DOSbox issue with Autosketch 3 under Ubuntu

Developer's Forum, for discussion of bugs, code, and other developmental aspects of DOSBox.

DOSbox issue with Autosketch 3 under Ubuntu

Postby NeilAHiggins » 2018-2-20 @ 05:49

I have battled with DOSbox under Ubuntu, trying to figure out a configuration that supports Autosketch 3 fully. I can't draw horizontal, wide (non-zero-width) polylines. It sounds like a trivial thing, but in a CAD program, horizontal lines are pretty common! Every horizontal segment of a wide polyline is drawn as a filled triangle, not as a filled rectangle. Everything else (including oblique and vertical polylines) works without a hitch. I have fiddled with a range of settings, to no avail. In my frustration, I downloaded DOSemu and it just worked. The basic operative configuration from Autosketch's perspective is just VGA and Microsoft mouse - nothing special.
User avatar
NeilAHiggins
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2018-2-20 @ 05:35
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Re: DOSemu does this better than DOSbox under Ubuntu

Postby ripsaw8080 » 2018-2-20 @ 08:12

I'm not experiencing a problem drawing polylines of any angle, size 0.2, solid fill. This is with AutoSketch 3.1 configured for Microsoft Mouse and VGA Graphics; running with default settings in official Win32 DOSBox 0.74 and my own SVN build.

You say you can't draw horizontal non-zero-width polylines, but what exactly happens (or doesn't happen)? I guess a screencap of what you're seeing would help.
User avatar
ripsaw8080
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 4229
Joined: 2006-4-25 @ 23:24

Re: DOSemu does this better than DOSbox under Ubuntu

Postby NeilAHiggins » 2018-2-20 @ 10:33

Works fine for me in DOSbox under Windows 10, but not under Ubuntu 16.04. I can't see an obvious way to upload a screen capture in this forum ... imagine I'm trying to draw a horizontal polyline segment left to right (or right to left): I get a triangle with its apex at the left endpoint, expanding to the full width of the polyline at the right endpoint. I noticed another post elsewhere in this forum, exclaiming VERY LOUDLY that DOSbox is not suitable for non-game applications. Goodness knows why, but if that's the case, perhaps I'm just wasting my time (or perhaps the author of said article is sadly mistaken).
User avatar
NeilAHiggins
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2018-2-20 @ 05:35
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Re: DOSemu does this better than DOSbox under Ubuntu

Postby ripsaw8080 » 2018-2-20 @ 11:55

NeilAHiggins wrote:I noticed another post elsewhere in this forum, exclaiming VERY LOUDLY that DOSbox is not suitable for non-game applications. Goodness knows why, but if that's the case, perhaps I'm just wasting my time (or perhaps the author of said article is sadly mistaken).

That warning is no mistake. DOSBox is intended for DOS games. If an app happens to work, lucky you; but if it doesn't work then don't expect to get help here, as there is no official support for apps.

Anyway, the problem you describe seems to be related to the platform/build. Make sure to try default settings in DOSBox if you haven't already. Default settings should result in normal core being used because AutoSketch is a real-mode program, and normal core will avoid any potential dynarec issues.

Also, have you tried both the with-FPU and without-FPU versions of AutoSketch? You're given a choice of which one you want to use when installing AutoSketch.
User avatar
ripsaw8080
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 4229
Joined: 2006-4-25 @ 23:24

Re: DOSemu does this better than DOSbox under Ubuntu

Postby NeilAHiggins » 2018-2-20 @ 23:28

Strange. I think of DOS games as an anarchic superset of DOS applications - if games run, applications should. No?

Anyway: I have arrived at the same conclusion, but I'm not really inclined to download all of the crud and corruption needed to do a local build (even if I had the skills and patience needed to execute such a build); I'll just have to put up with what I have for now. If you have any idea where I could source a recent build for Ubuntu 16.04, please let me know.

Thanks for your help.
User avatar
NeilAHiggins
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2018-2-20 @ 05:35
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Re: DOSemu does this better than DOSbox under Ubuntu

Postby NeilAHiggins » 2018-2-20 @ 23:35

P.S. Removing and reinstalling (as of today) made no difference.
User avatar
NeilAHiggins
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2018-2-20 @ 05:35
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Re: DOSemu does this better than DOSbox under Ubuntu

Postby NeilAHiggins » 2018-2-20 @ 23:39

P.P.S. Screenshot attached.
Attachments
Screenshot from 2018-02-21 09-38-15.png
Screenshot from 2018-02-21 09-38-15.png (2.52 KiB) Viewed 676 times
User avatar
NeilAHiggins
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2018-2-20 @ 05:35
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Re: DOSemu does this better than DOSbox under Ubuntu

Postby NeilAHiggins » 2018-2-22 @ 10:09

Ok - installing DOSBox from this ppa fixed it: sudo add-apt-repository ppa:i30817/dosbox-patched
User avatar
NeilAHiggins
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2018-2-20 @ 05:35
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Re: DOSemu does this better than DOSbox under Ubuntu

Postby Dominus » 2018-2-22 @ 10:15

Difference between programs and games is that you can take shortcuts (== faster) for games. Not to mention things like "share" that programs might rely on but games do not. And it's a much needed disclaimer as people (and more so companies) want to use DOSBox for running mission critical programs but this is not safe.
User avatar
Dominus
DOSBox Moderator
 
Posts: 7644
Joined: 2002-10-03 @ 09:54
Location: Ludwigsburg

Re: DOSemu does this better than DOSbox under Ubuntu

Postby DosFreak » 2018-2-22 @ 11:03

and companies (which is most of the people using dosbox for applications) should spend their money on upgrading their ancient software not use dosbox or expect a free ride on the backs of people who do this as a hobby for the love of gaming.
User avatar
DosFreak
l33t++
 
Posts: 9818
Joined: 2002-6-30 @ 16:35
Location: Your Head

Re: DOSbox issue with Autosketch 3 under Ubuntu

Postby Jo22 » 2018-2-26 @ 22:14

In case of AutoSketch, though, there might be some reasons to stick to specific version (though not necessarily in the official DOSBox).
Did you know, for example, that version 2.x for Windows was about the only release to ever have had a makro language/scripting abilities ?
I didn't know myself until I've stumbled upon a German Wiki page that says it was a defacto-standard at the fields of accident reconstructions.
http://www.colliseum.net/wiki/AutoSketch
"Time, it seems, doesn't flow. For some it's fast, for some it's slow.
In what to one race is no time at all, another race can rise and fall..." - The Minstrel

//My video channel//
User avatar
Jo22
l33t
 
Posts: 2902
Joined: 2009-12-13 @ 07:06
Location: Europe


Return to DOSBox Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher and 2 guests