VOGONS


Reply 14620 of 16123, by Intel486dx33

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
Horun wrote on 2020-03-27, 02:08:

Have some old small drives I want to fix or recycle. Today worked on a 120Mb Conner CP30104, was getting detected but BIOS quickly gave "HD error" and I could hear the HD doing a restart/calibrate every 5-10 seconds. After doing some minor resolder on a couple of the SMT's that appeared to have minor corrosion it booted ! DOS 5 and Geoworks 1.2.
I am horrible at doing any smt work (lack of good gear, bad eyes, bad hands) and amazed it now works. Still some mild corrosion on a bit of the Adaptec interface chip, that was not thee bad one, was the Moto SC80566 microcontroller...

That was the hard-drive i had in my first 486dx2-33 computer back in 1993.
Price was $1 per megabyte so total costs was $120 in 1993.

Reply 14622 of 16123, by liqmat

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Shagittarius wrote on 2020-03-27, 23:53:

My first HDD was a 20MB Hard Card (HDD and Controller on the same ISA Card). It cost 200$ or $10 a Meg in im guessing '90 or '91.

When I used to play live music I had an Ensoniq EPS sampling keyboard with an external 80MB SCSI HDD attached to it. That external HDD was $800 in 1988, but man was it essential in loading up song sets quick on stage.

Reply 14623 of 16123, by BetaC

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

In the quest to figure out why my Genesis is totally fine with the Sega CD but hates the 32x, I went and eliminated at least one of the potential causes. My genesis has been completely re-capped now, and it seems happy to finally be rid of the ones that predate my parents getting married.

04C6D37C-6243-4284-995B-E5EE345519BA.jpeg
Filename
04C6D37C-6243-4284-995B-E5EE345519BA.jpeg
File size
148.98 KiB
Views
358 views
File license
CC-BY-4.0

Of course, the issues I was having have persisted, so I guess things are gonna get even more interesting soon enough.

vslwab-6.png
0zuv7q-6.png
7sr808-99.png

Reply 14624 of 16123, by Horun

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
liqmat wrote on 2020-03-27, 23:58:
Shagittarius wrote on 2020-03-27, 23:53:

My first HDD was a 20MB Hard Card (HDD and Controller on the same ISA Card). It cost 200$ or $10 a Meg in im guessing '90 or '91.

When I used to play live music I had an Ensoniq EPS sampling keyboard with an external 80MB SCSI HDD attached to it. That external HDD was $800 in 1988, but man was it essential in loading up song sets quick on stage.

Wow that is a lot of money, considering at the time you probably could buy a good used car for that.
Have seen some old advertisements from the late 80's that show how much parts cost back then. Was not uncommon for a business to spend near $5000 for a good working XT computer with all the extra's.

Hate posting a reply and have to edit it because it made no sense 😁 First computer was an IBM 3270 workstation with CGA monitor. 🤣

Reply 14625 of 16123, by EvieSigma

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Worked on getting drivers installed on the eMachines eTower 366c. Typical stuff...video, chipset, USB, sound. Then when this is done I can tackle the abnormally small reported RAM amount and try updating the BIOS.

Reply 14626 of 16123, by bjwil1991

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
Horun wrote on 2020-03-27, 23:33:
bjwil1991 wrote on 2020-03-27, 04:26:

That makes me happy. Glad the HDD is working for you (if only my Quantum Fireball 3.2GB HDD would format, but the sectors are long gone).

I have a "once was good" WD 4.3Gb ide with the click of death. There are some firmware fixes for some models but can't find this one wd 24300 yet..

I'm trying to find firmware updates for my Quantum Fireball ST 3.2A drive (it formats and the surface test passed), but SMART results aren't very promising: 37 reallocated sectors count in CrystalDiskInfo. Not chancing using that hard drive in any system I put in it. Firmware is A0F.0800 according to the software. I should test my 4.3GB Western Digital as that is not sounding pleasant either.

Discord: https://discord.gg/U5dJw7x
Systems from C64 to FX-6300.

Reply 14627 of 16123, by mongaccio

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

FInished restoring my breadbin/Aldi styled c64g , picked looong ago at a Flea Market for just 10 eur.
Usual Black screen.

For the first time i had some issues with my Chinesium desoldering gun 🙁 used a bigger tip to try desoldering the stubborn pins and made a mess with some traces.
I am a bit disappointed. Maybe it's time to buy a Hakko.

