VOGONS

First post, by Runicen

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

This is a back-burner project I've been contemplating for a few months (and with a move about to complete, I'll actually have time to start working on it), but I recently acquired a large lot of older PC games. At least 1/3 to 1/2 are on old diskettes. The vast majority are 3.5", but some are 5.25". The latter will be a problem to address later as the only drive I have is dirty as hell and even after cleaning the hell out of it, I'm not sure I want to chance it damaging a disc if it's not correctly calibrated.

BUT, something I'd been thinking of doing is archiving (digitally) the contents of the discs prior to installation so that they exist in some form or other. For a prime candidate, I have a boxed copy of Spear of Destiny with a pair of "add on mission" discs that I didn't even know existed and, if the data on those is still sound, I suspect they're a bit of a rarity and should be saved somehow or other.

I've heard of things like the Cryoflux (I think that's the name) where it allows you to plug your diskette drives into modern PCs for imaging and backing up, but I really don't want to invest in new hardware. In truth, I'd contemplated just pulling the files and burning them to CD-R for digital preservation in the inevitable event that the diskettes themselves degrade past the point of usability.

Anyone have any thoughts on this? I tried running a search, but didn't see much on this kind of thing.

Reply 1 of 7, by dogchainx

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank