DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Developer's Forum, for discussion of bugs, code, and other developmental aspects of DOSBox.

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby DosFreak » 2019-10-29 @ 20:41

I thought you were using a CRT? Are you or are you not? Are you switching out the CRT for an LCD?
User avatar
DosFreak
l33t++
 
Posts: 10498
Joined: 2002-6-30 @ 16:35
Location: Your Head

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby Scandy » 2019-10-29 @ 21:06

Yes, with Raspberry Pi 3 I use a CRT, but with the new Raspberry Pi 4 I have to switch to LCD since VGA666 (VGA adapter) have some issues.
So I'm searching for a way to run DOSBOX on RPi4 with correct aspect ratio and no artifacts.
Thanks
User avatar
Scandy
Newbie
 
Posts: 59
Joined: 2016-1-29 @ 17:06

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby gdjacobs » 2019-10-29 @ 21:49

The only change those build tools might require would be if your patch set pulls in external dependencies.
User avatar
gdjacobs
l33t++
 
Posts: 6698
Joined: 2015-11-03 @ 05:51
Location: The Great White North

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby willow » 2019-10-30 @ 13:16

Yesterplay80 wrote:
willow wrote:I don't know if it's possible but dsobox daum incoporated a patch to increase memory size of graphic cards until 8 Mo instead of 2mo by default in dosbox and dosbox ece.

ECE sets 4 MB of video memory by default. Increasing the memory to 8 MB results in graphical problems under Windows 3.11.


I have tried syschk with dosbox ece and it say only 2MB and not 4MB
Image

edit: I have tried the version r4276 and same thing: only 2mb in syschk

link for syschk
http://www.syschk.com/SysDoc.htm

How have 4mb of video memory with dosbox ece?


pro pinball timeschock allow 1600x1200 with 16M colors. 8MB is necessary.
Last edited by willow on 2019-10-30 @ 22:52, edited 4 times in total.
willow
Member
 
Posts: 136
Joined: 2012-1-07 @ 22:37

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby Scandy » 2019-10-30 @ 13:36

gdjacobs wrote:The only change those build tools might require would be if your patch set pulls in external dependencies.


I'm searching for a quick tutorial to build DOSBOX ECE on Raspberry Pi 4... maybe this will fit? (it's in the video description)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eaIXszCgth4

There are some flags to set to optimize the build on Raspberry Pi?
Thank you.
User avatar
Scandy
Newbie
 
Posts: 59
Joined: 2016-1-29 @ 17:06

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby lavadrop » 2019-11-01 @ 06:43

I just downloaded your latest linux build and when I try to run it, I get: error while loading shared libraries: libfluidsynth.so.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory. I do have fluidsynth installed, however I have not invoked it since I have real hardware detected by alsa.
lavadrop
Newbie
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2016-1-20 @ 20:16

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby Kisai » 2019-11-01 @ 07:51

lavadrop wrote:I just downloaded your latest linux build and when I try to run it, I get: error while loading shared libraries: libfluidsynth.so.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory. I do have fluidsynth installed, however I have not invoked it since I have real hardware detected by alsa.


You need libfluidsynth 1.x, check what version you have.
Kisai
Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: 2010-5-05 @ 08:04

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby Scandy » 2019-11-02 @ 10:32

Yesterplay80 wrote:You need to have the header files from OpenGlide in your include directory: https://sourceforge.net/projects/openglide/
I added them to the ECE source files, too.


Hello, I'm trying to compile DOSBOX ECE on Raspberry Pi 4 (Raspbian Buster) and using DOSBox ECE r4276 (Linux source).7z I get the same error:
Code: Select all
fatal error: sdk2_glide.h: No such file or directory
 #include <sdk2_glide.h>


There is something that could I try to avoid this error? Thank you!
User avatar
Scandy
Newbie
 
Posts: 59
Joined: 2016-1-29 @ 17:06

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby pantercat » 2019-11-02 @ 10:50

Just copy sdk2_*.h from OpenGlide source (OpenGLide_XXX_src.zip) to the ECE's include directory.
pantercat
Newbie
 
Posts: 44
Joined: 2018-9-06 @ 17:22

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby Scandy » 2019-11-02 @ 12:29

pantercat wrote:Just copy sdk2_*.h from OpenGlide source (OpenGLide_XXX_src.zip) to the ECE's include directory.


Ok thank you!!! I was able to compile DOSBox ECE on Raspberry Pi, nevertheless Pixel Perfect mode (openglpp or surfacepp) does not work (I get a picture without aspect correction). There is something should I check? (I'm using the default dosbox-ece.conf).
Thanks!
User avatar
Scandy
Newbie
 
Posts: 59
Joined: 2016-1-29 @ 17:06

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby lavadrop » 2019-11-02 @ 17:38

Kisai wrote:
lavadrop wrote:I just downloaded your latest linux build and when I try to run it, I get: error while loading shared libraries: libfluidsynth.so.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory. I do have fluidsynth installed, however I have not invoked it since I have real hardware detected by alsa.


You need libfluidsynth 1.x, check what version you have.

