VOGONS


Bought these (retro) hardware today

Topic actions

Reply 51721 of 52554, by Nexxen

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

K7S41GX
https://www.asrock.com/mb/SIS/K7S41GX/#CPU

PS2 and USB don't work though. 🙁 will have to contact the seller

PC#1 Pentium 233 MMX - 98SE
PC#2 PIII-1Ghz - 98SE/W2K

Reply 51722 of 52554, by Shponglefan

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Deja vu, as I picked up another DFI ITOX G7S620-N motherboard.

I've been having a lot of fun with this board lately and decided to grab another while they are available. I may try modding one to use with Core 2 processors.

DFI ITOX 67S620-N motherboard number 2.jpg
Filename
DFI ITOX 67S620-N motherboard number 2.jpg
File size
985.54 KiB
Views
991 views
File license
CC-BY-4.0
DFI ITOX 67S620-N motherboards.jpg
Filename
DFI ITOX 67S620-N motherboards.jpg
File size
763.97 KiB
Views
991 views
File license
CC-BY-4.0

Pentium 4 Multi-OS Build
486 DX4-100 with 6 sound cards
486 DX-33 with 5 sound cards

Reply 51726 of 52554, by PD2JK

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Something interesting came in today. I'm planning to go SCSI and W2K with this board. Not sure about the choice of graphics yet...

DSC_8074.JPG
Filename
DSC_8074.JPG
File size
1.14 MiB
Views
878 views
File license
CC-BY-4.0

ECS P6FX2-A rev 1.1
2x Pentium Pro 166 512kB, it was already jumpered at 200 when it came in.
256MB RAM (8x 32MB)
Empty Dallas. As always.

i386 16 ⇒ i486 DX4 100 ⇒ Pentium MMX 200 ⇒ Athlon Orion 700 | TB 1000 ⇒ AthlonXP 1700+ ⇒ Opteron 165 ⇒ Dual Opteron 856

Reply 51727 of 52554, by Minutemanqvs

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Ah t'at is a very nice one! I remember when you had to buy the VRMs separately.

Searching a Nexgen Nx586 with FPU, PM me if you have one. I have some Athlon MP systems and cookies.

Reply 51728 of 52554, by Nexxen

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

https://www.gigabyte.com/Motherboard/GA-7VT880-rev-10#ov
Socket A, Via KT-880 with dual channel DDR400.

Dirt cheap as it has bulging caps. Hope it works, fingers crossed.

PC#1 Pentium 233 MMX - 98SE
PC#2 PIII-1Ghz - 98SE/W2K

Reply 51729 of 52554, by H3nrik V!

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Bought a Dell Precision M4400 "mobile workstation" ... I have one already, upgraded to a C2D mobile P8700, and 4Gigs of DDR2. I would've really liked 8Gigs, but 4Gig DDR2 SO-DIMMS cost an arm and a leg.

I stumbled across one then at the recycling station's store, and for some reason opened the lid (I actually remember seeing that lying there for some time now) Keyboard in pretty bad shape, BUT; To my surprise it had a "Core2Extreme" sticker on it...

ADD TO CART. 75DKK ~10US$

Came home, plugged it in, powered up, went to BIOS ... No way .. It's a QUAD Core C2QX <3 and it has the FULL 8Gigs of memory populated!

I kind of feel I've struck gold, seing the prices of DDR2 SO-DIMMs these days, as well as; How much is a C2QX worth?

So, doubling the number of cores, quadrupling the amount of L2 cache and doubling the memory for my "sometimes used 1920x1200 laptop with QuadroFX"

Attachments

Please use the "quote" option if asking questions to what I write - it will really up the chances of me noticing 😀

Reply 51730 of 52554, by acl

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
JustJulião wrote on 2024-02-06, 18:04:
I was very lucky on this one. An old ad on the classifieds french site "leboncoin" dating from February 2023 and entitled "11 co […]
Show full quote

I was very lucky on this one.
An old ad on the classifieds french site "leboncoin" dating from February 2023 and entitled "11 computer sticks" appeared in my search results when I was looking for any type of Diamond Multimadia hardware.
It appeared because the seller mentioned "a Diamond plate and a Matrox plate" that would come with the RAM sticks and an intriguing photo that you can see here (the ad has since been removed).
Capture.PNG
The price was 10€ + 4,40€ shipping so I just bought it.

Here is what it turned out to be :

cards.jpg
cards2.jpg

I know nothing about Matrox cards but it sure looks intriguing :
MATROX.jpg

I missed this one 😀

Are you located in France ? (just curious if leboncoin can ship to foreign countries)

"Hello, my friend. Stay awhile and listen..."
My collection (not up to date)

Reply 51731 of 52554, by BitWrangler

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
nfraser01 wrote on 2024-02-07, 19:57:

Good condition and working Toshiba 3100e...

