VOGONS


Reply 23180 of 23679, by Shponglefan

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Today I added some RGB to my 'Ultimate' Windows 98 build.

Next up I may try adding an Audigy 2 ZS installed alongside the MX300, at which point I think this one will be done.

Attachments

  • 98_Machine_RGB_LED.jpg
    Filename
    98_Machine_RGB_LED.jpg
    File size
    358.28 KiB
    Views
    499 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception

Tandy 1000 TL build
286 Epson build
Ultimate Windows XP build

Reply 23181 of 23679, by Nexxen

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Shponglefan wrote on 2022-11-19, 22:40:
Thank you. :) […]
Show full quote
Nexxen wrote on 2022-11-19, 00:05:

Nice machine 😉
CF cards have few shottky diodes and they failed a few times on my cards. Resoldered and it's back in business.
At least that has always been the cause for my CFs.

Thank you. 😀

Yeah, I'm hoping it's a simple case of a failed component that won't be too tough to diagnose / replace. Though with the few number of components, I can't imagine it will take too long to figure out. 😁

Kahenraz wrote on 2022-11-19, 01:50:

I had the same problem with a set of three CF to IDE adapters I received last week. One was not dead but worked with some (but not all) cards. And those it did work with showed corruption at POST, hung, or failed to let the system boot.

I inspected it under my microscope and couldn't find any problem with the traces or solder joints. I agree, there isn't anything that should go wrong on these, which is really weird. The seller wanted it back, so I returned it without investigating further.

I had similar symptoms. My system would POST, but then hang when attempting to boot. I also noticed the LEDs on it seemed dimmer than normal, so I'm assuming some sort of voltage wonkiness is going on, though it's not with the PSU output since I tested those and its fine.

With few components should hopefully not take too much work to figure out what failed.

Dimmer LED light happens when I forget to plug the FD connector.
VRM busted? You'll tell in the near future. 😀

PC#1 Pentium 233 MMX - 98SE
PC#2 PIII-1Ghz - 98SE/W2K

Reply 23182 of 23679, by Nexxen

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Shponglefan wrote on 2022-11-19, 22:46:

Today I added some RGB to my 'Ultimate' Windows 98 build.

Next up I may try adding an Audigy 2 ZS installed alongside the MX300, at which point I think this one will be done.

This is cute 😉
Bravo!

PC#1 Pentium 233 MMX - 98SE
PC#2 PIII-1Ghz - 98SE/W2K

Reply 23183 of 23679, by pentiumspeed

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Finally located 5 pieces of 20MHz oscillator in SOJ package for reasonable price. Ebay search didn't include this seller, it was in the links bar below the another through seller's main store links while looking at their 20MHz oscillator which costs 3.5 times as much.

For the experiment with slowing 386 or 486 down to 10MHz.

Cheers,

Great Northern aka Canada.

Reply 23184 of 23679, by Nexxen

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
pentiumspeed wrote on 2022-11-20, 02:31:

Finally located 5 pieces of 20MHz oscillator in SOJ package for reasonable price. Ebay search didn't include this seller, it was in the links bar below the another through seller's main store links while looking at their 20MHz oscillator which costs 3.5 times as much.

For the experiment with slowing 386 or 486 down to 10MHz.

Cheers,

I have friends in China, through Taobao everything is cheaper.
I asked them to buy crystals, they come 10x cheaper, from 5€ to 50 cents...

PC#1 Pentium 233 MMX - 98SE
PC#2 PIII-1Ghz - 98SE/W2K

Reply 23185 of 23679, by kohellus@gmail.com

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Hi,

Got one of my projects some head start. Started building some sets, P3 650 vs Athlon 650. Bought a radeon 7500 and looking for Geforce2 ti to company the P3. The Athlon mobo need recapping but it works.

Reply 23186 of 23679, by Tuba

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I finally got my act together and registered here...

I also decided on the specs of the oldest of the retro systems I'm going to bother with for the time being. Went with a Windows 95C build with a P233MMX on a ChainTech i430TX mobo, 32 MB SDRAM (until I find another 32MB stick somewhere), Matrox Millennium G200-SD PCI, AWE32, 3Com 3c509B, Teac CD-524E, and a CF to IDE adapter. Currently doing a few benchmarks for stability testing.

Reply 23187 of 23679, by vutt

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Went on with little GM modules shopping spree lately. Got:
1) SC-55K from Yahoo Japan
2)E-Wave add-on from Serdaco for Orpheus
I already had Yamaha MU50. From full main stream coverage GUS midi was missing. Then I stumbled upon Hummtaro fantastic soundbanks thread. Good reason to dust off my X3MB. WoW! Recently added GUS SB sounds very close to real one.

Today I got little bit more organized. Bought one of those cheap label printers finally. Result - pic attached!
Yamaha is YMF744 PCI card with it's fantastic XG synth exclusively for Win98.
Now I have filled all my mixer channels. No room for upgrade..
Although I'm reading that there is a limit to midi-trough daisy-chain setups. I'd like to keep it so. I'm enjoying a lot on the fly music switching ability.

Note to myself before upgrading - Be patient. Wait for Orpheus II and you'll get automatically many free slots for your mixer while keeping same options...

Attachments

  • GMMixer.jpg
    Filename
    GMMixer.jpg
    File size
    236.18 KiB
    Views
    380 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 23190 of 23679, by Shponglefan

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Worked on testing more sound card configs in my 486 system.

Tested out the combination of a GUS Classic, Terratec Profimedia Gold 16/96 and a Yucatan FX wavetable daughterboard, plus a Roland MPU-IPC for external MIDI.

Since the MPU-IPC has its port set to 330, I set the MIDI port on the Terratec to 300. For games with configurable General MIDI ports this was fine. I did run into an issue with X-Wing which doesn't allow for custom port settings. Though I could always use a custom batch file to change the Terratec port or just use an external MIDI module for that game.

Other than that one little wrinkle, everything else tested fine whether using GM, an external MT-32, GUS, or SB Pro compatible sounds.

Quite happy with this setup. 😁

Attachments

Tandy 1000 TL build
286 Epson build
Ultimate Windows XP build

Reply 23192 of 23679, by Shponglefan

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
pbagain wrote on 2022-11-20, 20:52:
DundyTheCroc wrote on 2022-11-19, 16:19:

pc3.jpg

What game is that? Looks pixelly-awesome and vaguely familiar 😉

Looks like Panzer Dragoon.

Tandy 1000 TL build
286 Epson build
Ultimate Windows XP build

Reply 23193 of 23679, by liqmat

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
Shponglefan wrote on 2022-11-20, 21:07:
pbagain wrote on 2022-11-20, 20:52:
DundyTheCroc wrote on 2022-11-19, 16:19:

pc3.jpg

What game is that? Looks pixelly-awesome and vaguely familiar 😉

Looks like Panzer Dragoon.

Correct. Sega PC version. Still runs without much fuss on Windows 10.

Reply 23194 of 23679, by DundyTheCroc

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
pbagain wrote on 2022-11-20, 20:52:
DundyTheCroc wrote on 2022-11-19, 16:19:

pc3.jpg

What game is that? Looks pixelly-awesome and vaguely familiar 😉

Panzer Dragoon for PC, the one that came bundled with Diamond Edge 3D 2120 and uses NV1 hardware acceleration.

Reply 23195 of 23679, by holdencars11

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Recapped GA-7VKML... I think I will do a fun budget 2001/2002 build with a Duron

Attachments

Ryzen5 1600AF/ASRock B450Mac/16Gb/HD7750
i7 2600K/P67A-C43/16GB/GTX560
i7 960/MSI X58 Pro/8GB/8800GTS
Athlon II x4 620/GA-M56-S3/8GB/8800GTS
Duron 1300/A7S333/512MB/MX440
6x86MX PR200/PC Chips M571/64MB/ET6000
NEC PowerMate1 268 10MHz
And another 40 rigs.

Reply 23196 of 23679, by ayandon

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Yesterday I cleaned this card using Soap Water > Hair Dryer > Sun > a little bit of WD-40.

GVEx2yR.jpg
W84CwBn.jpg

I want to restore my late father's 1st ever computer IBM ET&T PC-XT that he gifted me.
Hope you will be kind enough to guide and support me to restore his loving memory.

Reply 23197 of 23679, by ayandon

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Today I cleaned this card using Soap Water > Hair Dryer > Sun > a little bit of WD-40.

Yvmle9B.jpg
4A5OG8n.jpg

I want to restore my late father's 1st ever computer IBM ET&T PC-XT that he gifted me.
Hope you will be kind enough to guide and support me to restore his loving memory.

Reply 23198 of 23679, by RaiderOfLostVoodoo

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
ayandon wrote on 2022-11-21, 17:45:

Yesterday I cleaned this card using Soap Water > Hair Dryer > Sun > a little bit of WD-40.

Great job.
I hope you did rinse the card with clear water. You don't want residues of the soap on you card.
You can safe yourself some time and work, by drying hardware in the oven on low temperature. Keep the oven a bit open, so moisture can escape.
Also I wouldn't use WD-40. Do you have 99.9% isopropyl alcohol (also known as IPA or isopropanol)? You can get it super cheap if you buy a gallon. That stuff is insane. I scrub hardware with IPA and a cotton swab after I've bathed and dried them.

Reply 23199 of 23679, by debs3759

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

If you didn't rinse with a solvent such as IPA, won't the WD-40 eventually eat away at components and tracks?

See my graphics card database at www.gpuzoo.com
Constantly being worked on. Feel free to message me with any corrections or details of cards you would like me to research and add.