VOGONS

Common searches

First post, by Pan

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Hi

I've been using DBGL for some time on my main Linux machine and have built up quite a library of software applications on it as time has gone on. From time to time though, it's unfortunately necessary for me to switch to another machine for periods of time. Usually this is Windows and I simply migrate my configuration and profiles by copying the DBGL files and folders over in an intelligent manner.

However, on this occasion I'm limited to using a Mac for the next six weeks. I installed DBGL on this machine but I've found that the configuration system seems a little different. I'm not a Mac expert by any means, so I may be missing something obvious but how do you copy the configuration files from another OS to the Mac in a manner they can be used.

From what I can tell, the configuration files and even the dosroot directory seem to be installed inside the DBGL.app file. I have no idea how to alter the files in an application package and I haven't seen any way to specify an alternative location for configuration files. Does anybody have any idea how I can migrate my entire DBGL configuration (including dosroot) so they can be used on the Mac?

Thanks

Pan

Reply 1 of 5, by IIGS_User

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

If they're stored inside the DBGL.app package, do a right-click onto the app, choose 'Show packet content' (or similar) and look within the application package for the files.

Klimawandel.

Reply 2 of 5, by rcblanke

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Pan wrote:

From what I can tell, the configuration files and even the dosroot directory seem to be installed inside the DBGL.app file. I have no idea how to alter the files in an application package and I haven't seen any way to specify an alternative location for configuration files. Does anybody have any idea how I can migrate my entire DBGL configuration (including dosroot) so they can be used on the Mac?

Hi Pan,