IMG_20200324_101949.jpg
Filename
IMG_20200324_101949.jpg
File size
598.97 KiB
Views
274 views
File license
Public domain

Repaired all traces 🙁

I've socketed all chips excluding the superPLA since i did not have any spares of that.(the bigger chip you see in pic)
Tested all ICs:
One of two CIA,both ram,both ROM, and SID were broken. I suspect the previous owner had a faulty power supply at 5v maybe? Too many chips broken (they are from'88, so they should be more reliable than the '84 batch)

IMG_20200324_101925.jpg
Filename
IMG_20200324_101925.jpg
File size
515.29 KiB
Views
274 views
File license
Public domain

Had spare parts for everything except for one ROM (flashed a spare 128k EPROM and it works without adapters,it's the one covered with red tape), and it works again! Thankfully the superPLA chip is still ok.
Retrobrited all keys and the lower chassis.

IMG_20200328_141342.jpg
Filename
IMG_20200328_141342.jpg
File size
189.9 KiB
Views
274 views
File license
Public domain

Reply 14628 of 16123, by EvieSigma

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

I successfully proved old Gateway tech documentation about my motherboard wrong by getting a 486DX4-100 running in my P4D-66. Feels good.

EUOKwnTWAAAXgGJ?format=jpg&name=large

Reply 14629 of 16123, by badmojo

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
mongaccio wrote on 2020-03-28, 16:44:

FInished restoring my breadbin/Aldi styled c64g , picked looong ago at a Flea Market for just 10 eur.
Usual Black screen.

For the first time i had some issues with my Chinesium desoldering gun 🙁 used a bigger tip to try desoldering the stubborn pins and made a mess with some traces.

Great work! I'm not a soldering guru but have had some trouble with C64's in the past too - they have such chunky circuit boards that parts of them act like heat sinks I've found, so all your heat disperses into the board and the bloody solder around the pin won't budge.

Anyway a little trace patch wire adds character, nice work bringing it back to life.

If it's broke, then fix it!

Reply 14630 of 16123, by Fujoshi-hime

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

After, oh, I dunno, 23 years of writing on recordable discs for Windows OS's with a sharpie, I decided to level up my game today after realizing that a stack of DVDRs I had were inkjet printable.

DOwb5HI.jpg

55bHm7k.jpg

mFEPdmS.jpg

Reply 14631 of 16123, by dionb

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Iiiitsss aliiiive! (more or less)

How's this for a Frankenstein:

15854354208380.jpg
Filename
15854354208380.jpg
File size
335.11 KiB
Views
205 views
File license
CC-BY-4.0

ECS SL486E EISA / ECS Local Bus motherboard
BusTek BT-747 SCSI/floppy controller
SMC Ether 10/100 NIC
Compaq Advanced VGA
Am5x86 on VRM interposer
4MB FP
Miniscribe 8425S (yes, ancient 21MB 1987-era drive)

This is a build I've been messing around with for literally years. Every damned connector on it was oxidized, so electrical connections were flaky on everything from cards to CPU. The SIMM slots are incorrectly numbered, first bank needs to be filled first, but that's slots 5-6-7-8... however the biggest issue was of course the soldered DS1387. As it's the 1387. I made a bit of a butcher's job of de-soldering it, losing a few pins in the process (damned GND plane soaking all my heat as usual) so after putting in a socket I needed to bodge a prosthetic set of legs onto the module using another socket. Then hacked it open to connect the external battery... it wasn't pretty but it worked. About twice 😦

Because of all the contact issues I wasn't sure the problems were related to the DS1387 - if removed the board definitely didn't even start POST. So ordered a new one and installed it today. Not only did the system boot, it turns out the 21-year old battery still holds power. So I'm back in business.

EISA config was interesting. Little things like the FDD on the BusTek card was disabled by default and the Advanced VGA card claiming it couldn't do any graphical modes (it can, I checked afterwards). The HDD is temporary of course, it's the only 50p SE-SCSI drive I had at hand. I have a huge 535MB full-height 5.25" drive I could use, but it's currently doing cosmetic duty filling a bay in an XT clone, and it's so noisy I don't want to use it anyway. Only alternative I have that's not far too big (or fast - 486 running a Cheetah 10k.7 is even more crazy than an old SCSI-1 20MB drive) is a 1.2GB Seagate ST31200WC pulled from a Sun Sparcstation. Only it's worse than the monster drive, this is the loudest single drive I have ever had. Oh well, once I run out of 20MB I'll choose (or buy) something.

