LPT Mapping in DosBox

General information and assistance with DOSBox.

LPT Mapping in DosBox

Postby Fischle » 2019-2-15 @ 14:58

Hi, I just stumbled over DosBox and it might be what I need.

The program that I want to run, needs a printer on LPT1/2/3. So on 32-Bit Windows machines we just map a local or network printer with "net use lpt1: \\server\printer"
Is this also possible with DosBox? I couldn´t find an answer or howto so far.

Thanks for your help!
Fischle
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2019-2-15 @ 14:15

Re: LPT Mapping in DosBox

Postby collector » 2019-2-15 @ 17:51

Not in official DOSBox. It is intended for games. Try vDos or vDos Plus

https://www.vdos.info/

http://vdosplus.org/
User avatar
collector
l33t
 
Posts: 4304
Joined: 2003-1-15 @ 10:39

Re: LPT Mapping in DosBox

Postby Fischle » 2019-2-16 @ 10:32

Yes I've seen vDos too. But there I have the problem that the program is on a network share. With vDos, the program must be in the vDos folder. With DosBox I just can mount the network drive.
Or am I wrong?
Fischle
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2019-2-15 @ 14:15

Re: LPT Mapping in DosBox

Postby JosSchaars » 2019-2-16 @ 11:36

vDos is advertised especially suited to run multi-user/networked DOS applications. It is used in many diverse and even large network configurations. Read some of the vDos documentation, the ‘massive’ 21 lines of the original autoexec.txt file would already be a start.
JosSchaars
Newbie
 
Posts: 50
Joined: 2014-1-26 @ 21:58

Re: LPT Mapping in DosBox

Postby Fischle » 2019-2-16 @ 13:18

OK thanks, then I will go deeper in it. ;)
Fischle
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2019-2-15 @ 14:15

Re: LPT Mapping in DosBox

Postby Fischle » 2019-2-18 @ 10:12

It looks like I need some aditional help for testing. In DosBox and vDos, the application was shown. In vDosPlus the Application ist starting but it´s not shown. I only see the blinking cursor, not the text, Frames and Colours of the program. I tried several Options in the config file, but Nothing helped. Any idea what´s the cause??
Fischle
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2019-2-15 @ 14:15

Re: LPT Mapping in DosBox

Postby JosSchaars » 2019-2-18 @ 11:14

For problems with vDosPlus you should consult its forum at https://sourceforge.net/projects/vdosplus/.
JosSchaars
Newbie
 
Posts: 50
Joined: 2014-1-26 @ 21:58


Return to DOSBox General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests