VOGONS


Bought these (retro) hardware today

Topic actions

Reply 42580 of 45991, by TrashPanda

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
RaiderOfLostVoodoo wrote on 2022-02-15, 10:21:
Did some digging online. I'm pretty sure mine was from Titan. Shape of the fan looks exactly the same. I think they're just rela […]
Show full quote
acl wrote on 2022-02-15, 09:55:

Ouch ! I will keep an eye on my Pentium3. I used one of these on my 370 board.
But no issues for now at least. (I hope it will be better since it's not the same brand)

Did some digging online. I'm pretty sure mine was from Titan.
Shape of the fan looks exactly the same. I think they're just relabeled and it's the same thing.
I had two of them break in just 7 months. It didn't even ran 24/7. I only got into file sharing a year later.
For comparison: The Enermax fans in my main rig are now failing after 10 years of 24/7 use. They lasted more about 100x as long! And I did clean them like... Twice?

Then I got this little thingy:
https://www.anandtech.com/show/863/12
Still regret that I gave it to a copper collector a long time ago. 🙁
With a modern fan this would be a really nice cooler.

Nothing like a good copper cooler with a small Noctua fan on it.

Sadly finding good all copper coolers is difficult these days and if you do you pay through the nose for them.

Oh noes, the cap let the shmooo out 😁

Reply 42581 of 45991, by brostenen

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
BitWrangler wrote on 2022-02-14, 22:29:
brostenen wrote on 2022-02-14, 22:12:

Pre-ordered a new Amiga1200 case in grey colour. It is one of them that are produced on new molds. Will be shipped last half of march 2022. (I can wait)

Now that I have a recapped 1200, with IndivisionAGA-MK3, Tsunami-1230 and an angled CF/IDE adaptor. Then the machine need a new case too. Final step would be a brand new keyboard, but the creator does not reply on email. A bit of a shame, as I would really want a non-clicky mechanical keyboard with new keycaps for my 1200.

If you were going to need to do a lot of typing on it, you could add an external keyboard socket, then use an amiga to PS/2 adapter and plug in whatever PC keyboard suited you. But guess really that would be a stopgap until you found the upgrade you wanted. I quite like the stock keyboard.. in fact I think my choices of PC keyboard are influenced by the several years I spent typing up everything on an A1200.

I would not be able to use a SUM keyboard adaptor, as the IndivisionAGA-MK3 uses an adaptor that goes over the same chip. That is required to be able to use the hotkey function of the scandoubler, in order to be able to center the image perfectly. Actually a neat feature, that can move the picture up/down/left/right, but also stretch or compress the picture so it fits perfect border to border.

I could be happy with just new a1200net keycaps, but they are so hard to come by. And if I eventually find them, then they will all be second hand and tripple the kickstarter campaign price. Also the keyboard that I mentioned, is extremely well build. It has an extra plate on the bottom, making it even more stiff.

Don't eat stuff off a 15 year old never cleaned cpu cooler.
Those cakes make you sick....

My blog: http://to9xct.blogspot.dk
My YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/brostenen

001100 010010 011110 100001 101101 110011

Reply 42582 of 45991, by MMaximus

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Shreddoc wrote on 2022-02-14, 23:05:
Received a CH Flightstick Pro into my modest controller collection. […]
Show full quote

Received a CH Flightstick Pro into my modest controller collection.

Sometimes, when you only see things in pictures, perception of the item's overall scale can be off. In this case, the Flightstick turns out to be about 1.25x the scale I thought it would be. No issue, it's just quite an imposing block of a thing. 😀 A comparison with a 3D Pro and a Wiimote :

medalceremony.jpg

I will give it the full disassemble and sterilise inside and out (the usual with secondhand controllers!) before I try it out properly. Maybe there will be refurbishments or improvements necessary, I don't know. Pots for example. We'll see in due course.

On the underside of the base in marker pen is somebody's name and the date 1/94. Funny to think, here I have somebody's gaming pride and joy of 1994, which perhaps they have long missed.

