VOGONS


Reply 20340 of 20436, by janskjaer

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

It's not very often that these two cards get to sit together nowadays, or at least as much as I'd like them to. So, I thought I should take a photo opportunity while they are.
They've spent a few days in my Dell Dimension XPS M200s, playing some classic MS-DOS games that take full advantage of their native 3D APIs.

Attachments

DELL Dimension XPS M200s
:Intel Pentium MMX 200MHz
:64MB RAM
:MS-DOS 6.22 / Win95b
:Matrox Millenium II PCI
:Matrox m3D (PowerVR PCX2)
Chaintech Apogee 7VJL Apogee
:AMD Athlon XP 2800+
:3GB RAM
:Win98SE / Win2000 SP4
:3Dlabs Oxygen VX1 32MB AGP 4x

Reply 20341 of 20436, by creepingnet

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Well. Did finally break out the Versa M/75 for the first time in a long while and took a stab at using something I just bought.

Found a C.I.B. NEC VersaVideo card (Basically a Nogatech NV256 with audio) DV capture card. Still figuring out how to get this darn thing working. Seems I was able to get FullTV to see the card (but not the input), but VersaVideo app in Windows 3.11 For Workgroups is whining "You need a Newer Version of Windows" to run this - odd since this card's box is marked (c) 1994 and the program was designed for Windows 3.1x.

Program runs under 95, but no video. Also found the installer was unable to copy UDH.DLL over so I had to snag that off another driver. Still not sure what would be triggering that error though. But once I do get this working, will be cool to record some YouTube footage using the Versa from Windows 3.1x or 95 if I Can get the 95 Drivers for this device. Guess some playtime is in order. Not in a rush though....looks like more quiet banality over Thanksgiving since I have been spending more family time and less computer time.

~The Creeping Network~
My Website - https://sites.google.com/site/thecreepingnetwork/home - ending 9/2021
My Youtube Channel - https://www.youtube.com/creepingnet
NEW WEBSITE - 9/2021 https://creepingnet.neocities.org/

Reply 20342 of 20436, by bjwil1991

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Attempted to use my KXL-DN745A on my Austin PN/312TFT laptop, however, I hit a snag: doesn't load with my PCMCIA drivers, even though another CD-ROM drive works with it.

My other laptops don't have a way to either disable the on-board sound, the CD-ROM drive, or both. Plus, my Versa M/75 still doesn't power on (has issues with the FDD, HDD, and other items, and it's basically like my mom's 1991 Dodge Spirit at 25K miles: thinking about working).

Discord: https://discord.gg/U5dJw7x
Systems from the Compaq Portable 1 to FX-8350
Twitch: https://twitch.tv/retropcuser

Reply 20343 of 20436, by 386SX

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Today still testing this Pentium 4 3,6Ghz machine with latest linux sw possible to see how it works. The difference in speed enabling the HT feature is quite visible on web browsers page rendering but also the cpu temperature with the same cooler easily increase up to +10°C I'd say or at least the sensor clearly read higher temps.
To stay 'time correct' I'm trying also an old dial-up early HSDPA phone internet connection and after some testing with a bandwidth of 3.0Mbps in download and 0,4Mbps in upload. I suppose that remote video job interviews might work with some old style webcam with 176x144 video resolution. 😁 The only problem would be the stability of the dial-up old modem connection but it'd interesting to talk in a job interview with which config you're working on compared to some high end company style 4K expensive config. 😁

Reply 20344 of 20436, by GigAHerZ

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Recently replaced my Soyo 025P2 motherboard with the QDI V4S471/G, as that one can have 1024kB of L2 cache.
Also used 9x1024kb chips, 10 and 12ns, that i got from aliexpress. (probably timings are fake, but don't care that much)

As a result, i made some benchmarks, too:

tmp.png
Filename
tmp.png
File size
37.23 KiB
Views
531 views
File license
CC-BY-4.0

QDI @ 3x50 seems to be a pretty kick-ass result for a strictly non-PCI 486. 😀 For 50MHz FSB, i had to increase the timings for RAM and L2 cache and couldn't tighten the video card's timings as much either. For other setups, everything was maxed out.

"640K ought to be enough for anybody." - And i intend to get every last bit out of it even after loading every damn driver!

Reply 20345 of 20436, by PTherapist

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Just been testing a bunch of PCs & associated hardware ready for this weekend - I've invited friends over for a retro PC LAN Party, so just making sure all 9 computers are going to be ready for use, as well as checking all peripherals are in good working order, ie. keyboards, mice, controllers etc.

Aside from a couple of dead CMOS batteries & other minor niggles, all good so far. 😀

2x 1998-era PCs, 2x 2000-era PCs & 2x 2003-era PCs should all be good to go.

As a side attraction, not LAN connected but just for fun - my IBM XT 4.77MHz CGA build, a 386SX 16MHz PC & a 486 DX2-66 PC should all be good too, I just need to give the 486 a check over tomorrow as it can be a little cranky.

Reply 20346 of 20436, by fool

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Some repair activity again. Several months ago I bought pile of scrap video cards, HDDs, main boards etc. In the box there was this Sapphire Radeon 9600 XT that output scrambled colorful screen. I have spent too many hours to find out where's the issue, including capacitor replacements, missing component checks and so on. Yesterday it had a lot of cold spray which actually "fixed" it occasionally, but I wasn't sure what was the sweet spot. Today I gave it a final check after which I would have resoldered the GPU. Fortunately I found two missing resistors near power supply op-amp (was I blind?). I'm amazed this site still exists and I found it so quickly: http://alasir.com/reviews/sapphire_radeon_960 … oltmodding.html Finding this small blind 200R resistor is next to impossible. I found 0805 size 200R + 3k3 and it shall be enough for testing purposes. Quick test and it gives proper output at least on POST screen. Yey!

There's also this interesting sound card test: http://alasir.com/reviews/soundbench/index.html

Attachments

  • 9600xt.jpg
    Filename
    9600xt.jpg
    File size
    635.2 KiB
    Views
    438 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 20347 of 20436, by fool

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
PTherapist wrote on 2021-11-24, 18:53:

I've invited friends over for a retro PC LAN Party, so just making sure all 9 computers are going to be ready for use, as well as checking all peripherals are in good working order, ie. keyboards, mice, controllers etc.

Sounds perfect! I have planned the same thing for couple of years now. I mean is: collected truck-load of retro gear in that intention. I hope the day will come.
I have organized few small group Commodore 64 game nights, but a real retro PC LAN party would be totally different.

Reply 20349 of 20436, by avinegar

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
luckybob wrote on 2019-05-01, 18:39:
https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachments/404433 … 0501_002718.jpg […]
Show full quote

https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachments/404433 … 0501_002718.jpg

Today I saved a Trenton TR-P6V pentium pro board from the bin. I had actually bought this board 10+ years ago and it never worked right, the bios would hang and could never finish posting. Well, I stumbled across the board last night when i was goofing around in the garage and gave it another go.

Still had errors, but this time I was armed with a eeprom programmer, and sure enough, the bios chip was wonky. Not enough the system wouldn't post, but enough where it couldn't finish. So I contacted the people that made the board: https://www.trentonsystems.com/ and they were quick to respond and happy to provide a manual and updated bios. So in addition to the board now working properly, I now have a manual!

There still is a borked memory slot (or a bad simm) but I can fix that easily enough.

I'll post both over onto vogons drivers for the people that google sends here. Also if anyone has a TR-DP6 version of this board (dual cpu), shoot me an message as I'd love to get it from you.

I am currently trying to get a system running which uses the Trenton TR-P6V board. Trenton no longer supports the board. Do you still have the manual? I would really like to get a copy of it. My first problem is I do not see anything on the board that looks like a CMOS battery, which has to be replaced. I hope after all this time you will be able to help. Thank you!

Reply 20350 of 20436, by Nexxen

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Managed to overclock an Am5x86 133 to 160 no problem on a M912 ver 1.7, with air cooling. Super stable.
Couldn't get it to post with 50mhz fsb, to 200mhz. One cpu would stop at C5 on post card, the other one wouldn't even post.
I don't have 50 or 45ns ram to test further.

I guess you need a good board to get there. Mine isn't good enough.

Last edited by Nexxen on 2021-11-25, 08:51. Edited 1 time in total.

PC#1 Pentium 233 MMX - 98SE
PC#2 PIII-1Ghz - 98SE/W2K

Reply 20351 of 20436, by appiah4

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
fool wrote on 2021-11-24, 19:19:

There's also this interesting sound card test: http://alasir.com/reviews/soundbench/index.html

I just read through this, I love sound cards so it was an interesting read.

The most hillarious part of it for me was that Creative bought Ensoniq, cloned their AudioPCI sound card and managed to make it worse 😁

I'm installing, and uninstalling OSs on my fast AthlonXP/Voodoo 3 system. I can't seem to decide on a combination I like. I tried standalone Win98 but it was too cookie cutter. I switched to DOS/Win2K multiboot and I'm not 100% happy with it because ESS Solo-1 in DOS (forced IRQ10) is kind of meh. The system is:

AthlonXP 1700+
1GB DDR RAM
Voodoo 3 3000 AGP
Terrateci 128i (ESS Solo-1)

Basically for running 1994-1999 DOS and Win9x games. I think I may just reduce RAM to 512K and go for Win98/Win2K dualboot.

Retronautics: A digital gallery of my retro computers, hardware and projects.

Reply 20352 of 20436, by bjwil1991

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Had to readjust my PVM-9L1's tube since it was slightly off center when I serviced it a year ago to fix the composite sync issues. Looks better and still sharp.

Discord: https://discord.gg/U5dJw7x
Systems from the Compaq Portable 1 to FX-8350
Twitch: https://twitch.tv/retropcuser

Reply 20353 of 20436, by LHN91

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
PTherapist wrote on 2021-11-24, 18:53:
Just been testing a bunch of PCs & associated hardware ready for this weekend - I've invited friends over for a retro PC LAN Par […]
Show full quote

Just been testing a bunch of PCs & associated hardware ready for this weekend - I've invited friends over for a retro PC LAN Party, so just making sure all 9 computers are going to be ready for use, as well as checking all peripherals are in good working order, ie. keyboards, mice, controllers etc.

Aside from a couple of dead CMOS batteries & other minor niggles, all good so far. 😀

2x 1998-era PCs, 2x 2000-era PCs & 2x 2003-era PCs should all be good to go.

As a side attraction, not LAN connected but just for fun - my IBM XT 4.77MHz CGA build, a 386SX 16MHz PC & a 486 DX2-66 PC should all be good too, I just need to give the 486 a check over tomorrow as it can be a little cranky.

I've literally got an 8 Retro PC LAN setup configured and ready for this to happen, but don't know anybody nearby who would want to do it 🤣. Honestly kinda jealous.

Reply 20354 of 20436, by BetaC

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Well, I managed to find what was causing the ground on my case, and corrected the issue with a dual layer tape patch. Now the problem is figuring out if it's the serial mouse that is crashing windows 95, or if it's the serial mouse that's doing it. Either way, I am now fully in this 486 build. I have put sweat, and now blood in to it. As for why I am using Windows 95, it's purely to allow myself to put it up on CPU-Z verification. After that, nothing but DOS and win3.1.

9zy51i-99.png
g32zpm-99.png
0zuv7q-6.png
5fh2yu-6.png

Reply 20355 of 20436, by PC@LIVE

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Unsuccessfully tested a PIII 800 on MB Procomp BVC3A, connected everything necessary for starting, but even pressing PWR-ON several times, it does nothing.
The CPU fan does not spin, and in the post card everything is turned off.
I have not yet understood what the problem could be but the mosfets are not shorted, I will try to look around the power lines if there is any interruption.

Attachments

AMD 286-16 287-10 4MB HD 45MB VGA 256KB
AMD 386DX-40 Intel 387 8MB HD 81MB VGA 256KB
Cyrix 486DLC-40 IIT387-40 8MB VGA 512KB
AMD 5X86-133 16MB VGA VLB CL5428 2MB and many others
AMD K62+ 550 SOYO 5EMA+ and many others
AST Pentium Pro 200 MHz L2 256KB

Reply 20356 of 20436, by BitWrangler

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
BetaC wrote on 2021-11-26, 00:48:

Well, I managed to find what was causing the ground on my case, and corrected the issue with a dual layer tape patch. Now the problem is figuring out if it's the serial mouse that is crashing windows 95, or if it's the serial mouse that's doing it. Either way, I am now fully in this 486 build. I have put sweat, and now blood in to it. As for why I am using Windows 95, it's purely to allow myself to put it up on CPU-Z verification. After that, nothing but DOS and win3.1.

There were some driver and hardware cursor issues with some SVGA graphics cards and various versions of their drivers back in the day, move the mouse pointer and it would freeze and lock the machine up, or other times would move, go all scrambled and corrupted and either crash or throw general exception faults shortly after. Later drivers were usually the cure.

Unicorn herding operations are proceeding, but all the totes of hens teeth and barrels of rocking horse poop give them plenty of hiding spots.

Reply 20357 of 20436, by BetaC

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
BitWrangler wrote on 2021-11-26, 23:07:
BetaC wrote on 2021-11-26, 00:48:

Well, I managed to find what was causing the ground on my case, and corrected the issue with a dual layer tape patch. Now the problem is figuring out if it's the serial mouse that is crashing windows 95, or if it's the serial mouse that's doing it. Either way, I am now fully in this 486 build. I have put sweat, and now blood in to it. As for why I am using Windows 95, it's purely to allow myself to put it up on CPU-Z verification. After that, nothing but DOS and win3.1.

There were some driver and hardware cursor issues with some SVGA graphics cards and various versions of their drivers back in the day, move the mouse pointer and it would freeze and lock the machine up, or other times would move, go all scrambled and corrupted and either crash or throw general exception faults shortly after. Later drivers were usually the cure.

It might actually just be the wheels inside my mouse, since windows does detect a generic serial mouse, as does CTMouse.

Edit: I am at a complete loss. The mouse just doesn't want to work despite "working" according to DOS and windows. And, funnily enough, Rebel Assault, a game that has a nice menu system that supports mouse movement, is reporting my DX2-66 as running at 14 MHz. I guess I need to figure out how to get the turbo figured out.

9zy51i-99.png
g32zpm-99.png
0zuv7q-6.png
5fh2yu-6.png

Reply 20358 of 20436, by GigAHerZ

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

For a moment, i consider 2013 as retro.

Set up my old workstation PC for sale.
Selling it in local Estonian forum, but who want's to see more pictures and specs, you can find them out here: https://foorum.hinnavaatlus.ee/viewtopic.php? … 2042&highlight=

Kinda sad to sell it - it's just beautiful machine. But by now, too old and slow for stuff i need to do...

cWZs9G3.jpeg

"640K ought to be enough for anybody." - And i intend to get every last bit out of it even after loading every damn driver!

Reply 20359 of 20436, by Joseph_Joestar

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
GigAHerZ wrote on 2021-11-27, 10:42:

Kinda sad to sell it - it's just beautiful machine. But by now, too old and slow for stuff i need to do...

Have you considered turning it into a highly overpowered WinXP retro rig?

From what I can see, that motherboard should still have XP drivers. And you can always dual boot with Win7 for some of the earlier games from the 2010s.

PC#1: Pentium MMX 166 / Soyo SY-5BT / S3 Trio64V+ / Voodoo1 / OPTi 82C930 / AWE64
PC#2: Celeron 466 / Abit ZM6 / Voodoo3 / AWE64 Gold / YMF744 / SC-155
PC#3: AthlonXP 1700+ / Abit KT7A / GeForce4 / SBLive / ALS100
PC#4: Athlon64 3700+ / DFI LanParty / 9600GT / X-Fi Titanium