VOGONS


The World's Fastest 486

Topic actions

Reply 440 of 527, by The Serpent Rider

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Water won't help, it operates well above zero Celsius mark, which may be crucial for stability. You can wait for winter and achieve similar or better results near open window without fancy peltier module.

But it seems that CPU-Galaxy has reborn it

In that case I take credit as main instigator for CPU-Galaxy video =P

Get up, come on get down with the sickness
Open up your hate, and let it flow into me

Reply 441 of 527, by H3nrik V!

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
The Serpent Rider wrote on 2021-05-25, 14:17:

Water won't help, it operates well above zero Celsius mark, which may be crucial for stability. You can wait for winter and achieve similar or better results near open window without fancy peltier module.

Sorry if I wasn't clear .. I meant water cooling the warm side of the peltier, to keep it even more steady 😉 Typically the peltier doesn't keep more than a maximum of 40C difference between warm and cold side, and when cooling a CPU will quickly get the warm side above 50C ..

Please use the "quote" option if asking questions to what I write - it will really up the chances of me noticing 😀

Reply 442 of 527, by ludov p

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Is parity ram neccesarry for OC in this situation? I see fopeia mention he uses it on his FPM RAM, ut it's getting harder to get hold of one 64MB stick og 60ns, parity FPM RAM. And what about the difference between EDO and FPM, any comments there apart from the ones mentioned in this thread already? I've tried many sticks of each type already, but will have to do more tweaking on the rig to conclude what works best in my setup.

Reply 444 of 527, by feipoa

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

I don't think I have any 486 which 'needs' parity. It just so happens that my "magic" 64 MB, gold-plated, Samsung 72-pin sticks are parity. I normally have parity disabled because soft resets can spit out an error.

Ultimate 486 Benchmark | Ultimate 686 Benchmark | Cyrix 5x86 Enhancements | 486 Overkill Graphics | Worlds Fastest 486

Reply 445 of 527, by maxtherabbit

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
pshipkov wrote on 2021-05-29, 18:17:

LuckyStar likes EDO better than FPM.
Opposite seems to be the case for Biostar UUD.

What? My SiS 496 silicon doesn't work with EDO at all. I doubt the version that does accept it would work "better"

Reply 446 of 527, by lukas12p

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
maxtherabbit wrote on 2021-05-30, 16:19:
pshipkov wrote on 2021-05-29, 18:17:

LuckyStar likes EDO better than FPM.
Opposite seems to be the case for Biostar UUD.

What? My SiS 496 silicon doesn't work with EDO at all. I doubt the version that does accept it would work "better"

Which revision of LS-486 board do You have?

Reply 447 of 527, by maxtherabbit

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
lukas12p wrote on 2021-05-30, 16:51:
maxtherabbit wrote on 2021-05-30, 16:19:
pshipkov wrote on 2021-05-29, 18:17:

LuckyStar likes EDO better than FPM.
Opposite seems to be the case for Biostar UUD.

What? My SiS 496 silicon doesn't work with EDO at all. I doubt the version that does accept it would work "better"

Which revision of LS-486 board do You have?

C2

Reply 448 of 527, by lukas12p

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
maxtherabbit wrote on 2021-05-30, 17:31:
lukas12p wrote on 2021-05-30, 16:51:
maxtherabbit wrote on 2021-05-30, 16:19:

What? My SiS 496 silicon doesn't work with EDO at all. I doubt the version that does accept it would work "better"

Which revision of LS-486 board do You have?

C2

I have few rev.C2 boards and all works faster with EDO memory

Attachments

Reply 449 of 527, by lukas12p

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I have put 50ns EDO ram and now get 21,4 fps in Quake and 64,9 fps in Doom, with Matrox graphic card and PCI@33MHz.
Looks like next limit is cache, but I have only those fake 10 ns ones..
CPU runs at temperature 2 deg. C.

Attachments

Reply 450 of 527, by maxtherabbit

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Unfortunately my 5x86 isn't stable at 200, but here is the best I could muster at 3x50MHz using FPM.

Btw it's not the revision of the motherboard that dictates EDO support, it's the revision of the northbridge.

20210426_200057.jpg
Filename
20210426_200057.jpg
File size
1.59 MiB
Views
442 views
File license
CC-BY-4.0

Reply 451 of 527, by ViTi95

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

My AMD 5x86 (3x50) is able to get 17.4 fps in Quake, even with very bad L2 cache timings (15ns 256Kb). And I think I can do even better *evil face*.

Spoiler

https://github.com/viti95/486Quake/

Attachments

  • 20210613_233329.jpg
    Filename
    20210613_233329.jpg
    File size
    1.79 MiB
    Views
    384 views
    File comment
    486quake
    File license
    Public domain
  • 20210613_233600.jpg
    Filename
    20210613_233600.jpg
    File size
    1.37 MiB
    Views
    384 views
    File comment
    speedsys
    File license
    Public domain

Reply 452 of 527, by maxtherabbit

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
ViTi95 wrote on 2021-06-13, 21:49:

My AMD 5x86 (3x50) is able to get 17.4 fps in Quake, even with very bad L2 cache timings (15ns 256Kb). And I think I can do even better *evil face*.

Spoiler

https://github.com/viti95/486Quake/

I take it this is running on some kind of Quake source port?

I'm able to manage 16.7fps at 3x50 using a Millennium on vanilla quake (Phil's pack)

Reply 453 of 527, by pshipkov

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

It is possible. With Asus VLI gx4 + ark1000vl + 4x40mhz I get over 18 fps.
With those late pci 486 boards at 180 it is around 19-20. One of the 180mhz capable cpus is actually magical. Can do it at 3.3v with air cooling.
At 200 it is 21-22, but not stable enough - my biggest heatsink is insufficient to keep up with the Peltier.
While replying here, finally motivated myself to splurge $25 for a proper one 😀

retro bits and bytes

Reply 454 of 527, by ViTi95

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
maxtherabbit wrote on 2021-06-13, 23:55:
ViTi95 wrote on 2021-06-13, 21:49:

My AMD 5x86 (3x50) is able to get 17.4 fps in Quake, even with very bad L2 cache timings (15ns 256Kb). And I think I can do even better *evil face*.

Spoiler

https://github.com/viti95/486Quake/

I take it this is running on some kind of Quake source port?

I'm able to manage 16.7fps at 3x50 using a Millennium on vanilla quake (Phil's pack)

yep, I'm doing a port similar to FastDoom. My system gets 15.8 fps with stock Quake 1.06 (9% slower).

Reply 456 of 527, by feipoa

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

Which PCB revisions have the PR steppings been found on? I've seen them on Rev.D, but were there others?

Ultimate 486 Benchmark | Ultimate 686 Benchmark | Cyrix 5x86 Enhancements | 486 Overkill Graphics | Worlds Fastest 486

Reply 458 of 527, by feipoa

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

Small update to check repeatability. L2 cache size and type matter. On the Biostar MB-8433UUD w/Quake 1.06

256K WT = 19.1 fps
512K WT = 19.5 fps
1024K WT = 19.8 fps

Surprisingly,
512K WB = 19.3 fps

I'm using 64 MB RAM, so I did not exceed the cacheable range with 512K WB, direct-mapped. Are results with double-banked L2 cache.

Ultimate 486 Benchmark | Ultimate 686 Benchmark | Cyrix 5x86 Enhancements | 486 Overkill Graphics | Worlds Fastest 486

Reply 459 of 527, by appiah4

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

Wait, WT is faster on the 8433UUD? I didn't know, maybe I should revert to that and switch to 64MB RAM..

Retronautics: A digital gallery of my retro computers, hardware and projects.