VOGONS

First post, by Mau1wurf1977

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

Spotted this on eBay Australia ( he had two, I purchased one and just now the second one) for $29 delivered.

I asked the seller about the chipset and it confirmed that it's the B stepping with Tualatin support. So I took a gamble hoping it would work and it arrived yesterday.

The status of the bard was totally disgusting. Full of dust and grime, not a single attempt to clean it. I took it straight under the shower and hosed it down. This is my first attempt and washing a board this way and I believe I didn't let it dry enough. Yesterday it wouldn't even turn on, no fan action at all. Today it would POST, but the clock would run at triple the speed. This afternoon it seems to be fully working.

It boots with the PIII-S 1.4 which is great news. Unfortunately I snapped one of the cooling mounting hooks straight off. The cooler (it's massive with a 7000 rpm fan) works fine without fasting though, CPU sits at 40c.

The BIOS has an interesting note about being a sample version.

sdx8shMh.jpg

rS9fbGoh.png

8lWvSjMh.png

7Pt7N8uh.png

The board appears to be an OEM version of this AOpen board:

http://www.motherboards.org/mobot/motherboard … /AOpen/MX3SP-U/

The BIOS chip is socketed. But it's that little one. I believe the BIOS flasher I have comes with this adapter but I don't want to risk it at the moment because everything is working well.

But I wouldn't mind finding a newer OEM BIOS.

My website with reviews, demos, drivers, tutorials and more...
My YouTube channel

Reply 1 of 8, by Logistics

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

This board looks like it's been recapped. I could swear those are Panasonic FM's which I doubt the board came with.