VOGONS


Reply 18220 of 18996, by Jed118

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Bancho wrote on 2021-02-19, 15:10:
And the small space where all this madness is kept! […]
Show full quote

And the small space where all this madness is kept!

L0mY4V8l.jpg

Hahha my parents "gave" me the stackable washer/dryer room when I was 12 - I set up a lamp, a workbench, and shelving in there. Had to work with the door open though. I know this feeling!

Before work today, my son snuck in for some learnin':

5uQlfzBl.jpg

He can actually find a good bit of letters on the keyboard when asked, and will sometimes make accurate sounds based on the letter he's pressing.

I have a copy of SB text-to-speech, that's what's happening tonight, come to think of it.

Some stuff from after work:

VxPZqv9l.jpg

What's that sitting there beside the V30?

nJ194P0l.jpg

Why, it's only the most authentic 8087 you've ever seen, certainly not a $7 USD part from China! I'm glad I scanned and uploaded manuals from the previous JUKO NEST board I had, I had to set some jumpers and switches, I would not have been able to guess at them.

Zms0Lpcl.jpg

IyWCwRxl.jpg

Totally legit 🤣!

MtZvycNl.jpg

If I doubt the authenticity enough, or if it mis-performs, I have an authentic 8087-1 in my display case, I could swap them.

I'm actually puzzled as to why this computer didn't have an FPU - there is definitely a CAD program on here, and empty directories (42 Mb HDD) with software that would have made use of an FPU.

Last edited by Jed118 on 2021-02-20, 01:32. Edited 1 time in total.

Youtube channel- The Kombinator
What's for sale? my eBay!

Reply 18221 of 18996, by ragefury32

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Shopping for the next project. Trying to see if I can snag a Toshiba Portege 7140CT (the only instance of a Trident Cyberblade laptop GPU with discrete VRAM in a small chassis...too bad it's only 4MB). have a Sony Vaio Z505JS heading my way, but it might be DOA. Going to see what's up once it arrives (heh, in April?)

Reply 18222 of 18996, by kolderman

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Trying to find a CD drive to replace a *really* noisy one in my Win95 PC. The current one also cannot have it's speed changed using things like Nero DriveSpeed.

So I find some old LITEON DVD/CD drive, and I put it in and it supports an amazing range of speeds....from 48X all the way down to 4X! Hopefully it will quieten things down a bit. Need to test it with CDBeQuiet as well for pure DOS games.

Reply 18223 of 18996, by brt02

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Tried to tame the cable anarchy going on in my OR840 system.

One hour later....

Slight improvement, but cable anarchy remains. Tempted to remove the SoundBlaster live drive if only to remove that ribbon cable. Would not care so much but the case I'm using has a Perspex window in the side panel

DSC_0004.JPG
Filename
DSC_0004.JPG
File size
1.69 MiB
Views
753 views
File license
Public domain

Intel OR840 | Dual P3 1GHz - 1GB PC800 RDRAM - ATI Radeon 9800 Pro - Creative Audigy 2ZS - Lian Li PC-65 - W98/W2K

Reply 18224 of 18996, by bjwil1991

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Did some more testing for the Gigabyte 486 board and it works, but it refuses to retain the BIOS settings, including the date and time with the new RTC Dallas chip I have installed (the one that will allow a new battery to be installed and I think it has to do with the size of said battery).

Getting further here with the board, which is better than before.

The Jetway, on the other hand, needs new capacitors and/or a reflow on the solder joints due to corrosion, however, I got a code C8FF on the POST card, but it went back to ---- on the card (indicates the corrosion on the contact pins for the caps are causing the issues).

Discord: https://discord.gg/U5dJw7x
Systems from the Compaq Portable 1 to FX-6300
Twitch: https://twitch.tv/retropcuser

Reply 18226 of 18996, by fool

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Turbo XT clone build. Installed XTIDE ROM (27C64) to "ROM BASIC" and that seems to work fine with random 16-bit I/O controller. It boots DOS 6.22 just for testing.

There is no support for HD floppy drives. Just wondering could I just burn XTIDE + HD-Floppy BIOS to single 27C128 ROM ?
EDIT: I answer to myself: You you can! Just joined XTIDE+Floppy ROMs and voila...