One issue I still need to sort out: keyboard. The keyboard seems to go crazy (registering huge numbers of presses) at random and at pretty much every boot. Press a key and it behaves again for a while. Feels like de-bouncing is also off. Tried three keyboards: same trouble. Tried a different keyboard controller chip: same trouble. Downgraded to 486DX33: same trouble. Weird...

Reply 14633 of 16123, by liqmat

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Welp, getting kind of bored with cabin fever setting in. Know what I'm doing tonight. It's party time!

Attachments

  • You've Got Mail.jpg
    Filename
    You've Got Mail.jpg
    File size
    1.01 MiB
    Views
    175 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 14634 of 16123, by dionb

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
bjwil1991 wrote on 2020-03-28, 23:23:

Must be the keyboard port itself.

Given the oxidation I'd be tempted to believe that, but I have my doubts. It looks like the spurious keypresses are coming out of some buffer. Last example: I had previously entered "c:". Then realized I needed to be on floppy after all. I pressed "a" and got "ac". Backspace removed the "c", but then when I pressed ":" I got "a::" as if the next character also recalled the next one being stored somewhere. And no, no DOSKEY or similar installed. Completely vanilla MSDOS 6.22 install. For that matter, the same thing happens in BIOS, so it's OS-independent. Of course, as I'm typing this it seems to have stopped misbehaving. For now.

Reply 14635 of 16123, by Horun

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
dionb wrote on 2020-03-29, 00:01:

Given the oxidation I'd be tempted to believe that, but I have my doubts. It looks like the spurious keypresses are coming out of some buffer. Last example: I had previously entered "c:". Then realized I needed to be on floppy after all. I pressed "a" and got "ac". Backspace removed the "c", but then when I pressed ":" I got "a::" as if the next character also recalled the next one being stored somewhere. And no, no DOSKEY or similar installed. Completely vanilla MSDOS 6.22 install. For that matter, the same thing happens in BIOS, so it's OS-independent. Of course, as I'm typing this it seems to have stopped misbehaving. For now.

Nice ! Got to love EISA 😁
Ugh ! Hate KB errors/issues. Maybe a partly dry cap and it could end up working OK after having power on for a while. Have seen some odd behavior on old boards stored for a while that smooths out after powered up for a hour or overnite. I have a KB error on soc5 that I can not figure out. No visible corrosion, all traces good, volts good, diodes good. Hoping it is not the via 82c416 chip........

Hate posting a reply and have to edit it because it made no sense 😁 First computer was an IBM 3270 workstation with CGA monitor. 🤣

Reply 14636 of 16123, by LewisRaz

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
Fujoshi-hime wrote on 2020-03-28, 22:52:
After, oh, I dunno, 23 years of writing on recordable discs for Windows OS's with a sharpie, I decided to level up my game today […]
Show full quote

After, oh, I dunno, 23 years of writing on recordable discs for Windows OS's with a sharpie, I decided to level up my game today after realizing that a stack of DVDRs I had were inkjet printable.

DOwb5HI.jpg

55bHm7k.jpg

mFEPdmS.jpg

Those actually look great. Better than the real things!

Reply 14637 of 16123, by bjwil1991

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Decided to clean out and fix my GameCube (eject and reset buttons were stuck) and they both work and the tray actually closes this time.

Discord: https://discord.gg/U5dJw7x
Systems from C64 to FX-6300.

Reply 14638 of 16123, by Fujoshi-hime

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
LewisRaz wrote on 2020-03-29, 00:46:

Those actually look great. Better than the real things!

I am in increasingly pleased with this 7 year old photo printer I picked up used for CAD$60.

Reply 14639 of 16123, by MrSmiley381

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I took some time to test my Amiga 1200 some more. The RGB/audio cable I ordered as well as the aftermarket PSU arrived in the last couple of weeks so I gave those a spin while playing Lemmings for the first time ever. After about half an hour I can say I see the appeal in Lemmings. The nuke button is great!

Only downside was that I was having either sync issues with my OSSC or still had some faulty HDMI cables in my setup. Considering that I am running a spider-web network of HDMI adapters, digital audio output switches, and multi-HDMI out repeaters per some recommendations over at the SHMUPS Forum, the fault is likely on some cables not quite staying in place.

I spend my days fighting with clunky software so I can afford to spend my evenings fighting with clunky hardware.