What retro activity did you get up to today?

Discussion about old PC hardware.

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby brostenen » 2017-3-21 @ 18:35

Kamerat wrote:I would worry more about running two VLB cards at 40MHz than overclocking a 486 by 21%. ;)


Qurious... What could potentially go wrong?
Don't eat stuff off a 15 year old never cleaned cpu cooler.
Those cakes make you sick....

My blog: http://to9xct.blogspot.dk

001100 010010 011110 100001 101101 110011

Jah ich will trynen... Die Leute wie macht scheisse in dem Grünen.
User avatar
brostenen
l33t++
 
Posts: 5367
Joined: 2014-5-07 @ 21:13
Location: Northern Jutland, Denmark.

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby cyclone3d » 2017-3-21 @ 19:12

brostenen wrote:
Kamerat wrote:I would worry more about running two VLB cards at 40MHz than overclocking a 486 by 21%. ;)


Qurious... What could potentially go wrong?


Mainly just instability. Some VLB cards will do 40Mhz fine, some wont.

That being said, I never really had a problem when running the 40Mhz fsb when I had a 486 VLB setup with a VLB video card.

And if the board specifically supports the DX2-80, then it should be fine with the 40Mhz fsb as that is what is required for the DX2-80.
User avatar
cyclone3d
l33t
 
Posts: 3373
Joined: 2015-4-08 @ 06:06
Location: Huntsville, AL USA

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby brostenen » 2017-3-21 @ 20:11

cyclone3d wrote:
Mainly just instability. Some VLB cards will do 40Mhz fine, some wont.

That being said, I never really had a problem when running the 40Mhz fsb when I had a 486 VLB setup with a VLB video card.

And if the board specifically supports the DX2-80, then it should be fine with the 40Mhz fsb as that is what is required for the DX2-80.


Thanks. Good to know that stuff won't go defect/break when doing multi VLB-Cards and 40mhz. :-)
Does it help setting waitstates on the VL-Bus, if some instabillity show up?
Don't eat stuff off a 15 year old never cleaned cpu cooler.
Those cakes make you sick....

My blog: http://to9xct.blogspot.dk

001100 010010 011110 100001 101101 110011

Jah ich will trynen... Die Leute wie macht scheisse in dem Grünen.
User avatar
brostenen
l33t++
 
Posts: 5367
Joined: 2014-5-07 @ 21:13
Location: Northern Jutland, Denmark.

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby cyclone3d » 2017-3-21 @ 21:04

brostenen wrote:Thanks. Good to know that stuff won't go defect/break when doing multi VLB-Cards and 40mhz. :-)
Does it help setting waitstates on the VL-Bus, if some instabillity show up?


Not sure. I never had more than one VLB card at any given time.
User avatar
cyclone3d
l33t
 
Posts: 3373
Joined: 2015-4-08 @ 06:06
Location: Huntsville, AL USA

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby TheMobRules » 2017-3-21 @ 21:13

brostenen wrote:Thanks. Good to know that stuff won't go defect/break when doing multi VLB-Cards and 40mhz.
Does it help setting waitstates on the VL-Bus, if some instabillity show up?


Adding wait states may help when trying to run more than one VLB card at bus speed > 33MHz, though it's no guarantee it will work. There's usually a couple of jumpers on VLB motherboards which may help with that:

- One is for adding wait states, as you mentioned
- The other generally has 2 positions, <=33MHz and >33MHz, setting it to >33MHz can also help
TheMobRules
Member
 
Posts: 479
Joined: 2016-1-19 @ 23:29

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby Evert » 2017-3-21 @ 21:19

I bought this computer at a thrift store for R250 (roughly $25 USD). It originally came with an AMD K6-2 500MHz, 128Mb PC-133 RAM, 4Gb Fujitsu Hard Drive, a broken CD-ROM drive, an Avance Logic ALS120 sound card and an onboard Trident Blade3D graphics card. I disabled the onboard Trident and replaced it with a PCI Riva 128 (Vipper V330). I also removed the Avance Logic sound card and replaced it with an ESS 1869F. It came with an original copy of Windows 98SE and Office 2000. I sanitized the Fujitsu drive using DBan and reinstalled Windows 98SE.