Attachments

  • IMG_20210221_175405.jpg
    Filename
    IMG_20210221_175405.jpg
    File size
    411.33 KiB
    Views
    651 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 18227 of 18996, by PTherapist

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
fool wrote on 2021-02-21, 16:15:

Turbo XT clone build. Installed XTIDE ROM (27C64) to "ROM BASIC" and that seems to work fine with random 16-bit I/O controller. It boots DOS 6.22 just for testing.

There is no support for HD floppy drives. Just wondering could I just burn XTIDE + HD-Floppy BIOS to single 27C128 ROM ?
EDIT: I answer to myself: You you can! Just joined XTIDE+Floppy ROMs and voila...

That's interesting, I didn't think any 16-bit I/O controllers would work with IDE in an 8-Bit ISA slot. Usually only Floppy works.

Reply 18228 of 18996, by bjwil1991

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Planning on doing the same thing with a Compaq Portable 1 that has the 2x 360KB drives so I can use the Epson SD-800 as the HD drive and the other 360KB for making 360KB diskettes, but it'll be a chore to install a smaller FDD in the system since they used the full length drives up until the late XT early 286 (AT) class systems.

Also, where can I find the HD floppy BIOS at?

Discord: https://discord.gg/U5dJw7x
Systems from the Compaq Portable 1 to FX-6300
Twitch: https://twitch.tv/retropcuser

Reply 18229 of 18996, by DosFreak

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

More testing of 980ti w/ Acer XB271HU and Dell U2410 monitorsin Windows XP 32bit with scaling and workarounds for issues as well as game compatibility testing with XP 32bit and Vista 64bit

Among other things verified newer versions of GTA V broke Vista support (v1.41 works) and Epic version of Borderlands 2 doesn't work on XP while the Steam version does. Games frequently updated seem to be breaking their original OS compatibility more and more, sometimes it's the client, sometimes it's the game and sometimes both.
Also noticed games I assumed would work on Vista don't since they require Windows 7 so never assume.

Doomsday 2.0.3 latest that works on Vista
Gzdoom 4-4-2 works on Vista
Daggerfall Unity requires Windows 7
T2Fix 1.27d requires Vista

DOSBox Compilation Guides
DosBox Feature Request Thread
PC Game Compatibility List
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
Running DRM games offline

Reply 18230 of 18996, by assasincz

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Ever since I rebuilt my childhood setup - almost two years ago - around PC Chips 560 mainboard with Pentium 166MHz, I had issues with serial ports. Whenever I connected anything to COM1 or COM2 (mice, mostly) the system freaked out, booting into Windows "retard" mode, however the connected devices always worked. Today I finally found the culprit, and it turned out it was power related fault which I caused. I had connected a CPU fan to the onboard fan header in "7V mod" fashion to reduce noise (where fan gnd wire is connected to +5v pin). I kept thinking about it recently, and how it allegedly stressed the PSU, as I remembered to have read around the internet. So removing it, and going back to normal connection and resistor based rpm reducer, I noticed that the issue with COM port disappeared - great! I hope no long term damage was done though, as they are, in fact, THE mainboard and THE CPU from my childhood...

I wonder what your experience is with "7V fan mod"?

Reply 18231 of 18996, by Stiletto

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Today I made a playlist for "MAMEdev" (MAME development team members) which consists of all presentations given by MAMEdev members at conferences and conventions from 2008 to 2021.
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLMof4t … sX3FlGq_KT7WCeg

This was added to the MAME team's "new-ish" official YouTube channel (it's technically a 4 year old channel, although it has been an idle and empty channel for all of that time):
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC-ynwwJKlNQipcym48qPI3A

To go along with the new "Dragging MAME Into the 21st Century" presentation we uploaded last week, Vas Crabb ("cuavas") presentation at FOSDEM (Free and Open source Software Developers' European Meeting) '21.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9UlIWLnIzY8

"I see a little silhouette-o of a man, Scaramouche, Scaramouche, will you
do the Fandango!" - Queen

Stiletto

Reply 18232 of 18996, by CuPid

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

I got a Ti 486SXL in pga 132, AT LAST. This is the opportunity to see how it perfoms in comparison to its pga 132 counterparts.

