Common searches

DOSBox-X branch

Topic actions

First post, by TheGreatCodeholio

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

I figured my port was out of place on another thread about GUS emulation patching, so I thought I'd start this here.

This is a branch of DOSBox 0.74 that I have been working on and off for the past 8 months. I've been modifying a lot in the source to make the emulation more accurate, to fix other parts of the emulation, and to widen the kind of hardware DOSBox emulates. I call it "DOSBox-x" for lack of a better name.

I've been developing it alongside a source code library I've been writing that is both a learning tool and a functional library to talk directly to various hardware on a DOS PC. DOSBox is one of my testing grounds for this code, alongside VirtualBox and some ancient Pentium-100 hardware sitting around my house.

Source: http://jon.nerdgrounds.com/dosbox-x-20120326.tar.gz
Windows binary: http://jon.nerdgrounds.com/dosbox-x-win32-bin … ry-20120326.zip

Reply 1 of 2397, by TheGreatCodeholio

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

DOSBox-X emulation fixes:

- Accurate PS/2 keyboard emulation, support for scan code sets 1, 2, and 3, emulation and response to LED commands, reset commands, mode changes, and obscure commands

- Gravis Ultrasound panning register fixes. Mainline DOSBox seems to have a buggy implementation that ends up locking all audio to center no matter what value is written. I fixed that code in this version. DOS programs that rely on stereo sound should actually play in stereo now through DOSBox.

- PS/2 AUX port emulation. This enables DOS programs and OSes to work that don't use INT 33h and communicate directly with the PS/2 mouse connected to the keyboard controllers "AUX" port. This code is wired in so that INT 33h emulation is enabled by default, but shut down the instant the "reset" command is sent to AUX.