Image

Image

Image
Image
User avatar
Evert
Member
 
Posts: 357
Joined: 2014-6-15 @ 12:04
Location: Pretoria, South Africa

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby fcm » 2017-3-22 @ 01:42

Evert wrote:I bought this computer at a thrift store for R250 (roughly $25 USD). It originally came with an AMD K6-2 500MHz, 128Mb PC-133 RAM, 4Gb Fujitsu Hard Drive, a broken CD-ROM drive, an Avance Logic ALS120 sound card and an onboard Trident Blade3D graphics card. I disabled the onboard Trident and replaced it with a PCI Riva 128 (Vipper V330). I also removed the Avance Logic sound card and replaced it with an ESS 1869F. It came with an original copy of Windows 98SE and Office 2000. I sanitized the Fujitsu drive using DBan and reinstalled Windows 98SE.


Wow!! I had this case model on a Pentium 133 and upgraded to a K6-2 + Tekram MVP4 board!! Never seen a fastest Super7 machine, I don´t know what it had :lol:
Pentium MMX 166@210 | M537 | 64MB EDO | Trident 4MB TVOut | Soundblaster 16
XP-M 2200+@2.2 | A7N8X-E Deluxe | 2GB DDR400 | Voodoo 3 PCI + HD4650 AGP | WD 80GB SATA
fcm
Newbie
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2017-3-01 @ 14:15

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby ODwilly » 2017-3-22 @ 04:43

Instead of the e8600 I ordered an e6750, price difference was $3 shipped vs $14. Ended up swapping out the e6300 with that, swapped the 2gb of 667 with 4gb of 800, and threw in a passive 8600GT. 1080p Youtube now only consumes half the ram and cpu, Instead of maxing everything out. Inspiron 530 now gets another 5 years or so of life lol. Stock 300watt Bestec PSU has a bad secondary cap, not causing any issues yet tho. Swapped in a high airflow Adda 80mm instead of the crappy slow Jamicon, so hopefully that helps a bit.
Main pc: Asus Rampage Gene ii, X5650, 250gb Samsung Evo, RX480, 12gb Crucial DDR3 1600.
User avatar
ODwilly
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1834
Joined: 2013-6-18 @ 02:07
Location: Wa. U.S

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby oeuvre » 2017-3-22 @ 14:44

Pulled out the CDROM drive from my Gateway 2000 and replaced it with a 40X regular IDE CDROM one. The one it came with was a Sony CDU31A-GD 2X CDROM which uses a proprietary 34 PIN ribbon cable (which is included). But I don't have any sound cards that support it.
HP Z420 Workstation Intel Xeon E5-1620, 32GB, AMD FirePro V7900 2GB, SSD + HD, XP/7
Main Desktop Intel 6700, 32GB, AMD RX580 8GB, NVMe SSD + HD, 10
Image
User avatar
oeuvre
l33t
 
Posts: 3061
Joined: 2015-3-31 @ 13:31
Location: USA

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby brassicGamer » 2017-3-22 @ 15:36

brostenen wrote:
Kamerat wrote:I would worry more about running two VLB cards at 40MHz than overclocking a 486 by 21%. ;)


Qurious... What could potentially go wrong?


Worst case scenario you end up with data corruption because the controller can't write data reliably to the disk. Not such a problem with a test system I suppose. The DX/50 was pulled from sale soon after it was released because it was running too hot or systems were unstable. Later on some VLB cards included jumpers that allowed you to choose the bus speed (<33MHz or >33MHz) and motherboards provided those jumpers for wait states. Lots of tweaking is required but, with the right combination of components, some patience and some luck, you should be able to build a kick-ass system.
Check out my blog and YouTube channel for thoughts, articles, system profiles, and tips.
User avatar
brassicGamer
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1017
Joined: 2015-8-16 @ 22:17

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby xplus93 » 2017-3-22 @ 18:31

Decided to run dell diagnostics on my XPS R450 because it was acting buggy. Ended up migrating to a new HDD. I think the one I put in it was the one from my computer when I was eight. Installing voyager elite force on it right now.
XPS 466V|486-DX2|64MB|#9 GXE 1MB|SB32 PnP
Presario 4814|PMMX-233|128MB|Trio64
XPS R450|PII-450|384MB|TNT2 Pro| TB Montego
XPS B1000r|PIII-1GHz|512MB|GF2 PRO 64MB|SB Live!
XPS Gen2|P4 EE 3.4|2GB|GF 6800 GT OC|Audigy 2
User avatar
xplus93
Oldbie
 