Attachments

  • 20210222_100145.jpg
    Filename
    20210222_100145.jpg
    File size
    852.38 KiB
    Views
    454 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception

I need a vacation.

tbmtg3-99.png
zav4kj-99.png

Reply 18233 of 18996, by fool

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
PTherapist wrote on 2021-02-21, 18:53:
fool wrote on 2021-02-21, 16:15:

Turbo XT clone build. Installed XTIDE ROM (27C64) to "ROM BASIC" and that seems to work fine with random 16-bit I/O controller. It boots DOS 6.22 just for testing.

There is no support for HD floppy drives. Just wondering could I just burn XTIDE + HD-Floppy BIOS to single 27C128 ROM ?
EDIT: I answer to myself: You you can! Just joined XTIDE+Floppy ROMs and voila...

That's interesting, I didn't think any 16-bit I/O controllers would work with IDE in an 8-Bit ISA slot. Usually only Floppy works.

The magic needed is 8bit IDE option in XTIDE build what forces IDE controller to 8bit mode. It needs support from drive, AFAIK only CF-cards and microdrives do. I tried couple of modern HDD - no detection.

Reply 18234 of 18996, by PTherapist

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
fool wrote on 2021-02-22, 15:36:

The magic needed is 8bit IDE option in XTIDE build what forces IDE controller to 8bit mode. It needs support from drive, AFAIK only CF-cards and microdrives do. I tried couple of modern HDD - no detection.

Ah, that is interesting. I never tried a CF card with 8-Bit mode on XTIDE, I'll have to give that a go on my IBM XT & Turbo XT boards. I have about 3 generic I/O controllers so maybe I'll get lucky and one of those will work.

Reply 18235 of 18996, by PTherapist

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Today's retro activity for me - properly fitting a Gotek into my Atari STE. I ordered a 3D printed mounting bracket from eBay, which arrived today. Looks much neater now and sturdier too.

I was missing most of the floppy screws and the bottom right screw was the incorrect type so I had to improvise with a slightly shorter screw and screw it in from above. Works just fine, it'll suffice:

GU5EB1dl.jpg
eXdp328l.jpg

The original Floppy Drive, which is fully working, goes into storage for now. Much cleaner & neater to mount this in the case, considering the previous owner had already cut the plastic (I assume to replace the Floppy drive at some point).

Reply 18237 of 18996, by brostenen

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

Found a recapper for my Amiga1200. Going to have it recapped with organic polymer caps, for minimum leakage in the future.

Also...
Fixed the mouse that came with the Amiga1200. I had to change one switch, then I was able to get working by having the other switch soaked in IPA. Cleaned the PCB with IPA and the ball plus rollers and sensors in IPA as well. The plastic shell was also cleaned in IPA. It is a responsive and heavy mouse, now working like new.

C-Mouse-01.jpg
Filename
C-Mouse-01.jpg
File size
94.91 KiB
Views
299 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception
C-Mouse-02.jpg
Filename
C-Mouse-02.jpg
File size
70.66 KiB
Views
299 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception
Last edited by brostenen on 2021-02-22, 22:24. Edited 1 time in total.

Don't eat stuff off a 15 year old never cleaned cpu cooler.
Those cakes make you sick....

My blog: http://to9xct.blogspot.dk
My YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/brostenen

001100 010010 011110 100001 101101 110011

Reply 18238 of 18996, by brostenen

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
xcomcmdr wrote on 2021-02-22, 18:43:

Careful, put an Atari this close to an Amiga and you'll have a war going on...

The 1200 eats ST's for breakfast.... 500/600 is a totally different situation. (It is much the same as the Falcon eats Amiga500/600 for breakfast)

Don't eat stuff off a 15 year old never cleaned cpu cooler.
Those cakes make you sick....

My blog: http://to9xct.blogspot.dk
My YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/brostenen

001100 010010 011110 100001 101101 110011

Reply 18239 of 18996, by pentiumspeed

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

One longest lived switches I use to replace standard junk micro-switches in my favourite mouse is omron maker. Easily obtained from ebay, mouser (place your large order of components to cover the shipping and minimum order cost). And other electronic suppliers should have these.

Cheers,

Great Northern aka Canada.