VOGONS


Reply 27680 of 27960, by appiah4

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
zuldan wrote on 2024-05-31, 06:56:
appiah4 wrote on 2024-05-31, 05:35:

Never saw a cr2032 leak. Like, ever. Aside from looking ugly that seems like a reasonable mod to me..

Very very old ones can. They can become nasty Have you opened your SC-55 to check the battery inside?. I got rid of them on all my Roland devices. One had started leaking but hadn't done any damage yet.

On another note, I ordered two X2GS 's yesterday. Both with your preset installed. You did a fantastic job with it!

Thank you. Looking back at that preset, I think I could have gotten it to better match the real SC-55, but that would involve increasing the bass and reverb at the expense of making the overall sound significantly muddier. And that is what the SC-55 sounds like to me, muddy. I honestly don't appreciate that. Modules like the Yamaha MU50XG and SC-88 are a clear step above the SC-55 in my book.

Regardless, I don't actually own an SC-55. I only own an SD-35, which this preset is actually based on. It uses the same instrument rom, but sounds significantly cleaner than the SC-55:

https://soundcloud.com/user-470084971/sets/ro … nvas-sd-35-midi

It is probably a newer design and maybe it has different filtering or a different reverb. The same is true for the SC-88 as well for example - that module also sounds a lot cleaner to my ears (How I would love to own one..) Anyway, to my ears it sounds nearly spot on for the SD-35 and I am told that also holds for the SCC-1. I'm glad you appreciate it.

Retronautics: A digital gallery of my retro computers, hardware and projects.

Reply 27681 of 27960, by ubiq

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
zuldan wrote on 2024-05-31, 05:09:
ubiq wrote on 2024-05-30, 18:20:

I desoldered the mosfet, and jammed the necroware VRM output voltage down a couple specific jumper headers.

It works! 👍

Very impressive. Well done!

Thanks! It's my first time attempting any sort of hardware hackery that wasn't just 100% copying what someone had done in the past. Huge confidence builder. 💪

Very happy with this mod so far. Nothing is overclocked or over voltage. I really liked this system as a 233MMX, but I already have a great Socket 7 system and was looking at moving this one up to SS7 board. Not having one of those, this seems to be a good alternative. Also, love using a really early 430TX ATX board.

Reply 27682 of 27960, by Thermalwrong

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
BigDave wrote on 2024-05-30, 09:08:
It's 1998, and just finished setting up my new Packard Bell Club 40 from Dixons, and exploring all the delights of the pre-insta […]
Show full quote

It's 1998, and just finished setting up my new Packard Bell Club 40 from Dixons, and exploring all the delights of the pre-installed 'Club College' software pack, before setting up a NetP@ss account for free 56k dial up internet access.IMG_20240530_092440~2.jpg

OK, well it's all part of the Packard Bell experience I never had, and now in my 50s, and after 15 months trying to restore to as near complete and original, I finally get to enjoy it, thanks to a lot of help from you guys!

I posted everything in the Post Your Packard Bell Computers Here! thread.
Re: Post your Packard Bell computers here!

That looks fantastic 😀 What do the IR receiver on the top of the monitor and the case do? Is it for cd player controls or something more advanced?

Today I got my AST Bravo NB laptops out of the storage unit - one of them is getting prepped / repaired before I put it up for sale, but the other is the one I'm keeping because it's more broken. To start with if you'd like to see some of the history of my Bravo NB laptops:

Thermalwrong wrote on 2023-06-18, 13:23:
Another one from me sorry, but I think this is worth sharing. I have 2x AST Bravo NB laptops - a mono one and a colour DSTN one. […]
Show full quote

Another one from me sorry, but I think this is worth sharing. I have 2x AST Bravo NB laptops - a mono one and a colour DSTN one. The AST Bravo NB is rare to see these days, afaik it's a Quanta laptop rebranded and you can find a Dell version of it too. This one's not mine but it looks the same: https://wiki.preterhuman.net/AST_Bravo_NB_4/25s
The DSTN one is nearly perfect now but it couldn't detect a PS/2 mouse at all for some reason. The built-in trackball is quite awful to use so it's not been much fun to actually use.
Yeah I could use a serial mouse, but PS/2 mice require less steps and I can use an optical mouse easily. I found that the outer pins on the PS/2 socket (5v and GND) were showing ~0.1v instead of 5v between the two pins.

Taking it apart, my first task was to rebuild a load of broken plastic that held the left hinge in place. Initially I tried gluing the bits plastic from that screwhole back together but then they broke in a new way. So I used a steel washer to make the screwhole's 'base' and crafted some black mouldable plastic that melts in hot water to rebuild it:
AST-Bravo-NB-fix (2).JPG
It's stronger now at least, the hinges feel a little less floppy.

Going deeper in, this connector with 6 pins runs the keyboard and mouse PS/2 ports - why is the black wire 5v and the red wire Ground?? Lots of bodge wires too
AST-Bravo-NB-fix (3).JPG

Took the motherboard out and followed the circuit around - the 5v trace goes into L37 which goes to 5v. Which no longer has any connectivity, it was that little blue block down by the PS/2 ports.
AST-Bravo-NB-fix (1).JPG
That's an inductor which is apparently rated for like 250ma so I can see why it broke running an external mouse / keyboard. I have some 500ma polyfuses left over from my HardMPU builds so the 5v can run across that instead - maybe that inductor was the fuse? Don't think polyfuses existed back in 1993, but it has a fuse now.
Put it all back together and now it detects my optical mouse, much nicer to use.

To start with, the colour one with the nice screen now *reeks* of fish when I power it on for a little while - I was hoping it was fixed for good after my last repair but it looks like the 2x 25v 220uF capacitors have leaked and started corroding things:

IMG_3497.JPG
Filename
IMG_3497.JPG
File size
1.95 MiB
Views
925 views
File license
CC-BY-4.0

See that black goop? That's apparently electrolyte which was seeping everywhere:

IMG_3499.JPG
Filename
IMG_3499.JPG
File size
1.54 MiB
Views
925 views
File license
CC-BY-4.0

Swapped out those caps and it's better but still stinks of fish, it needs a bath in the ultrasonic cleaner really. Why didn't I replace the purple capacitors? Those are OS-CON polymer capacitors, they're sealed with epoxy and I've never seen one leak. The remaining black capacitor in the upper left is a 50v 68uF capacitor that tested okay but I didn't have a spare to replace it with 🙁

Now my Mono laptop, that's had the polariser break down on its 9.4" LM64P83 LCD panel and I tried replacing the front & rear polariser to no avail, in fact I made things worse because it's got that LCD rot like you can see here: Re: Orange spider web on the screen , Help :(
Which I think happened because of pressure I applied trying to get the rear polariser off. 9.4" mono LCDs are hellishly expensive and I've given up trying to get the original working, then I found 10.4" mono LCDs, the LM64P89 are pretty cheap!
Does it fit? No! The hinges are too big so I had to cut the top of the LCD housing to fit:

IMG_3492 (Custom).JPG
Filename
IMG_3492 (Custom).JPG
File size
659.87 KiB
Views
925 views
File license
CC-BY-4.0

And here are the casualties in making the new LCD fit - all the original standoffs and some plastic reinforcement bits in the LCD, not like this thing is very portable or robust now anyway:

IMG_3493 (Custom).JPG
Filename
IMG_3493 (Custom).JPG
File size
1.06 MiB
Views
925 views
File license
CC-BY-4.0

But it looks lovely! So great to have this mono laptop back up and running even though there's a fair bit more work to do yet to make some kind of bezel and cover up the sticky out LCD:

IMG_3489 (Custom).JPG
Filename
IMG_3489 (Custom).JPG
File size
963.69 KiB
Views
925 views
File license
CC-BY-4.0

Reply 27683 of 27960, by NHVintage

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Today, I decided I haven't had enough punishment from the PC Chips board I haven't solved yet and got two others from a local recycler that were posted as taken from working units. A 286 board:
https://theretroweb.com/motherboards/s/trang- … -headland-ht12a

.. and another 486 board (lower end than the PCChips board however):
https://theretroweb.com/motherboards/s/kla-tencor-kt3052

Lesser known brands but if I can get them working, swell. And thats a BIG if, because they're both acting the same as the PCChips board: the diag board shows no diagnostic codes. I tried pushing down all the chips on each board, no dice. I tested the diag board on a working system - a P55 Pentium board - and it shows all the boot codes as it boots up, like you'd expect.

I could make a case for the two 486 boards that the CPU is the problem but wouldn't I at least get some codes even if it was bad? And that doesn't cover the 286 board not working...

Could these mobo's be too OLD for this ISA/PCI diag board? I am using the same power supply on all of them but that PS powers a P55 SBC on a passive backplane (and its ISA soundcard and ISA video card) just fine with only P9 plugged into the SBC. Could ALL of them have a bad bios chip? with each having the same problem I can't help but think I'm doing something wrong but damned if I can figure out what it could be.

Reply 27684 of 27960, by ssokolow

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
NHVintage wrote on 2024-06-01, 00:48:

Could these mobo's be too OLD for this ISA/PCI diag board?

It's very possible. I did some googling and found this:

During the POST on AT-compatibles and above, special signals are output to I/O port 80H at the beginning of each test (genuine PCs and XTs don't issue POST codes, although some machines with compatible BIOSes do). Some computers may use a different port, such as 84 for the Compaq, or 378 (LPT1) for Olivettis. IBM PS/2s use 90, whilst some EISA machines send them to 300H as well. Those at 50h are chipset or custom platform specific.

-- https://mrbios.com/techsupport/award/postcodes.htm

I searched further and found some more thorough tables at https://www.minuszerodegrees.net/misc/post_cards.htm

Screenshot 2024-05-31 at 21-06-06 minuszerodegrees.net.png
Filename
Screenshot 2024-05-31 at 21-06-06 minuszerodegrees.net.png
File size
53.47 KiB
Views
899 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Internet Archive: My Uploads
My Blog: Retrocomputing Resources
My Rose-Coloured-Glasses Builds

I also try to announce retro-relevant stuff on on Mastodon.

Reply 27685 of 27960, by NHVintage

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

So this is what's on the 286 board...

20240531_223225.jpg
Filename
20240531_223225.jpg
File size
1.53 MiB
Views
872 views
File license
CC-BY-4.0

It took a bit to spot that this is AMI Bios. The 486 I picked up today is AMI as well.. Not sure what that means, I'm not sure about the port information either, as I don't see anything labelled to that effect. But as it's a mainstream BIOS, and we're on an ISA bus, I would expect that the post codes would go to the standard 80h. Certainly by the time the 486 rolled around most boards were sending to port 80.

Reply 27686 of 27960, by PC@LIVE

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Reordering some cards, which I had between my paws, and I had to put away, there is an ISA VGA from Cirrus Logic, and two ISA sound cards, one SB and the other one compatible (?), the latter of triangular shape, I revived the contacts, cleaning them to the best, the result is great except for two pins of the SB that have oxide, I sanded them slightly, the result should have improved the contact surface.

In the other compatible SB (the trapezoidal one), I had to remove the warranty label, unfortunately it will not be possible to use it anymore, but if I wanted I could also leave it, but being made of paper, I thought it could get moistened and create problems.

I saw the BIOS chip of the M550, I was expecting a known, typical and quite common brand, instead it turned out to be an H.T., I hope it works, and I will try to reprogram it, hoping that everything will be right.

Attachments

AMD 286-16 287-10 4MB HD 45MB VGA 256KB
AMD 386DX-40 Intel 387 8MB HD 81MB VGA 256KB
Cyrix 486DLC-40 IIT387-40 8MB VGA 512KB
AMD 5X86-133 16MB VGA VLB CL5428 2MB and many others
AMD K62+ 550 SOYO 5EMA+ and many others
AST Pentium Pro 200 MHz L2 256KB

Reply 27687 of 27960, by BigDave

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Not technically a retro activity, but it's a rare sunny day in the UK, so perfect for a bit of Retro-Brite. First off, is my most recent computer addition, an Amstrad PCW8256, simply because I never owned or used one, so out of curiosity. The keyboard & dot matrix printer are fine, but the unit is heavily yellowed, I don't have time to dismantle, so done my usual paint on Jerome Blonde hair cream & cling film. Messy, but had good results on a Dreamcast & my VIC20's before.

IMG_20240602_121426~2.jpg
Filename
IMG_20240602_121426~2.jpg
File size
832 KiB
Views
746 views
File comment
Amstrad PCW8256 enjoying the sunshine.
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

I've also done my Packard Bell monitor speakers, and whilst I'm at it, spray the grilles, and fix the broken left channel, which I hoped would be just a faulty cable. Unfortunately, it's a couple of caps and a damaged IC, so caps done, and soldered in a 16pin DIP socket in readiness for the replacement TEA2025B audio amp IC.

