VOGONS

SiS Xabre & friends

Topic actions

First post, by leileilol

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

Let's share our "love" for these things.

The multiply blending is a bit hilarious because instead it tries for low precision with approximated dithering on the texture itself (rather than the screen buffer). It makes UnrealEngine detail textures look VERY FUNKY GRAINY and makes lightmaps in general look like blocky dithery stuff.

The texture LOD is at least okay, Savage4-ish in that aspect.

The DirectX software support only goes up to 7, it doesn't support accelleration of DirectX 8 or 9 interfaces. dxdiag will tell you this. Note that this isn't about the CAPABILITIES, but how much their drivers suck

I'll take screenshots of it later.

apsosig.png
long live PCem

Reply 1 of 21, by DonutKing

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

I had a 64MB Xabre 400 back when they had just come out. I was a poor student at the time and was scraping pennies together for an upgrade.

This was back in the day when Geforce 3 was king. I had a mate with more money than sense and he was mad keen to get a GF3. He rings me one day and says he's found a 'killer card'. It was the Xabre. I'd already read the reviews and they didn't seem that great, but he thought he was getting a full GF3 featureset for about $200 AU (GF3 Ti 200 was $300 and up)

Then he got it and it would not boot in his system. Apparently they were totally incompatible with the VIA KT333 chipset. I was running an ECS K7S5A at the time and offered to buy the card off him. It worked in the SIS 735 chipset motherboard. So I stuck with it for about 6 months. It was better than the TNT2 Vanta I was using which was a hand-me-down from my old Pentium 2 box.

It was marketed as a DX8 card but the pixel/vertex shaders never really worked properly.