Oh, and boy am I excited. It's not retro hardware as such, but it's hardware, and it's going to be used in the pursuit of incredibly awesome retro activities. An authentic Parcel Of Greatness +5 has just arrived for me:

incoming.jpg

I am off to open it now 😁

Nice! I still use my CH Flightstick Pro that I bought new around '93. Before it I had 2 Thrustmaster FCS sticks which both broke after a few months. I bought the Flightstick Pro as a replacement and it's still rock solid after all these years 😀

Reply 42583 of 45991, by .info

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Replying to Megantonneke's recent post, I also found a system very recently with the AIR 486SH motherboard. It came in a case I wanted and was listed as a non working system and a decent price. It turns out that once I removed and reinstalled the ram, the system worked fine. Came with a 486sx33, 256mb L2 cache insralled, DC4300VL caching ide controller, 1.2gb wd caviar hd, cirrus logic vlb video card, 16mb of 30 pin simms (4X4MB). One problem is that I have not found jumper manual that matches my layout. Mine is v1.1, but the online manual that I found is not a match. I was able to figure out the cpu type jumpers, installed a DX2-66, but would like the full documentation. It is apparently a 5V only board. I would send a pic but am travelling. The case is a fairly common style looks older than 486 era and has a big psu with the red switch on the side. I will attach a pic of a similar style case (not the same one)

Attachments

  • oldcase.jpg
    Filename
    oldcase.jpg
    File size
    51.21 KiB
    Views
    800 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 42584 of 45991, by Shagittarius

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
.info wrote on 2022-02-15, 23:53:

Replying to Megantonneke's recent post, I also found a system very recently with the AIR 486SH motherboard. It came in a case I wanted and was listed as a non working system and a decent price. It turns out that once I removed and reinstalled the ram, the system worked fine. Came with a 486sx33, 256mb L2 cache insralled, DC4300VL caching ide controller, 1.2gb wd caviar hd, cirrus logic vlb video card, 16mb of 30 pin simms (4X4MB). One problem is that I have not found jumper manual that matches my layout. Mine is v1.1, but the online manual that I found is not a match. I was able to figure out the cpu type jumpers, installed a DX2-66, but would like the full documentation. It is apparently a 5V only board. I would send a pic but am travelling. The case is a fairly common style looks older than 486 era and has a big psu with the red switch on the side. I will attach a pic of a similar style case (not the same one)

I love those cases, had a friend who had a 286-12 housed in it with VGA in 89/90, which I envied. I had an 8088 with an EGA card at the time.

Reply 42586 of 45991, by .info

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

KB insTalled, haha you got me there.

Regarding that case I actually switched this rig into a different newer looking AT case and put a 386 in the older one, I thought that looked more appropriate. Cases matter to me quite a bit.

Reply 42587 of 45991, by TrashPanda

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Finally found a Voodoo 3 2000 for a reasonable price and grabbed it before someone else did, also ..may have bought a very well put together Pentium 3 Slot 1 based system, mostly I wanted it due to the absolute unit of a case its built into, and the 500 watt PSU, the Gotek, CF and Ultra 133 Card dont hurt either. (Read actually did buy)

Likely paid a little more than what I wanted to about 350 USD but its built using mostly NOS/New parts where he could and the case looks immaculate and pretty new itself, has a jetway 9bxas-a/9bxan-a board in it which I cant find much on at all but its a Slot1 / Socket 370 board so might prove to be a fun little board to work with.

Soon as it arrives Ill see to writing up a thread on it as the sound card and GPU will be getting replaced, PCI sound card in a ISA capable board just isn't right and the GeForce 2 GTS seems a little lonely so ill slap a pair of Voodoo IIs in there. The MX440 I have should actually be faster than the GTS but the GTS sounds cooler and I think a 1ghz P3 Coppermine will be the bottle neck well before the GTS.

Any way more on the system later 😁

Even Ultimate Retro doesnt have much on this board, guess its my opportunity to add to the project with some photos.

Oh noes, the cap let the shmooo out 😁

Reply 42588 of 45991, by sirotkaslo

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
Kahenraz wrote on 2022-02-04, 15:27:

That's great. The best firmware for the SC-55 is 1.21 and the 1.20 is almost identical. It's possible to swap this chip with the later firmware if you flash it with a compatible chip.

From what I understand, 1.x ROMs are interchangeable as are 2.x but not between each other.

