VOGONS


Reply 25060 of 27383, by Shponglefan

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

I needed an EPROM eraser to reprogram some old BIOS chips.

The cheap EPROM erasers on Amazon don't have a good reputation for quality, so instead I bought a UV sterilizer designed for disinfecting baby pacifiers.

Sterilizer 1.jpg
Filename
Sterilizer 1.jpg
File size
840.5 KiB
Views
1816 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

It has four UV-C LEDs inside. I just taped down the EPROM on top of one of the LEDs.

Sterilizer 2.jpg
Filename
Sterilizer 2.jpg
File size
556.51 KiB
Views
1816 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

It does have an annoying 1 minute timer. Fully erasing an EPROM took about 15 minutes, so that meant restarting it 15 times. But it did ultimately work.

Pentium 4 Multi-OS Build
486 DX4-100 with 6 sound cards
486 DX-33 with 5 sound cards

Reply 25061 of 27383, by badmojo

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
amigopi wrote on 2023-08-24, 11:59:

As the same problems happen with an actual hard disk at well, I don't think the CF-IDE adapter is (solely) to blame.

It's worth checking the jumpers on the existing master HDD too in my experience - I had one once that caused problems until some specific jumpers were set on it to allow another HDD to exist in the system.

Life? Don't talk to me about life.

Reply 25062 of 27383, by Veeb0rg

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Shponglefan wrote on 2023-08-24, 23:13:
I needed an EPROM eraser to reprogram some old BIOS chips. […]
Show full quote

I needed an EPROM eraser to reprogram some old BIOS chips.

The cheap EPROM erasers on Amazon don't have a good reputation for quality, so instead I bought a UV sterilizer designed for disinfecting baby pacifiers.

Sterilizer 1.jpg

It has four UV-C LEDs inside. I just taped down the EPROM on top of one of the LEDs.

Sterilizer 2.jpg

It does have an annoying 1 minute timer. Fully erasing an EPROM took about 15 minutes, so that meant restarting it 15 times. But it did ultimately work.

I bought one from my local Biglots for about $7 that works amazingly well. Erases an eprom in about 5 minutes. runs on a AA battery. It uses a UV florscent tube which i think works much better then those tiny LED's. I can actually fit 2 chips on it at a time.
the one i got > https://www.biglots.com/product/pure-mobile-u … wand/p810524726

https://www.amazon.com/Ontel-Safe-Healthy-San … B089F8SYFL?th=1 <this is similar to the one I got.

Reply 25063 of 27383, by KungfuPancake

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Checked out the Soyo Mainboard I received today. And what do you know - after some jumpering, changing out the CMOS battery and trying out some different RAM configs it sprang to life! No board level repair required. The caps look okay, but I might swap them to some high quality ones anyway, as they seem a common point of failure on this board. The socket retention clip is broken, but I'll find a replacement for that.

IMG_0373.jpg
Filename
IMG_0373.jpg
File size
1.39 MiB
Views
1725 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Pretty happy with that investment 😀

Reply 25064 of 27383, by BitWrangler

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
Shponglefan wrote on 2023-08-24, 23:13:
I needed an EPROM eraser to reprogram some old BIOS chips. […]
Show full quote

I needed an EPROM eraser to reprogram some old BIOS chips.

The cheap EPROM erasers on Amazon don't have a good reputation for quality, so instead I bought a UV sterilizer designed for disinfecting baby pacifiers.

Sterilizer 1.jpg

It has four UV-C LEDs inside. I just taped down the EPROM on top of one of the LEDs.

Sterilizer 2.jpg

It does have an annoying 1 minute timer. Fully erasing an EPROM took about 15 minutes, so that meant restarting it 15 times. But it did ultimately work.

Interesting, I grabbed a "smartphone steriliser" UV box a few months ago, was thinking about trying it for EPROM wiping.

Unicorn herding operations are proceeding, but all the totes of hens teeth and barrels of rocking horse poop give them plenty of hiding spots.

Reply 25065 of 27383, by bjwil1991

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Got Mac OS X Leopard installed on my PowerBook G4 1.5 via USB install and put Sorbet Leopard on the hard drive in place of the Leopard install and it works out well.

My plan is to upgrade the HDD to an SSD or sell it as-is.

Discord: https://discord.gg/U5dJw7x
Systems from the Compaq Portable 1 to Ryzen 9 5950X
Twitch: https://twitch.tv/retropcuser

Reply 25066 of 27383, by Shponglefan

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Spent an hour straightening pins on some processors. Probably took about twice as long for the Pentium as it did for the pair of 486s.

Before:

Processors bent pins before.jpg
Filename
Processors bent pins before.jpg
File size
349.13 KiB
Views
1567 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

After:

Processors bent pins after.jpg
Filename
Processors bent pins after.jpg
File size
323.67 KiB
Views
1567 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Pentium 4 Multi-OS Build
486 DX4-100 with 6 sound cards
486 DX-33 with 5 sound cards

Reply 25067 of 27383, by Shponglefan

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
BitWrangler wrote on 2023-08-25, 14:56:
Shponglefan wrote on 2023-08-24, 23:13:
I needed an EPROM eraser to reprogram some old BIOS chips. […]
Show full quote

I needed an EPROM eraser to reprogram some old BIOS chips.

The cheap EPROM erasers on Amazon don't have a good reputation for quality, so instead I bought a UV sterilizer designed for disinfecting baby pacifiers.

Sterilizer 1.jpg

It has four UV-C LEDs inside. I just taped down the EPROM on top of one of the LEDs.

Sterilizer 2.jpg

It does have an annoying 1 minute timer. Fully erasing an EPROM took about 15 minutes, so that meant restarting it 15 times. But it did ultimately work.

Interesting, I grabbed a "smartphone steriliser" UV box a few months ago, was thinking about trying it for EPROM wiping.

As long as it outputs UV-C light, it should do the trick.

Pentium 4 Multi-OS Build
486 DX4-100 with 6 sound cards
486 DX-33 with 5 sound cards

Reply 25068 of 27383, by midicollector

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Tried to free up enough memory to get Ultima 7 Part 2 Serpent Isle to run. Finally got it to run, had to disable EMS also though. Interestingly, it worked fine with my MT32 even without softmpu. Now I'm going to try to gradually restore the stuff I tore out of autoexec.bat and config.sys until I reach the limit of what I can include while still getting U7 to run. Might try dosmax or ctmouse in the process. Weirdly, the mouse driver is loaded but not by config.sys or autoexec.bat. Not sure how it gets loaded, must be a dos 7/windows 95 type thing.

Reply 25069 of 27383, by PcBytes

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Soldered a new fuse and DIN5 connector on my recent Luckystar P6VBX7 score. Both the connector and fuse came off a dead Biostar 8500TVX.

Now, to recap and replace that AMD flash chip...

"Enter at your own peril, past the bolted door..."
Main PC: i5 3470, GB B75M-D3H, 16GB RAM, 2x1TB
98SE : P3 650, Soyo SY-6BA+IV, 384MB RAM, 80GB

Reply 25070 of 27383, by Hiddenevil

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Spent yesterday re-educating myself on the topic of 1999-2003 AGP video cards and the difference between x2,x4,x8 slots and their voltages. Honestly its a not stop rock and roll life style I lead 🤣

There's an old android saying which I believe is peculiarly appropriate here. In binary language it goes something like this: 001100111011000111100, which roughly translated means: "Don't stand around jabbering when you're in mortal danger!"

Reply 25071 of 27383, by DerBaum

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

I needed a high quality but short M/F VGA extension cable for my voodoo card.
Some time ago i got a huge crate full of new 5 meter super high quality VGA extension cables from the dump.

So i took the time to make a cable myself...

The quality of the cable is awesome. Nicely double shielded colour channels and a full pass through. Even the housings are real metal...
I just replicated how they originally made this cable.
This feels like a proper piece of kit 😁 Its thick like a pinky 😁 And thats how i remember the cable i had back in the day with my voodoo...

2023-08-28 09.26.13.jpg
Filename
2023-08-28 09.26.13.jpg
File size
1.82 MiB
Views
1414 views
File license
CC-BY-4.0
2023-08-28 09.28.32.jpg
Filename
2023-08-28 09.28.32.jpg
File size
1.55 MiB
Views
1414 views
File license
CC-BY-4.0
2023-08-28 09.57.59.jpg
Filename
2023-08-28 09.57.59.jpg
File size
1.1 MiB
Views
1414 views
File license
CC-BY-4.0

CF card for scale...

2023-08-28 10.40.04.jpg
Filename
2023-08-28 10.40.04.jpg
File size
1.57 MiB
Views
1414 views
File license
CC-BY-4.0
Last edited by DerBaum on 2023-08-28, 10:10. Edited 2 times in total.

FCKGW-RHQQ2

Reply 25072 of 27383, by thp

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Finally documented how to use a RPi Zero W as "WIFI gateway" via USB for Windows 9x using RNDIS Ethernet (I've been using this for a year now, with good results): https://thp.io/2023/rpizero-usb-win98.html

Screenshot 2023-08-28 at 10.50.41.jpg
Filename
Screenshot 2023-08-28 at 10.50.41.jpg
File size
174.02 KiB
Views
1413 views
File license
Public domain

Adapted an AT power switch (sticky "on/off" state) to a ATX-style power switch (momentary switch, non-sticky) by removing the small bent metal pin following this tutorial: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oyKU2QPyEwc

Screenshot 2023-08-28 at 10.43.48.jpg
Filename
Screenshot 2023-08-28 at 10.43.48.jpg
File size
153.15 KiB
Views
1413 views
File license
Public domain

Then, when looking for a 2-pin connector to solder to it in my parts box, found that one connector already had exactly such an AT switch in "momentary" mode that I think I scavenged from an old broken Aptiva years ago. In any case, my dual-AT/ATX board in its Baby AT case is now powered by an ATX power supply (directly via the on-board ATX connector), with ATX-style switching, while still retaining the power button at the front (connected to the PWR SW mainboard header).

Screenshot 2023-08-28 at 10.43.55.jpg
Filename
Screenshot 2023-08-28 at 10.43.55.jpg
File size
132.92 KiB
Views
1413 views
File license
Public domain

Reply 25073 of 27383, by pan069

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Hiddenevil wrote on 2023-08-28, 08:49:

Spent yesterday re-educating myself on the topic of 1999-2003 AGP video cards and the difference between x2,x4,x8 slots and their voltages. Honestly its a not stop rock and roll life style I lead 🤣

Very recognisable lifestyle. I found myself reading through this the other week on a Friday evening, beer in hand... 🎸

http://www.playtool.com/pages/agpcompat/agp.html

Reply 25074 of 27383, by Hiddenevil

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
pan069 wrote on 2023-08-28, 09:33:
Hiddenevil wrote on 2023-08-28, 08:49:

Spent yesterday re-educating myself on the topic of 1999-2003 AGP video cards and the difference between x2,x4,x8 slots and their voltages. Honestly its a not stop rock and roll life style I lead 🤣

Very recognisable lifestyle. I found myself reading through this the other week on a Friday evening, beer in hand... 🎸

http://www.playtool.com/pages/agpcompat/agp.html

I have a very odd feeling I've been on this site or one very similar. I have a Dell mobo which supports AGP x4, but recently bought a x8 ATI card. My first concern was would it work? But then it shifted to, what kind of hit I'll take running in the GPU in a slowly slot. TBH it's been 20 years since I messed with this era of tech and even the pitfalls and challenges are fun, like putting together a jigsaw 😁

There's an old android saying which I believe is peculiarly appropriate here. In binary language it goes something like this: 001100111011000111100, which roughly translated means: "Don't stand around jabbering when you're in mortal danger!"

Reply 25075 of 27383, by Kahenraz

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
thp wrote on 2023-08-28, 08:52:

Finally documented how to use a RPi Zero W as "WIFI gateway" via USB for Windows 9x using RNDIS Ethernet (I've been using this for a year now, with good results): https://thp.io/2023/rpizero-usb-win98.html

I have tried several USB wireless cards with Windows 98/ME over the years and found none of them to be stable. However, I did this using USB 2.0 adapters, which I've not found to be stable either. This is when combined with a 440BX chipset. I imagine that compatibility will be different for newer chipsets.

Reply 25076 of 27383, by thp

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
Kahenraz wrote on 2023-08-28, 10:39:
thp wrote on 2023-08-28, 08:52:

Finally documented how to use a RPi Zero W as "WIFI gateway" via USB for Windows 9x using RNDIS Ethernet (I've been using this for a year now, with good results): https://thp.io/2023/rpizero-usb-win98.html

I have tried several USB wireless cards with Windows 98/ME over the years and found none of them to be stable. However, I did this using USB 2.0 adapters, which I've not found to be stable either. This is when combined with a 440BX chipset. I imagine that compatibility will be different for newer chipsets.

I have this working on a 440BX mainboard with onboard USB 1.1, the 5V USB power is enough to power the RPi Zero from the same port it's connected to -- of course, this means that the connection is limited by USB 1.1 speeds (but only because of the host port, USB 2.0 works just fine if the host supports it).

As far as the Windows 98 SE system is concerned, it's just a USB Ethernet device that hands out an IP via DHCP.

The WIFI connection is fully managed on the RPi alone (you can login via SSH or telnet), so "modern" amenities like WPA2 and such are no problem, Windows doesn't even know/care what is "behind" its standard gateway (Linux on the RPi takes care of routing between the two different interfaces).

There are other gadget drivers, like mass storage, HID, serial, ... -- so lots of potential for fun, as long as the retro PC has some kind of USB ports + support (not sure if mass storage and HID would work also from the BIOS "USB Legacy Mode", never tested).

Reply 25077 of 27383, by BitWrangler

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

Prism 2.0 USB wifi works well enough on 98, but of course the protocol support is archaic, so you typically have to gateway it through an older wifi router.

Unicorn herding operations are proceeding, but all the totes of hens teeth and barrels of rocking horse poop give them plenty of hiding spots.

Reply 25078 of 27383, by gmaverick2k

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Searching for years to get hold of recovery disk (kickstarts norton ghost) and reload cd (norton ghost) for time pc. lucky enough to find it and it 'recovered' well onto similar line of system using similar components. been piecing this for years. i have the time branded lg 775n crt in box with minimal use and the picture is not as bright as the lcd 😒 rock solid and stable so far 😁
original 1999 spec vs new used parts:
amd k6-2 aladin v ----> athlon xp 2800+ kt400+
maxtor 20gb ----> sd to ide 64gb
onboard ati rage 128vr ----> ati rage 128 pro
onboard sb pci 64v ----> ct4700 sb pci 128
128mb sd ram ----> 512mb ddr ram
lg 775n crt ----> 2007fpb +as501
keytronic ----> dell at102w
onboard usb 1.1 ---> nec usb 2.0
intellimouse ps/2 ----> logitech m590

Attachments

"What's all this racket going on up here, son? You watchin' yer girl cartoons again?"