VOGONS

First post, by electricdreams

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

I recently bought an Acorn BBC Master and the only problem I have is that it didn't come with any cartridges and no floppy disk drive. I have limited knowledge on computers and someone said since it has a drive controller inside it can be connected to any standard drive.
Are there any recommendations?

A FAIRYTALE FOR COMPUTERS_

Reply 2 of 9, by Dan386DX

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Well, from what I can see on wikipedia, it uses a fairly standard floppy controller, so I guess it really depends on the interface.

I found a 3.5" floppy drive on eBay designed specifically for the BBC Master, along with what looks like a regular 34-pin cable.

However, that drive requires its own power supply to use. A standard 3.5" floppy disk from a PC may work, but you'll need to find a way to power it. It will have a FDD power header for that purprose, but there likely won't be an FDD connector attached to your BBC computer.

Or you could just buy that drive I mentioned, but it isn't cheap:

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/176035031012

90s PC: IBM 6x86 MX PR 300. TNT2 M64.
Boring modern PC: i7-12700, RX 7800XT.
Fixer upper project: NEC Powermate 486SX/25

Reply 3 of 9, by electricdreams

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Dan386DX wrote on 2024-04-16, 22:53:
Well, from what I can see on wikipedia, it uses a fairly standard floppy controller, so I guess it really depends on the interfa […]
Show full quote

Well, from what I can see on wikipedia, it uses a fairly standard floppy controller, so I guess it really depends on the interface.

I found a 3.5" floppy drive on eBay designed specifically for the BBC Master, along with what looks like a regular 34-pin cable.