IMG_20240602_122510~2.jpg
Filename
IMG_20240602_122510~2.jpg
File size
341.98 KiB
Views
746 views
File comment
Packard Bell Speakers Amp PCB
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 27688 of 27960, by PC@LIVE

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

I don't do many assemblies, I usually do tests on various MB, but some are particularly interesting, and for this reason, I mount them in a case 🏘 (free), sometimes I change my mind and use another case 🏘, I had the bench a little too full for my taste, I removed two MB to make room for as many, one the PCChips Slot1 BXCEL chipset baby AT format, I suspended the tests, so much I achieved the purpose, which was to bring it back to life.

The other card it occupied, more space being an ATX, is the ASUS 754, with Sempron 64, model K8N-E Deluxe, a card that was initially very problematic, to the point that I had almost given up, and I already had in mind to put it in the box of malfunctioning MB, fortunately I performed several tests with different RAM, and I found the perfect combination to install Windows, lately I did not have the time ⏱ to make other benchmarks, now I put everything inside a case 🏘 CoolerMaster, the result if you want is not so bad (see photo).

Attachments

AMD 286-16 287-10 4MB HD 45MB VGA 256KB
AMD 386DX-40 Intel 387 8MB HD 81MB VGA 256KB
Cyrix 486DLC-40 IIT387-40 8MB VGA 512KB
AMD 5X86-133 16MB VGA VLB CL5428 2MB and many others
AMD K62+ 550 SOYO 5EMA+ and many others
AST Pentium Pro 200 MHz L2 256KB

Reply 27689 of 27960, by dominusprog

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Just finished this Pentium build. The specs are

Joss Tech JT-586TS4
Pentium 120MHz
Cirrus Logic CL-GD5434 2MiB
32MiB FPM RAM (4*8MiB)
6.4GiB Quantum Fireball
Aztech Voyager/Washington 16
3COM ETHERLINK III
OPTi PCI to USB2.0

IMG_20240602_155402.jpg
Filename
IMG_20240602_155402.jpg
File size
990.08 KiB
Views
668 views
File license
CC-BY-4.0
IMG_20240602_155542.jpg
Filename
IMG_20240602_155542.jpg
File size
424.67 KiB
Views
668 views
File license
CC-BY-4.0

Duke_2600.png
A-Trend ATC-1020 V1.1 ❇ Cyrix 6x86 150+ @ 120MHz ❇ 32MiB EDO RAM (8MiBx4) ❇ A-Trend S3 Trio64V2 2MiB
Aztech Pro16 II-3D PnP ❇ 8.4GiB Quantum Fireball ❇ Win95 OSR2 Plus!

Reply 27691 of 27960, by Horun

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
dominusprog wrote on 2024-06-02, 17:12:
Just finished this Pentium build. The specs are […]
Show full quote

Just finished this Pentium build. The specs are

Joss Tech JT-586TS4
Pentium 120MHz
Cirrus Logic CL-GD5434 2MiB
32MiB FPM RAM (4*8MiB)
6.4GiB Quantum Fireball
Aztech Voyager/Washington 16
3COM ETHERLINK III
OPTi PCI to USB2.0

Nice, good looking system !

Hate posting a reply and then have to edit it because it made no sense 😁 First computer was an IBM 3270 workstation with CGA monitor. Stuff: https://archive.org/details/@horun

Reply 27692 of 27960, by Veeb0rg

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Started to finally assemble a dual p3 system I've been collecting parts for. Still a few things left to do but so far looking good in my opinion. I did finally figure how to turn off the RGB.

Dual Pentium III 933mhz cpu's, 1gb PC-133 ECC Reg SDram, 146gb 15k SCSI hdd, Soundblaster Audigy2 ZS and one of the two Voodoo2 cards for SLI.
Still need to address the CPU fan wires I've ordered a batch of PCB's for the SLI bridge that was designed by a fellow Vogon member.

Attachments

Reply 27693 of 27960, by dominusprog

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
Horun wrote on 2024-06-03, 02:58:
dominusprog wrote on 2024-06-02, 17:12:
Just finished this Pentium build. The specs are […]
Show full quote

Just finished this Pentium build. The specs are

Joss Tech JT-586TS4
Pentium 120MHz
Cirrus Logic CL-GD5434 2MiB
32MiB FPM RAM (4*8MiB)
6.4GiB Quantum Fireball
Aztech Voyager/Washington 16
3COM ETHERLINK III
OPTi PCI to USB2.0

Nice, good looking system !

Thanks 😀

Duke_2600.png
A-Trend ATC-1020 V1.1 ❇ Cyrix 6x86 150+ @ 120MHz ❇ 32MiB EDO RAM (8MiBx4) ❇ A-Trend S3 Trio64V2 2MiB
Aztech Pro16 II-3D PnP ❇ 8.4GiB Quantum Fireball ❇ Win95 OSR2 Plus!

Reply 27694 of 27960, by gerry

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
BigDave wrote on 2024-06-02, 11:52:

Not technically a retro activity, but it's a rare sunny day in the UK, so perfect for a bit of Retro-Brite. First off, is my most recent computer addition, an Amstrad PCW8256, simply because I never owned or used one, so out of curiosity. The keyboard & dot matrix printer are fine, but the unit is heavily yellowed, I don't have time to dismantle, so done my usual paint on Jerome Blonde hair cream & cling film. Messy, but had good results on a Dreamcast & my VIC20's before.

vic 20's plural? sounds good, an overlooked early home computer than one, i remember them co-existing with the c64 for a while

Reply 27695 of 27960, by gerry

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
dominusprog wrote on 2024-06-02, 17:12:
Just finished this Pentium build. The specs are […]
Show full quote

Just finished this Pentium build. The specs are

Joss Tech JT-586TS4
Pentium 120MHz
Cirrus Logic CL-GD5434 2MiB
32MiB FPM RAM (4*8MiB)
6.4GiB Quantum Fireball
Aztech Voyager/Washington 16
3COM ETHERLINK III
OPTi PCI to USB2.0

IMG_20240602_155402.jpg
IMG_20240602_155542.jpg

pci to usb is a good touch, makes things much easier, very nice setup

Reply 27696 of 27960, by dominusprog

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
gerry wrote on 2024-06-03, 14:36:
dominusprog wrote on 2024-06-02, 17:12:
Just finished this Pentium build. The specs are […]
Show full quote

Just finished this Pentium build. The specs are

Joss Tech JT-586TS4
Pentium 120MHz
Cirrus Logic CL-GD5434 2MiB
32MiB FPM RAM (4*8MiB)
6.4GiB Quantum Fireball
Aztech Voyager/Washington 16
3COM ETHERLINK III
OPTi PCI to USB2.0

IMG_20240602_155402.jpg
IMG_20240602_155542.jpg

pci to usb is a good touch, makes things much easier, very nice setup

Thanks. Yes, it works very well.

Duke_2600.png
A-Trend ATC-1020 V1.1 ❇ Cyrix 6x86 150+ @ 120MHz ❇ 32MiB EDO RAM (8MiBx4) ❇ A-Trend S3 Trio64V2 2MiB
Aztech Pro16 II-3D PnP ❇ 8.4GiB Quantum Fireball ❇ Win95 OSR2 Plus!

Reply 27697 of 27960, by Shponglefan

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Finished building my test bench platform. Routed a slot in the top for power cables, and added some edgebanding and anti-static mats.

Attachments

  • Test Bench 01.jpg
    Filename
    Test Bench 01.jpg
    File size
    308.56 KiB
    Views
    403 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception
  • Test Bench 02.jpg
    Filename
    Test Bench 02.jpg
    File size
    509.29 KiB
    Views
    403 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception

Pentium 4 Multi-OS Build
486 DX4-100 with 6 sound cards
486 DX-33 with 5 sound cards

Reply 27698 of 27960, by BitWrangler

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

Relatively few chains and spikes involved for a torture chamber 🤣

Unicorn herding operations are proceeding, but all the totes of hens teeth and barrels of rocking horse poop give them plenty of hiding spots.

Reply 27699 of 27960, by Ensign Nemo

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
BitWrangler wrote on 2024-06-04, 03:56:

Relatively few chains and spikes involved for a torture chamber 🤣

He'll put an original Celeron and a Sound Blaster Vibra in it when it's time for some torture.