Nice, had very similar model once, think I might have got rid of it like a dumbass, vaguely remember a trade, I know it annoyed me at the time by having only minimum base RAM populated, but there's repro RAM boards now. It could still surprise me by turning up.

Unicorn herding operations are proceeding, but all the totes of hens teeth and barrels of rocking horse poop give them plenty of hiding spots.

Reply 51733 of 52554, by nfraser01

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
BitWrangler wrote on 2024-02-08, 15:11:
nfraser01 wrote on 2024-02-07, 19:57:

Good condition and working Toshiba 3100e...

I know it annoyed me at the time by having only minimum base RAM populated, but there's repro RAM boards now. It could still surprise me by turning up.

Oooh. Interesting. Definately interested in increasing RAM if possible. Will have a look...

Reply 51734 of 52554, by Kahenraz

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
nfraser01 wrote on 2024-02-08, 16:19:
Kahenraz wrote on 2024-02-07, 20:37:

Alt key bottom left, Ctrl and Caps Lock swapped? 😱

Yes.. Turns out to be quite annoying 😒

I've always wondered how difficult it would be to modify the keyboard matrices on laptops to correct this.

I am equally discontent with manufacturers putting the Fn key on the bottom left where the Ctrl key should be. IBM and Lenovo does this. It's very annoying.

Reply 51735 of 52554, by progman.exe

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Kahenraz wrote on 2024-02-08, 16:43:

I am equally discontent with manufacturers putting the Fn key on the bottom left where the Ctrl key should be. IBM and Lenovo does this. It's very annoying.

At least one Lenovo laptop I had had a BIOS option to swap Fn and Ctrl. About a 6th gen i5 I think, don't know if the option was there before then... or even since.

I was chuffed to find the choice, check your machines' BIOSes.

Reply 51736 of 52554, by ubiq

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Local thrifting here is usually pretty dire, but had a pretty good haul today at a mom & pop computer store:

IMG_0597.jpeg
Filename
IMG_0597.jpeg
File size
1.13 MiB
Views
612 views
File license
CC-BY-4.0

Seanix RIVA 128 4MB PCI
Fastware Geforce 2 AGP (I think? possibly a TNT 2)
Radeon 9700 Pro 128MB AGP with giant Zalman passive heat sink
Radeon 9200 128MB AGP
Sound Blaster SB0460 X-Fi Extreme
2 x USB 2.0 cards w NEC chipset
2 x WD IDE HDs, 80GB and 200GB
LG DVD-RW IDE
HP DVD-RW SATA
Pentium Pro 200MHz
Corsair 450W modular PSU
Slot 1 to Socket 370 slocket (w Coppermine support!)

Everything was between $10 and $20 each.

Haven't tested any of this stuff, but I'm most excited about the slocket. It's an exact match for another one I have, so I might actually be able to get a dual slocketed system going. 😈

Reply 51737 of 52554, by PcBytes

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Nothing very special - an Palit/YUAN/Xpertvision Radeon 9000 64MB. Despite living in Bucharest, I think the seller might be originally from Ukraine, as most of his boards bear that Delta 23 sticker.

A recap will be in order by the way - I'm not trusting these Canicon (no you can't 🤣) caps to live much longer.

Attachments

"Enter at your own peril, past the bolted door..."
Main PC: i5 3470, GB B75M-D3H, 16GB RAM, 2x1TB
98SE : P3 650, Soyo SY-6BA+IV, 384MB RAM, 80GB

Reply 51738 of 52554, by atari52oo

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Pulled this Sound Blaster out of a machine I recently picked up...

Board is marked CT-1320U
Is this considered a SB 1.0? or 1.5? Google says it's a 1.5, but it has CMS chips, so I think it's considered a 1.0?

sbcard.jpg
Filename
sbcard.jpg
File size
1.66 MiB
Views
432 views
File license
Public domain

IBM PS/2 Model 70 (Type: 8570-121)
386DX-20 / 6mb ram
ZuluSCSI - SD card Storage
Slot1: MCS-600 SCSI
Slot2: 3Com 3c529-TP NIC
Slot3: Snark Barker MCA (SB Clone)

Reply 51739 of 52554, by pan069

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
atari52oo wrote on 2024-02-09, 20:53:
Pulled this Sound Blaster out of a machine I recently picked up... […]
Show full quote

Pulled this Sound Blaster out of a machine I recently picked up...

Board is marked CT-1320U
Is this considered a SB 1.0? or 1.5? Google says it's a 1.5, but it has CMS chips, so I think it's considered a 1.0?

sbcard.jpg

Amazing looking card. The sticker on the DSP is awesome and the blue caps are really striking. You can tell this was the early days of Creative where cost reduction wasn't on the forefront of everything they produced.

Edit: Oh, regarding version question, check DOSDays https://www.dosdays.co.uk/topics/sb_sbpro.php