VOGONS


Bought these (retro) hardware today

Topic actions

Reply 47100 of 47910, by appiah4

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
vutt wrote on 2022-11-23, 19:02:
The moment you decide to buy another copy of the exactly same card you know that you have graduated from casual mob to "are you […]
Show full quote

The moment you decide to buy another copy of the exactly same card you know that you have graduated from casual mob to "are you nuts" club.

Saw this copy on my local country auction site. Could not resist. Prices will go only up, doesn't hurt to have backup. It was sold as-is but I was lucky. It is perfectly functional card (- back bracket).
It was very convenient to do multimeter health check for continuity/resistance on ISA bus contacts when you can compare. While I have cheaper ISA board for testing still it would hurt to damage it.

Note to myself: Do not damage SIMM plastic tabs with this new card, OK?

Better yet replace the sockets with new ones that have metal tabs.

Retronautics: A digital gallery of my retro computers, hardware and projects.

Reply 47101 of 47910, by appiah4

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
DW12 wrote on 2022-11-23, 21:24:

Today received an ATX case that I bought 2 days ago for 7$ shipped. It's from company called "Super Power" and looks like it was hardly ever used, really good condition. I like that it has place for floppy drive in top section of front panel, looks different from other cases. From the stickers it looks like it was used for a build in early 2000s. Already started building a slot 1 system in it.

Exactly the kind of case I need for my Cx 5x86-P150 troll build..

Retronautics: A digital gallery of my retro computers, hardware and projects.

Reply 47102 of 47910, by TrashPanda

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Grabbed this Celeron 300A, Abit BH6, 128MB + TnT2 setup for a good price from a local seller here in Australia, seller confirms this Celeron runs stable at 450Mhz @ 100 FSB, going to use this board to see if there is much if any difference between the Slot 1 300A and the S370 300A, got a nice Celeron Slotket ready to go.

300A BH6.jpg
Filename
300A BH6.jpg
File size
390.55 KiB
Views
514 views
File comment
300A + Abit BH6
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception
TnT2.jpg
Filename
TnT2.jpg
File size
372.72 KiB
Views
514 views
File comment
Trusty TnT2
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Its a nice bit of kit which Ill likely keep for future build.

Oh noes, the cap let the shmooo out 😁

Reply 47103 of 47910, by H3nrik V!

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
TrashPanda wrote on 2022-11-24, 06:26:

Grabbed this Celeron 300A, Abit BH6, 128MB + TnT2 setup for a good price from a local seller here in Australia, seller confirms this Celeron runs stable at 450Mhz @ 100 FSB, going to use this board to see if there is much if any difference between the Slot 1 300A and the S370 300A, got a nice Celeron Slotket ready to go.

300A BH6.jpgTnT2.jpg

Its a nice bit of kit which Ill likely keep for future build.

Partying like it's 1999 B-) Loving it!

Please use the "quote" option if asking questions to what I write - it will really up the chances of me noticing 😀

Reply 47104 of 47910, by TrashPanda

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
H3nrik V! wrote on 2022-11-24, 07:36:
TrashPanda wrote on 2022-11-24, 06:26:

Grabbed this Celeron 300A, Abit BH6, 128MB + TnT2 setup for a good price from a local seller here in Australia, seller confirms this Celeron runs stable at 450Mhz @ 100 FSB, going to use this board to see if there is much if any difference between the Slot 1 300A and the S370 300A, got a nice Celeron Slotket ready to go.

300A BH6.jpgTnT2.jpg

Its a nice bit of kit which Ill likely keep for future build.

Partying like it's 1999 B-) Loving it!

One of the fine vintages !!

Oh noes, the cap let the shmooo out 😁

Reply 47105 of 47910, by vutt

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
appiah4 wrote on 2022-11-24, 06:11:
vutt wrote on 2022-11-23, 19:02:

...

Note to myself: Do not damage SIMM plastic tabs with this new card, OK?

Better yet replace the sockets with new ones that have metal tabs.

So after braking tabs again (but of course) I said f**k it I went to eBay and ordered replacements for both cards. Ironically since only US sellers had reasonable prices I did pay almost as much after shipping/taxes counted in as I paid for both cards...
Oh well at least I'm going to have improved metal tabs.

Reply 47106 of 47910, by HanSolo

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
vutt wrote on 2022-11-24, 12:51:
appiah4 wrote on 2022-11-24, 06:11:
vutt wrote on 2022-11-23, 19:02:

...

Note to myself: Do not damage SIMM plastic tabs with this new card, OK?

Better yet replace the sockets with new ones that have metal tabs.

So after braking tabs again (but of course) I said f**k it I went to eBay and ordered replacements for both cards. Ironically since only US sellers had reasonable prices I did pay almost as much after shipping/taxes counted in as I paid for both cards...
Oh well at least I'm going to have improved metal tabs.

Did you manage to get the angled ones? I only find the vertical version..

Reply 47107 of 47910, by vutt

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
HanSolo wrote on 2022-11-24, 15:08:
vutt wrote on 2022-11-24, 12:51:

So after braking tabs again (but of course) I said f**k it I went to eBay and ordered replacements for both cards. Ironically since only US sellers had reasonable prices I did pay almost as much after shipping/taxes counted in as I paid for both cards...
Oh well at least I'm going to have improved metal tabs.

Did you manage to get the angled ones? I only find the vertical version..

Yeah, I did not find angled metal ones. Went for vertical ones. It's ok for my setup. Perhaps finding low profile sticks will mitigate spacing risks.

Reply 47108 of 47910, by HanSolo

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
vutt wrote on 2022-11-24, 15:15:
HanSolo wrote on 2022-11-24, 15:08:
vutt wrote on 2022-11-24, 12:51:

So after braking tabs again (but of course) I said f**k it I went to eBay and ordered replacements for both cards. Ironically since only US sellers had reasonable prices I did pay almost as much after shipping/taxes counted in as I paid for both cards...
Oh well at least I'm going to have improved metal tabs.

Did you manage to get the angled ones? I only find the vertical version..

Yeah, I did not find angled metal ones. Went for vertical ones. It's ok for my setup. Perhaps finding low profile sticks will mitigate spacing risks.

And my next problem: did you find them for single modules? Those that I see always come in pairs, but the angled have a larger distance

Reply 47109 of 47910, by DW12

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
BitWrangler wrote on 2022-11-23, 22:23:

I got a cheap case in about 2002 with a "Super Power" PSU in it, no idea if that's the same ppl who made the case or not. Similar internally, but different front panel. Does it kind of have an X shape in the side panel?

It has a very generic looking side panel with some vent holes on the bottom. According to this post on reddit SuperPower is other name for a company called Codegen:
https://www.reddit.com/r/answers/comments/7mz … ny_super_power/
I don't know how it was elsewhere, but here in Poland Codegen were mostly known for their crappy, exploding power supplies.

Attachments

Reply 47110 of 47910, by RetroPC_King

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Today I got this:
-A New Old Stock (NOS) ASUS A7N8X-X motherboard (nForce 2 400 chipset) (with all of accessories)
-A black ASUS CRW-5232AS 52x32x52x IDE CD-RW drive

Any opinions?

PS: I will build soon a rig with ASUS A7N8X-X when I have time.

Attachments

  • 20221124_181134.jpg
    Filename
    20221124_181134.jpg
    File size
    1.5 MiB
    Views
    365 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception
  • 20221124_181112.jpg
    Filename
    20221124_181112.jpg
    File size
    1.34 MiB
    Views
    365 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception
  • 20221124_181105.jpg
    Filename
    20221124_181105.jpg
    File size
    1.64 MiB
    Views
    365 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception
  • 20221124_181042.jpg
    Filename
    20221124_181042.jpg
    File size
    1.36 MiB
    Views
    365 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception
  • 20221124_181028.jpg
    Filename
    20221124_181028.jpg
    File size
    1.51 MiB
    Views
    365 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 47111 of 47910, by Nexxen

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
RetroPC_King wrote on 2022-11-24, 16:24:
Today I got this: -A New Old Stock (NOS) ASUS A7N8X-X motherboard (nForce 2 400 chipset) (with all of accessories) -A black ASUS […]
Show full quote

Today I got this:
-A New Old Stock (NOS) ASUS A7N8X-X motherboard (nForce 2 400 chipset) (with all of accessories)
-A black ASUS CRW-5232AS 52x32x52x IDE CD-RW drive

Any opinions?

PS: I will build soon a rig with ASUS A7N8X-X when I have time.

No support for mobile and Geode cpus.
Unless a modded BIOS exists.
max FSB 333.
It's a nice board and issues codes for diagnostic card pretty well.
If your cpu works or not you'll see it. Press down the heatsink if you are not going to clip it, otherwise it won't POST either. Socket A are unforgiving if you make a mistake with the h/s, don't tunro on your pc without one.

PC#1 Pentium 233 MMX - 98SE
PC#2 PIII-1Ghz - 98SE/W2K

Reply 47112 of 47910, by RetroPC_King

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
Nexxen wrote on 2022-11-24, 17:04:
No support for mobile and Geode cpus. Unless a modded BIOS exists. max FSB 333. It's a nice board and issues codes for diagnosti […]
Show full quote
RetroPC_King wrote on 2022-11-24, 16:24:
Today I got this: -A New Old Stock (NOS) ASUS A7N8X-X motherboard (nForce 2 400 chipset) (with all of accessories) -A black ASUS […]
Show full quote

Today I got this:
-A New Old Stock (NOS) ASUS A7N8X-X motherboard (nForce 2 400 chipset) (with all of accessories)
-A black ASUS CRW-5232AS 52x32x52x IDE CD-RW drive

Any opinions?

PS: I will build soon a rig with ASUS A7N8X-X when I have time.

No support for mobile and Geode cpus.
Unless a modded BIOS exists.
max FSB 333.
It's a nice board and issues codes for diagnostic card pretty well.
If your cpu works or not you'll see it. Press down the heatsink if you are not going to clip it, otherwise it won't POST either. Socket A are unforgiving if you make a mistake with the h/s, don't tunro on your pc without one.

I know. But mine is manufactured January 2005, so it have 400FSB support

Reply 47113 of 47910, by vutt

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
HanSolo wrote on 2022-11-24, 15:28:

And my next problem: did you find them for single modules? Those that I see always come in pairs, but the angled have a larger distance

Bought this one today. Search for product: SIMM-130-VTL Adam Tech
You can even google datasheet for this if you want double check exact dimensions.

Attachments

Reply 47114 of 47910, by Nexxen

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
RetroPC_King wrote on 2022-11-24, 17:28:
Nexxen wrote on 2022-11-24, 17:04:
No support for mobile and Geode cpus. Unless a modded BIOS exists. max FSB 333. It's a nice board and issues codes for diagnosti […]
Show full quote
RetroPC_King wrote on 2022-11-24, 16:24:
Today I got this: -A New Old Stock (NOS) ASUS A7N8X-X motherboard (nForce 2 400 chipset) (with all of accessories) -A black ASUS […]
Show full quote

Today I got this:
-A New Old Stock (NOS) ASUS A7N8X-X motherboard (nForce 2 400 chipset) (with all of accessories)
-A black ASUS CRW-5232AS 52x32x52x IDE CD-RW drive

Any opinions?

PS: I will build soon a rig with ASUS A7N8X-X when I have time.

No support for mobile and Geode cpus.
Unless a modded BIOS exists.
max FSB 333.
It's a nice board and issues codes for diagnostic card pretty well.
If your cpu works or not you'll see it. Press down the heatsink if you are not going to clip it, otherwise it won't POST either. Socket A are unforgiving if you make a mistake with the h/s, don't tunro on your pc without one.

I know. But mine is manufactured January 2005, so it have 400FSB support

My mistake, I mixed with A7v8X-X.
Took one for the other. 😀

PC#1 Pentium 233 MMX - 98SE
PC#2 PIII-1Ghz - 98SE/W2K

Reply 47115 of 47910, by RetroPC_King

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
Nexxen wrote on 2022-11-24, 18:00:
RetroPC_King wrote on 2022-11-24, 17:28:
Nexxen wrote on 2022-11-24, 17:04:
No support for mobile and Geode cpus. Unless a modded BIOS exists. max FSB 333. It's a nice board and issues codes for diagnosti […]
Show full quote

No support for mobile and Geode cpus.
Unless a modded BIOS exists.
max FSB 333.
It's a nice board and issues codes for diagnostic card pretty well.
If your cpu works or not you'll see it. Press down the heatsink if you are not going to clip it, otherwise it won't POST either. Socket A are unforgiving if you make a mistake with the h/s, don't tunro on your pc without one.

