VOGONS

How good is this? (New PC)

Topic actions

First post, by olivil

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Hey there!
I'm new to this whole "retro PC" stuff, however I build "modern" PCs as part of my job, and studying electronic engineering and tinkering with lots of stuff I've assembled many vintage computer "sets" (Commodore 64 with monitor and disc drive, Amiga 1000, Atari 800 and ST520, etc) However, being only 18 years old I can't judge if the "new" PC I found for free is good for my needs.

What I want:
MS-DOS 6.22 & MAYBE Windows 3.11 (No Windows 95+)
Being able to play games from Alley Cat to Quake (Moslo is ok)

And now, the good part:
- The case says it's built in 1997
- Generic case, however has 3 green seven segment display displaying "200" (The CPU frequency? was that common? anyhow it looks cool)
- Impression TX533 Board (seems generic to me, apparently Intel 430TX based)
- Pentium MMX 200
- 49152K of RAM
- Quantum Fireball 30GB Hard Drive
- Sound Blaster AWE64 Value
- ATI Mach64 integrated graphics (says 600K memory?)
- 3.5 inch and 5.25 inch floppy drive + a CD drive
- I did mount a bigger PC speaker I had lying around (2-3 inch circ., 2 inch deep instead of the little cheap speaker)

Is this good? Should I upgrade some stuff?
Will I need a graphics card? Is there a way to get General Midi emulation or something with the AWE64 under DOS?

Thanks! 😀

Reply 1 of 139, by DonutKing

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Well that's definitely a windows 95/98 era machine, but it should run dos and Win 3.11 ok as well.

Check out Mau1wurf1977's threads he's done some experiments with disabling caches etc to slow the machine down for older games.

As for the AWE64, I don't own one but I believe they will do general MIDI but you will need the software for it and a soundfont loaded, and the size of your card's memory will limit your choice of soundfonts. Being a Value I believe they had less onboard memory than the other models of AWE64.