOSBox doesn't support MIDI-In anyways.
User avatar
HunterZ
l33t++
 
Posts: 5777
Joined: 2003-1-31 @ 19:04
Location: Seattle


Return to MT-32 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests