VOGONS

First post, by dparadise

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

HI Everyone, I am a newbie and have successfully used DosBox to run Silent Service II -- However lately I get an error message when launching Silent Service. It seems that i can mount the C: Drive correctly and can run a Dir listing and can see the SS Files including Silent.bat. When i type in C:\>SILENT.BAT I get an error message :
C:\> SS2 VGA IBM 720
Illegal command: SS2

Would appreciate any help!
I am running a MAC with OSX 10.9.5
Memory 8 GB 1067 MHz DDR3
Graphics NVIDIA GeForce 9400M 256 MB
Processor 2.26 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo

i havent run the program in a couple of years but it used to work. I did have an older Mac Operating system??? thanks for any suggestions.

Reply 1 of 24, by DosFreak

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

Looks like your mount is incorrect. Your game shouldn't be in C:\ but C:\wherever you installed it.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
Make your games work offline

Reply 2 of 24, by Dominus

User metadata
Rank DOSBox Moderator
Rank
DOSBox Moderator

In other words if silent.bat is in /users/yourusername/dosgames/silent (for example), don't mount that as c but /users/yourusername/dosgames and then in Dosbox change directory to silent (cd silent) and then run the silent.bat

Windows 3.1x guide for DOSBox
60 seconds guide to DOSBox
DOSBox SVN snapshot for macOS (10.4-11.x ppc/intel 32/64bit) notarized for gatekeeper

Reply 3 of 24, by dparadise

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

YES. I Tried that. I put Silent in dosgame Folder then mounted dosgame. Then used C:\>CD\SILENT, THEN C:\>SILENT.BAT AND I got the exact same message:

C:\SILENT>SS2 VGA IBM 720

It seems that there is something preventing the program run.?? Why would SS2 be an illegal command?

Reply 4 of 24, by Dominus

User metadata
Rank DOSBox Moderator
Rank
DOSBox Moderator