I don't have libfluidsynth1, such package doesn't even exist in the Solus repositories. Fluidsynth is installed by default, however since I'm using MIDI hardware I shouldn't need to set it up.
lavadrop
Newbie
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2016-1-20 @ 20:16

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby realnc » 2019-11-02 @ 21:03

Well, the build doesn't make fluidsynth optional. You can build it youself against fluidsynth 2 in this case.
User avatar
realnc
Member
 
Posts: 439
Joined: 2010-10-13 @ 11:02

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby quartzdoll » 2019-11-05 @ 07:03

Tested latest version 4279 dated November 4 , 2019. Satisfied with the performance. Emulation speed increased in "One must fall" and "Xatax" games. Should test other games.
quartzdoll
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2019-9-05 @ 17:29

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby lavadrop » 2019-11-05 @ 07:25

realnc wrote:Well, the build doesn't make fluidsynth optional. You can build it youself against fluidsynth 2 in this case.


I have Fluidsynth 2.0.8 actually
lavadrop
Newbie
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2016-1-20 @ 20:16

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby realnc » 2019-11-05 @ 09:28

lavadrop wrote:
realnc wrote:Well, the build doesn't make fluidsynth optional. You can build it youself against fluidsynth 2 in this case.

I have Fluidsynth 2.0.8 actually

The build you downloaded needs v1. If you only have v2, you need to build it yourself so it will use v2.
User avatar
realnc
Member
 
Posts: 439
Joined: 2010-10-13 @ 11:02

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby Diduz » 2019-11-05 @ 10:36

There's an audio bug in the last r4279 Windows Build. Popping digital sounds in Prince of Persia. I usually crank sound frequency up to 49716 to get the best results in OPL emulation, but I don't think this is the cause of the issue, because I've always done that and there was no problem at all before r4279. Everything worked fine in the previous build (I think it was r4276).
Diduz
Newbie
 
Posts: 36
Joined: 2003-4-23 @ 15:39

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby pantercat » 2019-11-05 @ 11:17

Alternatively, if you want to use the binary build you can do this:

1. Download libfluidsynth1 package from a trusted source, for example:

https://packages.debian.org/buster/i386 ... 1/download

2. Extract files from .deb && copy libfluidsynth.so.1 to the ECE's bin directory:

Code: Select all
user@host:~/Downloads/r4279/bin$ 7z x libfluidsynth1_1.1.11-1_amd64.deb
user@host:~/Downloads/r4279/bin$ tar xvf data.tar
user@host:~/Downloads/r4279/bin$ cp ./usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libfluidsynth.so.1 .


3. Finally launch dosbox with LD_LIBRARY_PATH so that the executable first looks for libraries where you have libfluidsynth.so.1 (adjust it according to your system)

Code: Select all
user@host:~/Downloads/r4279/bin$ LD_LIBRARY_PATH=~/Downloads/r4279/bin:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH ./dosbox


More info: http://tldp.org/HOWTO/Program-Library-H ... html#AEN80

Obviously you'll need to repeat the process for all missing libraries. You can use ldd command to show all missing libraries.

Code: Select all
ldd dosbox |grep "not found"


Note that in ECE dosbox is a i386 binary so you'll need i386 libraries. Maybe it's a better idea to just compile ECE yourself... :lol:
pantercat
Newbie
 
Posts: 44
Joined: 2018-9-06 @ 17:22

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby pantercat » 2019-11-05 @ 11:48

Scandy wrote:Ok thank you!!! I was able to compile DOSBox ECE on Raspberry Pi, nevertheless Pixel Perfect mode (openglpp or surfacepp) does not work (I get a picture without aspect correction). There is something should I check? (I'm using the default dosbox-ece.conf).


This works for me.

Code: Select all
[sdl]
fullresolution      = desktop
output              = surfacepp

[render]
aspect    = true
scaler    = normal2x
pantercat
Newbie
 
Posts: 44
Joined: 2018-9-06 @ 17:22

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby realnc » 2019-11-05 @ 11:50

Diduz wrote:There's an audio bug in the last r4279 Windows Build. Popping digital sounds in Prince of Persia. I usually crank sound frequency up to 49716 to get the best results in OPL emulation, but I don't think this is the cause of the issue, because I've always done that and there was no problem at all before r4279. Everything worked fine in the previous build (I think it was r4276).

Does ECE use the latest dosbox SVN? If yes, then I think this is due to:

viewtopic.php?f=33&t=70107
User avatar
realnc
Member
 
Posts: 439
Joined: 2010-10-13 @ 11:02

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby Dagar » 2019-11-05 @ 15:25

realnc wrote:
Diduz wrote:There's an audio bug in the last r4279 Windows Build. Popping digital sounds in Prince of Persia. I usually crank sound frequency up to 49716 to get the best results in OPL emulation, but I don't think this is the cause of the issue, because I've always done that and there was no problem at all before r4279. Everything worked fine in the previous build (I think it was r4276).

Does ECE use the latest dosbox SVN? If yes, then I think this is due to:

viewtopic.php?f=33&t=70107


I too have noticed the issue with some games out right crashing (was playing Bloodstone - An Epic Dwarven Tale when I first noticed the crash problem).

It started in this commit:
2019-10-31 20:00 harekiet

* [r4278] src/hardware/sblaster.cpp: Fix sblaster autoinit restart
and improve the auto into single cycle transfer handling

r4277 is the last working revision.
Dagar
Newbie
 
Posts: 56
Joined: 2008-1-20 @ 17:01

PreviousNext

Return to DOSBox Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests