VOGONS


Matrox Mystique (MSI API Native) list

Topic actions

Reply 40 of 61, by anakin94

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I had also to lower the refresh rate for 512x384 from 85 hz to 60 hz.
You can do this in the monitor properties.
Choose MGA-Monitor and edit an Default Monitor.

Btw. i checkedthe DX-Driver.
It's version 3.51.

I don't have GTA 2 🙁

Attachments

  • MGA_Monitor.png
    Filename
    MGA_Monitor.png
    File size
    437.68 KiB
    Views
    1331 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception

Enhanced for Matrox Mystique

Reply 41 of 61, by dr.zeissler

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

No here is something wrong.

I made a clean install (no drivers) and only installed DX61. That installs the matrox driver.
Therefore I don't have the matrox-power-desk-tools to set the monitor refresh-rate. Perhaps I misunderstood you and you did install any matrox-power-desk-drivers but you perhaps overwrite the driver with that one from dx61.

regardless the dx61 driver:
- no support for ddraw 256colors. (instat quit on https://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=24789 https://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=17647 https://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=8410
- gta2 has black boxes around objects, performance is ok though
- dkeeper1-d3d complains missing features and quits.

more testing has to be done.

Retro-Gamer 😀 ...on different machines

Reply 42 of 61, by anakin94

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

My system is not clean.
It was in the last time very experimental and it doesn't shutdown.
Maybe there is the problem?

Can you try driver 3.70?
And are you using the latest VBIOS?

Enhanced for Matrox Mystique

Reply 43 of 61, by Spitz

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

As an owner of Mystique 220 I just want to say that DD2, Mechwarrior2,Scorched Earth Mystique edition was added to original box (Black CD's with clown). I still have them somewhere.

Well... I miss 80/90s ... End of story

Reply 44 of 61, by dr.zeissler

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
anakin94 wrote on 2022-12-11, 22:00:
My system is not clean. It was in the last time very experimental and it doesn't shutdown. Maybe there is the problem? […]
Show full quote

My system is not clean.
It was in the last time very experimental and it doesn't shutdown.
Maybe there is the problem?

Can you try driver 3.70?
And are you using the latest VBIOS?

The 3.70 driver has no vsync in ddraw so it's useless for me. all scrollers are broken. (Demos and Games, try earthworm-jim or pitfall the mayan adventure)

I recommend using "retter from data becker" make a copy of your clean win95 install without and with drivers.
so you can make a clean install within 1-3 minutes. very handy, spared lot's and lot's of hours when troubleshooting.
use a small C: and a much bigger D: for the programes/games and for the "retter" backups.

Retro-Gamer 😀 ...on different machines

Reply 45 of 61, by leileilol

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
dr.zeissler wrote on 2021-12-31, 22:26:

Should I make a new thread? I would be much more interested in EVERYTHING that works on mystique regardless if MSI, or D3D specially optimized settings for mystique.

A general rule of thumb on the Mystique family regarding Direct3D is earlier games that don't rely on add/mult/sub blending functions, which are plenty of 96-97 games also targeting S3 ViRGE and PowerVR PCX1/2 compatibility. It'll just be quite dithery.

Maybe the last Mystique-friendly game is Techland's Crime Cities as it had their own MSI MiniGL to play the game on Mystique (not G100/G200/G400+!) with their own simpler alpha blend fallbacks. That's a 2000 commercial release (in europe. 2003 for US)

apsosig.png
long live PCem

Reply 46 of 61, by dr.zeissler

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
anakin94 wrote on 2022-12-11, 22:00:
My system is not clean. It was in the last time very experimental and it doesn't shutdown. Maybe there is the problem? […]
Show full quote

My system is not clean.
It was in the last time very experimental and it doesn't shutdown.
Maybe there is the problem?

Can you try driver 3.70?
And are you using the latest VBIOS?

Bios is 1.5, don't know if that is the latest.

Retro-Gamer 😀 ...on different machines

Reply 47 of 61, by anakin94

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

AFAIK the latest VBIOS is version 1.8.

If i have time in the next days, i will do a clean install and recheck if the DX6.1-driver has the monitor settings.
Probably can you mix the driver files?

MGAPDX64.INF   Installation support file
MGAPDX64.DRV MGA Win95 display driver
MGAPDX64.VXD MGA miniVDD
MGALLX64.DLL MGA initialization DLL
MGAXDD.DRV MGA DirectDraw 32-bit driver
MGAXDD32.DLL MGA 32-bit DirectDraw/Direct3D component
MGAXDD.VXD MGA VxD DirectDraw component

Enhanced for Matrox Mystique

Reply 48 of 61, by dr.zeissler

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

I looked at your display-settings. Please keep in mind:
- 75hz Refresh is OK for emulation which requires 50hz like an amiga/c64/atari-st etc. emulator, it's not complete stutterfree but it's OK Better than 60/70 of course.
- 50hz would be really nice, but you can only achive this by using a dos-emulator in dos or in win95-dos/fullscreen (css64 has such a mode, L365 can perhaps do this 800x600 50hz)
- 70hz is essential to get jazz2 smooth, so choose the res you want to achieve this. I recommend 640x400 for this.
- 75hz in 800x600 is a bad idea in Turrican2 T2002 because it's only smooth in 60hz. (But for T2002 you need 600mhz+)

I always choose the 60hz 1024 standard-mga-monitor and tweak only the 512x384 because this still has 85hz hard-set.
I did a bunch of testing and as I said, ddraw was only ok with the very latest driver from 1999, everything else was broken.

I will do some more testing this weekend...

Retro-Gamer 😀 ...on different machines

Reply 49 of 61, by dr.zeissler

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Did not mix the drivers, here is what I got. Naked win95.

POWERDESK 3.70.007
3.700.007 (driver from the Matrox-Driver-CD)
- Full Refreshrate-Controls
- vsync in ddraw FALSE !! (can't find a switch to turn it on)
- 256color-mode-acc OK (but no VSYNC)
- GTA2 OK
- KeeperD3D OK

DIRECTX-PACKAGES 5.2 and 6.1
4.10.00.1555 DirectX-Driver
- No Refreshrate-Controls (hztool does not work either)
- vsync in ddraw OK
- 256color-mode-acc FALSE
- GTA2 black fields around sprites FALSE
- KeeperD3D OK

POWERDESK 4.31.041 very latest driver for mystique (1999) and is also recommended from fujitsu for the boards with onboard mga.
4.11.01.4310 Driver
- Full Refreshrate-Controls OK
- vsync in ddraw OK
- 256color-mode-acc OK
- GTA2 OK
- KeeperD3D OK

Clear winner 4.31.041 !

I have to figure a way around the KeperD3D problem. I noticed that overlays are different between the drivers.

Last edited by dr.zeissler on 2022-12-14, 19:55. Edited 7 times in total.

Retro-Gamer 😀 ...on different machines

Reply 50 of 61, by anakin94

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Ok, i checked the DX-driver with a clean install and you're right.
There are no monitor settings.

dr.zeissler wrote on 2022-12-12, 20:12:

I have to figure a way around the KeperD3D problem. I noticed that overlays are different between the drivers.

There is also a 4.12 driver.
You could try, if it will fix this issue.

The driver packages of version 4.21, 4.24 and 4.26 seems also to have the Mystique drivers, but the hardware IDs are missing in the inf-file.

Enhanced for Matrox Mystique

Reply 54 of 61, by anakin94

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Good to know, you found the issue of the D3D version of Dungeon Keeper.

I don't need V-Sync, for me the 3.70 driver should be the best, because of Colin McRae Rally.

dr.zeissler wrote on 2022-12-12, 20:12:
DIRECTX-PACKAGES 5.2 and 6.1 4.10.00.1555 DirectX-Driver - No Refreshrate-Controls (hztool does not work either) - vsync in ddra […]
Show full quote

DIRECTX-PACKAGES 5.2 and 6.1
4.10.00.1555 DirectX-Driver
- No Refreshrate-Controls (hztool does not work either)
- vsync in ddraw OK
- 256color-mode-acc FALSE
- GTA2 black fields around sprites FALSE
- KeeperD3D OK

I have a question.
Where does you check the version number of the DX-Driver?

Enhanced for Matrox Mystique

Reply 56 of 61, by dr.zeissler

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

vsync in ddraw is essentiell to me... I even did not get vsync t work with 3.70 with extra-tools like powerstrip.
Every single Scene-Demo/Intro requires vsync. Lot's of games too (PitfallTheMayanAdventure, Captains-Claw, Jazz2, DX-Boulder, and lot's and lot's more)

Retro-Gamer 😀 ...on different machines

Reply 57 of 61, by dr.zeissler

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
anakin94 wrote on 2022-12-11, 20:34:
I had also to lower the refresh rate for 512x384 from 85 hz to 60 hz. You can do this in the monitor properties. Choose MGA-Moni […]
Show full quote

I had also to lower the refresh rate for 512x384 from 85 hz to 60 hz.
You can do this in the monitor properties.
Choose MGA-Monitor and edit an Default Monitor.

Btw. i checkedthe DX-Driver.
It's version 3.51.

I don't have GTA 2 🙁

This will be ignored for the games that use the bios defaults on VESA monitor.
In that case you have to change the dos-monitor settings which I have not tested yet.

Doc

Retro-Gamer 😀 ...on different machines

Reply 58 of 61, by dr.zeissler

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

If somebody has really fixed the anoying issue (MSI games vs. TFT) then please let me know how you did it!

Parameters:
- What monitor are you using? (mine is Nec 71vm 1280x1024 75hz max)
- Bios version of the Matrox mystique (mine is actual 1.5)
- What driver are you using in windows? mine is POWERDESK 4.31.041)
- What windows monitor type are you using, the one from windows or a matrox monitor (mine is matrox vesa 1024x768 60hz, I have to correct the vesa 512x384 because it's 78hz and my tft requires max 75hz)
- What vesa-driver are you using? (I use sdd 5.3 full version, without it I can't get access to vesa resolutions in most games)
- What DOS monitor are you using (mgamon from the setup351 bios-disk)? that is most essentiell for the MSI games! (mine is also 1024x768 vesa 60hz, same as in windows.

But it does not work, so why is that?

1. Stargunner
Stargunner detects Vesa2.0 with mystique and SDD loaded, but the screen is black and stays black (monitor shows 640x480x59.1 hz) should be correct because 320x240 seems to be the vesa-mode of the game and the monitor interpolates that to 640x480. But black in black, what's wrong here?

2. Chasm the rift
After loading SDD chasm shows lot's of possible modes and everything works like intended

3. Destrucion Derby2
Intro and Mainscreen does work, looks ugly/disorted and stuttery, starting the game shows blackscreen and locksup the machine.

4. Blood
Monitor stays black, selected VESA 640x480. Don't know what is wrong here.

A lot more testing has to be done!

Retro-Gamer 😀 ...on different machines

Reply 59 of 61, by chinny22

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

kickloch found a utility, I only tested with Screamer but would think it works for more games.
The BIOS upgrade is optional and selecting "Standard VESA 1024 by 768 @ 60 Hz" seems to be a safe bet.
Re: Black screen problems with Screamer 2 and Screamer Rally on Matrox Mystique