VOGONS

First post, by tincup

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

I have no experience at all with Win2k but from time to time I hear W2k described as the 'ne plus ultra' of the pre-XP familiy.

My question is: how good is it as a W9x era game platform? Are finding drivers an issue? Do 'unnofficial' SP's exist, do you encounter significant compatibility issues?

Would a tricked-out W98se system benefit from a switch to 2K?

I know that the W9x ram limit is overcome so I suspect performance is better - but what are peoples thought's about it generally?

Reply 1 of 13, by Jorpho

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

As always, it comes down to a question of what, exactly, you want to play. Win2k is definitely more stable than Win9x, but Win9x is definitely much more compatible with some things than Win2k.

Certainly, Win2k is less secure than XP, but it's probably more secure than Win9x.

Anything you would consider running on 9x or 2k that requires more than 512 MB of RAM is probably best left for a modern system.

Reply 2 of 13, by idspispopd

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Windows 2000 is not based on Windows 9x, it belongs in the NT family, internally it is Windows NT 5.0.
IMO it is more like XP than like NT 4.0, and there were only two years between 2000 and XP. I think of it as XP minus some features and with somewhat lower requirements. Very stable, maybe even more stable than XP.

The last incarnation of Windows 9x was Windows ME. There are very different opinions on this version.

Reply 3 of 13, by ratfink

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

I found 2000 clean and uncluttered, more compatible with later hardware than 98. Less eye candy than xp but has the same or similar tools.

Proper user accounts and security, but downside is those games needing admin privileges to run [neverwinter nights, black & white for example ] - never found a way around this.