VOGONS

VLB vs PCI

Topic actions

First post, by Hatta

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank

I'm looking to fill a 486 shaped hole in my collection. I bought an "as-is" 486 from Goodwill and of course it didn't work. Corrosion had eaten through several traces on the bottom of the motherboard. However, the case itself was worth what I paid for it, and now I have a bunch of 486 parts.

The dead 486 was a VLB based board running at 40mhz. The one VLB card in it was a Cirrus Logic video card. I've never used a VLB system before, and I'd like to use the parts that I have. But PCI 486 boards seem to be more common on ebay, and cheaper, and I have PCI video cards too. Plus PCI boards often have PS/2 mouse headers, which is a plus for my KVM setup.

My question is, is there a reason to go with a VLB board over a PCI board? PCI runs at 33mhz, and a VLB setup should be capable of at least 40mhz, right? Does that translate to better video performance?

I'm not intending to put anything faster than a DX2/66 in it, and I'd be happy with a DX at 40mhz I think. This machine will fill the gap between my 20mhz 386 and my P200MMX. Any thoughts? Go with PCI and stash the VLB card, or hold out for a VLB board?

Reply 1 of 35, by swaaye

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

I wouldn't give PCI much advantage beyond the possibility to use more commonplace cards in your 486. This isn't even a given because 486 chipsets didn't implement PCI very well. VLB's main quirk is that you really can't use more than 2 VLB cards at once. Usually you have a VLB video card and VLB disk controller (IDE, etc).

Reply 2 of 35, by Jorpho

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
Hatta wrote:

Plus PCI boards often have PS/2 mouse headers, which is a plus for my KVM setup.

They do? I don't think I've ever seen one. (PS/2 headers in general tend to be quite uncommon.)

Reply 4 of 35, by Hatta

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank