VOGONS

Win32s error

Topic actions

First post, by GlazedDoughnut

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

I have never used DOSBox before so I need a bit of idiot-friendly help.

I desperately want to install Zoombinis for my daughter to play. It doesn't install on my laptop because it's 64-bit windows 8 and the game is 16-bit. So after some googling I discovered the DOSBox solution.

I have installed Windows 3.1 in DOSBox and successfully installed the game from my CD Rom. However when I launch the game I get the error message: Win32s - Cannot run (path): Invalid Format. When I click OK I get a further message DOS Error 21. I've googled the errors but the explanations of what is causing them are all beyond my technical knowledge and I don't understand what I can do.

Can anybody offer some advice?

Reply 1 of 6, by ripsaw8080

User metadata
Rank DOSBox Author
Rank
DOSBox Author

Change the cputype setting from "auto" to "pentium_slow". You can do this by editing the dosbox.conf file in Notepad and changing the line "cputype=auto" to "cputype=pentium_slow", or at DOSBox's command prompt type the command "cputype pentium_slow" before starting Windows 3.

Reply 3 of 6, by ripsaw8080

User metadata
Rank DOSBox Author
Rank
DOSBox Author

Also try setting cputype=486_slow, and confirm that the setting is in effect (i.e. type "cputype" at the command prompt and get "486_slow" as the response) before running Windows 3. The "DOS error 21" is a common issue with Win32s, and changing the cputype will usually fix it.

Reply 5 of 6, by ripsaw8080

User metadata
Rank DOSBox Author
Rank
DOSBox Author

Do you still get the "DOS error 21" message from Win32s with cputype=486_slow? I mean, the game might not work for any number of reasons, and changing the cputype was only intended to work around that one specific type of error.

Reply 6 of 6, by Norton Commander

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank