VOGONS


Reply 22060 of 22422, by TheAbandonwareGuy

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
BitWrangler wrote on 2022-06-28, 01:24:

If your CDROM is 8x or slower you also have to be questioning whether or not the drive itself is boot capable or not. It's kind of a sliding scale at 1:9 at the 1x end to 9:1 at the 8x end as the years went on for proportion of drives boot capable or not. Then there's been some latter day natural selection going on, i.e. the 8x (and 2x, 4x 6x) that won't boot got yeeted sooner than the 8x that were fully capable.

I wasn't trying to boot from the CD directly. I was trying to get the CD ROM to detect so I could install Win95 from it. I'm using a Win95 OSR2 Boot Floppy to actually boot, its just the Win95 setup data is actually on CD. I don't feel like creating 31 floppies to install Win95 floppy disk edition.

Anywho this setup is def aftermarket and I did get it working. The motherboard IDE controller and BIOs has absolutely no CD-ROM support. I don't think it even shipped with a CD drive. I want to say the previous owner had no idea what he was doing but TBF this would have been a weird issue to resolve in 2000 unless you had something like Scott Muellers "Upgrading and Repairing PCs" or an internet connection to help with trouble shooting AND a lot of spare parts to rule out parts failure or incompatibility. I wouldn't have wasted time on a 486 then either.

To anyone reading this in the future with the same problem with their Gateway 4DX2-66 LP1:

To get the IDE controller on the Soundblaster working you need to disable the onboard secondary IDE channel, and then connect the CD Drive to the SB's IDE controller jumpered for Master (CS does not work). The OAK CD Rom driver works fine after that. I also disabled all the serial and COM ports to reduce the chance of address conflicts as (I at least) never use those on my retro PCs. The Windows 95 OSR2 Boot Disk also does not function correctly with this machine for whatever reason, use a Windows 98FE Boot Disk with the 95OSR2 CD-ROM.

Cyb3rst0rms Retro Hardware Warzone: https://discord.gg/jK8uvR4c

Reply 22061 of 22422, by moog

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I'm trying to set up a CICD system that will deliver GZDoom, LZDoom and OpenMW for Windows XP x64. I also need a VNC server for testing, I don't want to walk from one room to another all the time.

You may disagree that Windows XP x64 is a retro setup and you might be partially correct. The retro core of this setup is the SoundBlaster Audigy 2 ZS which is supported very nicely under that OS. I've chosen that system because it can do 64bit arithmetic natively and since I'm going to be compiling a lot of things, this will come in handy sometimes. Vista on the other hand killed DirectSound3D which I find to be detrimental to my goal of building a setup that uses EAX.

Audigy 2 ZS in FreeDOS
LinLin adapter documentation
+ various capacitor list threads

Reply 22062 of 22422, by TrashPanda

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
moog wrote on 2022-06-28, 07:52:

I'm trying to set up a CICD system that will deliver GZDoom, LZDoom and OpenMW for Windows XP x64. I also need a VNC server for testing, I don't want to walk from one room to another all the time.

You may disagree that Windows XP x64 is a retro setup and you might be partially correct. The retro core of this setup is the SoundBlaster Audigy 2 ZS which is supported very nicely under that OS. I've chosen that system because it can do 64bit arithmetic natively and since I'm going to be compiling a lot of things, this will come in handy sometimes. Vista on the other hand killed DirectSound3D which I find to be detrimental to my goal of building a setup that uses EAX.

XP/XP64 is retro in my book, along with Vista, they both run on similar hardware which is firmly in the retro arena.

Oh noes, the cap let the shmooo out 😁

Reply 22063 of 22422, by PD2JK

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Yes, another small recap story. But I only replaced the two bad ones + a good one for measurement purposes.
I really hate fighting RoHS solder, and I'd like to postpone the purchase of a good desoldering station. For soldering one of the caps, I needed a 1mm drill, jeeezz.....

Notice the SECC slot, wich says slot 1. Well, slot A is just a turned around slot 1 slot anyway.

Attachments

  • DSC_3888.JPG
    Filename
    DSC_3888.JPG
    File size
    1.46 MiB
    Views
    217 views
    File license
    Public domain

Philips P3238: Siemens 80286-12 / Highscreen AT: Pentium MMX 200@233MHz / Highscreen ATX: Athlon Classic 1 GHz

Reply 22065 of 22422, by PD2JK

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Yes, too bad all those short lived 'platforms' are. Socket 4, 8, 423, 939...

Philips P3238: Siemens 80286-12 / Highscreen AT: Pentium MMX 200@233MHz / Highscreen ATX: Athlon Classic 1 GHz

Reply 22066 of 22422, by appiah4

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

Does Slot A also count? At least where I lived it was near non existant, and Socket A came quite fast to make it a legacy thing.. It's also pretty unobtanium for me.

Retronautics: A digital gallery of my retro computers, hardware and projects.

Reply 22067 of 22422, by Kahenraz

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Socket 939 was quite ubiquitous for a while. Do you mean 754? It was outdated the day I bought it, but I got it for a good deal at the time.

gmaverick2k wrote on 2022-06-28, 14:34:

been on a socket 939 binge. damn, theyre expensive, didnt expect them to be so rare nowadays 😒

What happened? This was not a rare socket. This thing was what all of the Athlon 64 ran on for years.

Reply 22068 of 22422, by TrashPanda

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Kahenraz wrote on 2022-06-28, 14:56:

Socket 939 was quite ubiquitous for a while. Do you mean 754? It was outdated the day I bought it, but I got it for a good deal at the time.

gmaverick2k wrote on 2022-06-28, 14:34:

been on a socket 939 binge. damn, theyre expensive, didnt expect them to be so rare nowadays 😒

What happened? This was not a rare socket. This thing was what all of the Athlon 64 ran on for years.

Plenty of them on eBay though many are hitting the cap death wall these days, plenty of 939 CPU on there too what's in short supply is "Good" 939 coolers.

Oh noes, the cap let the shmooo out 😁

Reply 22069 of 22422, by Joseph_Joestar

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
TrashPanda wrote on 2022-06-28, 15:03:

what's in short supply is "Good" 939 coolers.

You can still find relatively modern coolers that fit socket 754 and 939 motherboards.

I'm using a DeepCool Ice Edge Mini FS 2.0 on my socket 754 rig and it works great. Had one of those in a socket 939 build as well. And I'm reasonably sure Phil used a Wraith cooler in one of his socket 939 videos.

PC#1: Pentium MMX 166 / Soyo SY-5BT / S3 Trio64V+ / Voodoo1 / OPTi 82C930 / AWE64 Gold / SC-155
PC#2: AthlonXP 1700+ / Abit KT7A / Voodoo3 / SBLive / Vortex2
PC#3: Athlon64 3000+ / Asus K8V-MX / GeForce4 / Audigy1
PC#4: i5-3550P / MSI Z77A-G43 / GTX 650Ti / X-Fi

Reply 22070 of 22422, by TrashPanda

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Joseph_Joestar wrote on 2022-06-28, 15:25:
TrashPanda wrote on 2022-06-28, 15:03:

what's in short supply is "Good" 939 coolers.

You can still find relatively modern coolers that fit socket 754 and 939 motherboards.

I'm using a DeepCool Ice Edge Mini FS 2.0 on my socket 754 rig and it works great. Had one of those in a socket 939 build as well.

eBay is a weird place, you can buy 939 CPUs for cheaper than the coolers used to cool them, hell the "GOOD" coolers can sell for more than the motherboards on eBay.

Usually I go for deals where you get Board, CPU, Cooler and Ram in the same lot, just far easier than buying the overpriced coolers.

Oh noes, the cap let the shmooo out 😁

Reply 22071 of 22422, by Kahenraz

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Selling CPU coolers is a thing. I always try to salvage them, even the chunky extruded aluminum ones for Slot 1 Pentium 3s. They move quickly, and I finally sold my last one just yesterday. Of course, I only sell them for $5, but it goes to show that there is still interest in them.

Reply 22072 of 22422, by TrashPanda

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Kahenraz wrote on 2022-06-28, 15:39:

Selling CPU coolers is a thing. I always try to salvage them, even the chunky extruded aluminum ones for Slot 1 Pentium 3s. They move quickly, and I finally sold my last one just yesterday. Of course, I only sell them for $5, but it goes to show that there is still interest in them.

The Chunky 370/462 coolers are good for more than just CPUs so its likely there will always be interest in them, same for the Socket 5/7 coolers, they are really the perfect size for a lot of applications and working via Molex is good too.

Oh noes, the cap let the shmooo out 😁

Reply 22073 of 22422, by gmaverick2k

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Tried the Audigy 2 ZS on my newly acquired SC-55 GS model. it keeps hanging notes so went back to the vortex joystick port. I'm trying to make use of the audigy 2 zs but its more pain than its worth

Reply 22074 of 22422, by gmaverick2k

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Kahenraz wrote on 2022-06-28, 14:56:

Socket 939 was quite ubiquitous for a while. Do you mean 754? It was outdated the day I bought it, but I got it for a good deal at the time.

gmaverick2k wrote on 2022-06-28, 14:34:

been on a socket 939 binge. damn, theyre expensive, didnt expect them to be so rare nowadays 😒

What happened? This was not a rare socket. This thing was what all of the Athlon 64 ran on for years.

its rare on uk ebay for a 939 with an agp port. was able to win a what seems to be working 939 and also managed to win two mislisted (and untested) motherboards one of them which is a dfi lanparty 939 . all the 939 still to be recieved are based off the nforce3 ultra.

my earlier builds in the mid 2000's were all AMD as they were in my budget as a student, and from memory they were all relatively unstable steaming pile of.... heres hoping the wheat has been removed from the chaff over time

Reply 22075 of 22422, by Joseph_Joestar

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
gmaverick2k wrote on 2022-06-28, 16:08:

Tried the Audigy 2 ZS on my newly acquired SC-55 GS model. it keeps hanging notes so went back to the vortex joystick port.

I had a similar experience with an Audigy1 under Win9x.

The card also seems to default to its internal General MIDI synthesizer under pure DOS, instead of passing the signal to an external MIDI device.

PC#1: Pentium MMX 166 / Soyo SY-5BT / S3 Trio64V+ / Voodoo1 / OPTi 82C930 / AWE64 Gold / SC-155
PC#2: AthlonXP 1700+ / Abit KT7A / Voodoo3 / SBLive / Vortex2
PC#3: Athlon64 3000+ / Asus K8V-MX / GeForce4 / Audigy1
PC#4: i5-3550P / MSI Z77A-G43 / GTX 650Ti / X-Fi

Reply 22076 of 22422, by gmaverick2k

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Joseph_Joestar wrote on 2022-06-28, 15:25:
TrashPanda wrote on 2022-06-28, 15:03:

what's in short supply is "Good" 939 coolers.

You can still find relatively modern coolers that fit socket 754 and 939 motherboards.

I'm using a DeepCool Ice Edge Mini FS 2.0 on my socket 754 rig and it works great. Had one of those in a socket 939 build as well. And I'm reasonably sure Phil used a Wraith cooler in one of his socket 939 videos.

i've got a NH-D14 just idling on an intel sandybridge XP build not being used and a AM4 mounting kit I had used for an early ryzen 1700x build i had years ago. i've long since sold that ryzen build to land on muy silent intel build thinkcentre e72 i5 3570k 😉
i'm going to use the nh-d14 to cool the opteron 180 the motherboard comes with. i also bought a 3200+ boxed from a seller with a better condition boxed motherboard auction i lost
the motherboard has a bad cap but still works from the listing pics so will have to go out and get soldering kit etc...
/ramble

Reply 22077 of 22422, by gmaverick2k

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Joseph_Joestar wrote on 2022-06-28, 16:23:
gmaverick2k wrote on 2022-06-28, 16:08:

Tried the Audigy 2 ZS on my newly acquired SC-55 GS model. it keeps hanging notes so went back to the vortex joystick port.

I had a similar experience with an Audigy1 under Win9x.

The card also seems to default to its internal General MIDI synthesizer under pure DOS, instead of passing the signal to an external MIDI device.

the vortex 2 is soooooooo much easier and compatible, dont know what the obsession is with the audigy 2 zs overall for the win98 environment. i've tried so hard to integrate this sound card into my systems but it'll probably be for the more balls to the walls win98 build i will build... but if it doesnt play nice with my new roland sc-55 or lack of wavetable header etc.. 😒

Reply 22078 of 22422, by TrashPanda

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
gmaverick2k wrote on 2022-06-28, 16:27:
Joseph_Joestar wrote on 2022-06-28, 16:23:
gmaverick2k wrote on 2022-06-28, 16:08:

Tried the Audigy 2 ZS on my newly acquired SC-55 GS model. it keeps hanging notes so went back to the vortex joystick port.

I had a similar experience with an Audigy1 under Win9x.

The card also seems to default to its internal General MIDI synthesizer under pure DOS, instead of passing the signal to an external MIDI device.

the vortex 2 is soooooooo much easier and compatible, dont know what the obsession is with the audigy 2 zs overall for the win98 environment. i've tried so hard to integrate this sound card into my systems but it'll probably be for the more balls to the walls win98 build i will build... but if it doesnt play nice with my new roland sc-55 or lack of wavetable header etc.. 😒

Vortex 2 + X-Fi as the Slave card via line in on V2 with Midi through the V2 via the SC-55 and you have a build that can cover Midi, A3D and EAX with the Vortex covering DOS as needed.

Its the setup I have in my 98 box and it works beautifully ... the ZS2 is better kept on its own as it doesnt play nice due to its overly annoying driver setup.

Oh noes, the cap let the shmooo out 😁

Reply 22079 of 22422, by Joseph_Joestar

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
TrashPanda wrote on 2022-06-28, 16:32:

Vortex 2 + X-Fi as the Slave card via line in on V2 with Midi through the V2 via the SC-55 and you have a build that can cover Midi, A3D and EAX with the Vortex covering DOS as needed.

Its the setup I have in my 98 box and it works beautifully ... the ZS2 is better kept on its own as it doesnt play nice due to its overly annoying driver setup.

You probably mean SBLive instead of X-Fi, since the latter has no drivers for Win9x.

PC#1: Pentium MMX 166 / Soyo SY-5BT / S3 Trio64V+ / Voodoo1 / OPTi 82C930 / AWE64 Gold / SC-155
PC#2: AthlonXP 1700+ / Abit KT7A / Voodoo3 / SBLive / Vortex2
PC#3: Athlon64 3000+ / Asus K8V-MX / GeForce4 / Audigy1
PC#4: i5-3550P / MSI Z77A-G43 / GTX 650Ti / X-Fi