I know. But mine is manufactured January 2005, so it have 400FSB support

My mistake, I mixed with A7v8X-X.
Took one for the other. 😀

OK. No problem. I also plan to put a modded BIOS by me on that A7N8X-X when I Have time. That ModBIOS 1010 consists of unlocking hidden options like Small Logo (EPA) Show and some overclock options, and also FLoppy DIsk B setting. Should I flash the ModBIOS 1010 made by me on that A7N8X-X?

Last edited by RetroPC_King on 2022-11-24, 18:36. Edited 1 time in total.

Reply 47116 of 47910, by RetroPC_King

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
Nexxen wrote on 2022-11-24, 18:00:
My mistake, I mixed with A7v8X-X. Took one for the other. :) […]
Show full quote
RetroPC_King wrote on 2022-11-24, 17:28:
Nexxen wrote on 2022-11-24, 17:04:
No support for mobile and Geode cpus. Unless a modded BIOS exists. max FSB 333. It's a nice board and issues codes for diagnosti […]
Show full quote

No support for mobile and Geode cpus.
Unless a modded BIOS exists.
max FSB 333.
It's a nice board and issues codes for diagnostic card pretty well.
If your cpu works or not you'll see it. Press down the heatsink if you are not going to clip it, otherwise it won't POST either. Socket A are unforgiving if you make a mistake with the h/s, don't tunro on your pc without one.

I know. But mine is manufactured January 2005, so it have 400FSB support

My mistake, I mixed with A7v8X-X.
Took one for the other. 😀

OK. No problem. I also plan to put a modded BIOS by me on that A7N8X-X when I Have time. That ModBIOS 1010 consists of unlocking hidden options like Small Logo (EPA) Show and some overclock options, and also FLoppy DIsk B setting. Should I flash the ModBIOS 1010 made by me on that A7N8X-X?

Sorry for the double post.

Reply 47117 of 47910, by HanSolo

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
vutt wrote on 2022-11-24, 17:41:
HanSolo wrote on 2022-11-24, 15:28:

And my next problem: did you find them for single modules? Those that I see always come in pairs, but the angled have a larger distance

Bought this one today. Search for product: SIMM-130-VTL Adam Tech
You can even google datasheet for this if you want double check exact dimensions.

Thanks, found it. Indeed it's not really cheap 🙁
Now I even found the angled sockets. Search for "SIMM DIMM Socket 30"
But that one's even more expensive

Reply 47118 of 47910, by Nexxen

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
RetroPC_King wrote on 2022-11-24, 18:32:
Nexxen wrote on 2022-11-24, 18:00:
RetroPC_King wrote on 2022-11-24, 17:28:

I know. But mine is manufactured January 2005, so it have 400FSB support

My mistake, I mixed with A7v8X-X.
Took one for the other. 😀

OK. No problem. I also plan to put a modded BIOS by me on that A7N8X-X when I Have time. That ModBIOS 1010 consists of unlocking hidden options like Small Logo (EPA) Show and some overclock options, and also FLoppy DIsk B setting. Should I flash the ModBIOS 1010 made by me on that A7N8X-X?

If you have non soldered BIOS chip, use an external programmer.
If soldered, socket the BIOS and program it.

If you don't have programmer, good luck.
I did it before, tried to mod a bios that ended up not working (a russian utility) and had to desolder the bios anyway.
If you want to do tests a programmer is a must.

PC#1 Pentium 233 MMX - 98SE
PC#2 PIII-1Ghz - 98SE/W2K

Reply 47119 of 47910, by smtkr

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
TrashPanda wrote on 2022-11-24, 06:26:

Grabbed this Celeron 300A, Abit BH6, 128MB + TnT2 setup for a good price from a local seller here in Australia, seller confirms this Celeron runs stable at 450Mhz @ 100 FSB, going to use this board to see if there is much if any difference between the Slot 1 300A and the S370 300A, got a nice Celeron Slotket ready to go.

300A BH6.jpgTnT2.jpg

Its a nice bit of kit which Ill likely keep for future build.

The one tough thing about these Abit boards is the location of the ATX connector. I wanted to use a modern PSU with a 24-pin connector on mine and realized the 4 extra pins hang off in front of the AGP port. Luckily I have an old PSU from the era that I can use.