Don't have a flasher unfortunately, 1.2, will have to do 😀

Reply 42589 of 45991, by Megantonneke

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
.info wrote on 2022-02-15, 23:53:

Replying to Megantonneke's recent post, I also found a system very recently with the AIR 486SH motherboard..., One problem is that I have not found jumper manual that matches my layout. Mine is v1.1, but the online manual that I found is not a match. I was able to figure out the cpu type jumpers, installed a DX2-66, but would like the full documentation. It is apparently a 5V only board. I would send a pic but am travelling. The case is a fairly common style looks older than 486 era and has a big psu with the red switch on the side. I will attach a pic of a similar style case (not the same one)

Yeah, I was also looking into the AIR 486SH configuration to be able to use a DX2-66 in my system, mine is also a v1.1. Stason.org lists it but has rather limited information and a PDF
Titled "The PC Engineer's Reference Book - IBM 51xx PC Family" on https://ibm.retropc.se does not seem to list the v1.1 version of this board. So you got a DX2 66 working on this board?

That case indeed looks pre 486 era, maybe a custom build of the previous owner. My custom builds are most the other way around.

Reply 42590 of 45991, by sirotkaslo

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Had to take the lot if i wanted that VLB card.

V3, diamond stealth 64 dram, cirrus logic gd 5446, ati rage xl, zyxel modem, creative ct2890 and a qdi brillianx-9 (440bx with socket 370) +p3@650 and 768mb of memory.

P.s.
Whats the difference between the ct2800 and ct2890?

Attachments

Reply 42591 of 45991, by .info

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

On the 486SH motherboard, the cpu I installed to upgrade from 486sx33 was actually a 486dx2odpr66, 5V cpu with a heat sink I think it is more or less the same as a regular DX2-66. I had to change a couple of jumpers for cpu type to got from sx to dx, left the speed jumpers unchanged. The stason.org docs matched my mobo for the cpu type jumpers but the speed jumpers are different. I was thinking of trying a 40mhz bus but not without knowing the jumpers. I did replace the vga card with an ati mach32 vlb that I got recently. Seems to be a stable rig, currently with 1.2gb hdd and zip100 on the ide controller plus a cdrom on a non bootable adaptec scsi adapter.

Reply 42592 of 45991, by BitWrangler

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
.info wrote on 2022-02-15, 23:53:

the case is a fairly common style looks older than 486 era and has a big psu with the red switch on the side. I will attach a pic of a similar style case (not the same one)

In my remembrance they came out with early 286 AT clones (discrete logic motherboards) but lasted into the first half of 486 era... in particular it seemed that machines sold for AutoCAD from 2 or 3 different vendors favored these cases, configs like 486DX50 EISA and early DX2s might be common in them. VLB seems slightly on the cusp of when they faded away, but might still have been a favorable option for business machines, whereas home users wanted something "sexier".

Edit: by first half of 486 here I mean what home users might think of as the 386 era, when they were highly expensive still, only companies with high performance demands and wealthy home users had them.

Unicorn herding operations are proceeding, but all the totes of hens teeth and barrels of rocking horse poop give them plenty of hiding spots.

Reply 42593 of 45991, by snufkin

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
.info wrote on 2022-02-16, 18:00:

On the 486SH motherboard, the cpu I installed to upgrade from 486sx33 was actually a 486dx2odpr66, 5V cpu with a heat sink I think it is more or less the same as a regular DX2-66. I had to change a couple of jumpers for cpu type to got from sx to dx, left the speed jumpers unchanged. The stason.org docs matched my mobo for the cpu type jumpers but the speed jumpers are different. I was thinking of trying a 40mhz bus but not without knowing the jumpers. I did replace the vga card with an ati mach32 vlb that I got recently. Seems to be a stable rig, currently with 1.2gb hdd and zip100 on the ide controller plus a cdrom on a non bootable adaptec scsi adapter.

Don't know if it's the right one, but there's an entry here for the 1.1 board: https://www.ultimateretro.net/en/motherboards/331#downloads , with a manual: https://www.ultimateretro.net/motherboard/man … 12227563484.pdf . It looks like the Stason and MicroHouse entries get their column headings wrong. JP11,12,14 are right by the clock gen chip (AV9155-01 in the photo of the board there) and based on the manual entries probably connect to pins 19 (FS1), 20 (FS0) and 11 (FS2). I guess JP5 is to do with wait states for the VLB at high frequencies (40 and 50MHz). Looking up the AV9155 datasheet then I think the full frequency table is:

JP11 12 14  MHZ  FS2 1 0 (pin 11,19,20)
(FS2=JP14, FS1=JP11, FS0=JP12)
| | | 4 0 0 0 (|=jumper, .=no jumper)
| . | 8 0 0 1
. | | 16 0 1 0
. . | 20 0 1 1
| | . 25 1 0 0
| . . 33 1 0 1
. | . 40 1 1 0
. . . 50 1 1 1

Wonder where JP13 goes. Manual suggests it can allow the chipset to override the other jumpers when in green mode.

Reply 42594 of 45991, by PC@LIVE

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Order two AGP video cards today, nothing fancy but they were particularly cheap, and given the low price I ordered them.
They are both from ATi, one is a 32MB DDR Radeon 7000, the other is a 128MB 9200SE, both have two VGA ports, one normal and the other DVI.
One has a third video output, I think you can connect a TV via a special cable.
The 9200SE is AGP 8X, the Radeon 7000 I don't know if it's AGP 8X, but looking at the position of the slots, it looks like an 8X too.

Attachments

AMD 286-16 287-10 4MB HD 45MB VGA 256KB
AMD 386DX-40 Intel 387 8MB HD 81MB VGA 256KB
Cyrix 486DLC-40 IIT387-40 8MB VGA 512KB
AMD 5X86-133 16MB VGA VLB CL5428 2MB and many others
AMD K62+ 550 SOYO 5EMA+ and many others
AST Pentium Pro 200 MHz L2 256KB

Reply 42595 of 45991, by BitWrangler

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Show us the video connector, it might be regular S-VHS or might be the weirdo 9 pin one (Which actually some others used, but don't know if it's got a name) or might be an ATI one off.

edit: There's some that seem really similar to the Genesis2/Nomad connector right pic here, but I've never tested to see if it's the same https://gamesx.com/avpinouts/genesisav.htm

Unicorn herding operations are proceeding, but all the totes of hens teeth and barrels of rocking horse poop give them plenty of hiding spots.

Reply 42596 of 45991, by dormcat

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
PC@LIVE wrote on 2022-02-16, 21:46:

The 9200SE is AGP 8X, the Radeon 7000 I don't know if it's AGP 8X, but looking at the position of the slots, it looks like an 8X too.

I'm afraid that Radeon started supporting AGP 8x from R300 core (9700 and 9500) and later with RV280 core (9200/9250). Even Radeon 8500, the best chip of R200 core, had no support of AGP 8x, let alone the even earlier Radeon 7000 with RV100 core.

On the other hand, the differences between 4x and 8x in actual games are far less significant than on paper.

Reply 42597 of 45991, by bjwil1991

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Compaq Portable 286.

Will need a lot of items: foam and foil, battery, repairs, and lots of scrubbing and cleaning.

Seller's photos:

s-l1600.jpg
Filename
s-l1600.jpg
File size
60.12 KiB
Views
689 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception
s-l1600 (1).jpg
Filename
s-l1600 (1).jpg
File size
56.49 KiB
Views
689 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception
s-l1600 (2).jpg
Filename
s-l1600 (2).jpg
File size
66.14 KiB
Views
689 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Discord: https://discord.gg/U5dJw7x
Systems from the Compaq Portable 1 to FX-8350
Twitch: https://twitch.tv/retropcuser

Reply 42598 of 45991, by RaiderOfLostVoodoo

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Not my cup of tea, but cool find.
Too bad that it's missing the original black 5.25 drive.
But I guess is a pristine one is rediculous expensive.

Reply 42599 of 45991, by TrashPanda

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Bit of an impulse buy today, bought this Gainward 6800 Golden Sample .. its got me a little puzzled as none of the Ultra2100 Golden Samples look even remotely like this card. (It was cheap, cheap even for a GT model)

s-l1600 (3).jpg
Filename
s-l1600 (3).jpg
File size
247.03 KiB
Views
790 views
File comment
Seller Photo
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception
s-l1600 (4).jpg
Filename
s-l1600 (4).jpg
File size
350.54 KiB
Views
790 views
File comment
Seller Photo
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

I'm assuming its been mislabelled since the cooler reminds me of the standard 6800 Ultra cooler. perhaps someone can help to identify this GPU correctly. I have checked the serial number on the card and its correct for a Golden Sample Ultra2100 .. at least I think it is since finding any information about Gainward cards is difficult or spotty.

Edit - I have found one image that resembles this GPU and its listed as a Ultra 2100 so its likely correctly labelled, not quite the 6800 Ultra but a nice card all the same, a few posts about ti being able to OC to Ultra speeds so it might be a fun GPU to play with.

Oh noes, the cap let the shmooo out 😁