Posts: 561
Joined: 2016-12-25 @ 22:56

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby brostenen » 2017-3-23 @ 15:00

brassicGamer wrote:Worst case scenario you end up with data corruption because the controller can't write data reliably to the disk. Not such a problem with a test system I suppose. The DX/50 was pulled from sale soon after it was released because it was running too hot or systems were unstable. Later on some VLB cards included jumpers that allowed you to choose the bus speed (<33MHz or >33MHz) and motherboards provided those jumpers for wait states. Lots of tweaking is required but, with the right combination of components, some patience and some luck, you should be able to build a kick-ass system.


Nice... :-)
I will probably go for that 486dx2-80 in this system after all. I have it allmost finetuned as it is, right now.
It gives me some 47.6 in 3D-Bench 1.0 and 47.4 in 3D-Bench 1.0c. That with the dx2-66 (WT) and 128k-20ns cache.

I recieved the 512mb CF card today, and used most of the day, to install drivers and trying out games.
I tested the Transcend card, using Speedisk, and read/write-rate are both some 2,8mb/s. :-P
Doom is still a bit slow, so I will see if my dx2-80 will make the perfect solution.
It might just be too fast for games such as DynaBlaster, Syndicate and Cannon Fodder.
Time will tell if the 66 is the way to go, or the 80.
Don't eat stuff off a 15 year old never cleaned cpu cooler.
Those cakes make you sick....

My blog: http://to9xct.blogspot.dk

001100 010010 011110 100001 101101 110011

Jah ich will trynen... Die Leute wie macht scheisse in dem Grünen.
User avatar
brostenen
l33t++
 
Posts: 5367
Joined: 2014-5-07 @ 21:13
Location: Northern Jutland, Denmark.

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby cyclone3d » 2017-3-23 @ 17:03

And remember, you can always leave the DX2-80 in there even if you need 50Mhz or 66Mhz.

All you have to do to change speeds without opening up the system is to run a few jumpers or even on/off switches to the front of the case from the jumpers on the motherboard.

Then when you want to change speed, you can change the speeds on the fly... may be sketchy with VLB cards installed. To be safe, just turn the computer off before changing speeds.

To be super fancy, you could get one of those old red LED displays that is configurable through jumpers and run the switches through there. Basically the same exact thing as an old computer that had one of those with a "Turbo" button. All the "turbo" button did was change the fsb of the motherboard on the fly.
User avatar
cyclone3d
l33t
 
Posts: 3373
Joined: 2015-4-08 @ 06:06
Location: Huntsville, AL USA

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby Skyscraper » 2017-3-23 @ 17:07

I ordered the underlings to bring me my loot. Now I just have to forget that this service exists so I don't order unnecessary crap.

$13.95 + $23.79 = $37.74 . $37.74 x 8.83 = 333 SEK. 25% VAT 0.25 x 333 SEK = 83 SEK.

The Swedish customs should not try to collect VAT if the VAT ends up beeing less than 100 SEK. Lets see if this actually holds true or if they somehow use their own kind of math to increase the value of my package.


The Batman.

Na na na na na na na na na na na na na na na na... BATMAN!.jpg
Main PC: Dual Xeon X5690@4.6ghz, Evga - SR-2, 48gb memory, Intel X25-M g2 SSD and a Nvidia GTX 980 ti.
Retro PC #3: K6-2 450@500mhz, PC-Chips m577, 256mb sdram, AWE64 and a Voodoo Banshee.
Skyscraper
l33t
 
Posts: 3401
Joined: 2013-9-18 @ 15:36
Location: Sweden

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby brostenen » 2017-3-23 @ 18:23

cyclone3d wrote:And remember, you can always leave the DX2-80 in there even if you need 50Mhz or 66Mhz.

All you have to do to change speeds without opening up the system is to run a few jumpers or even on/off switches to the front of the case from the jumpers on the motherboard.

Then when you want to change speed, you can change the speeds on the fly... may be sketchy with VLB cards installed. To be safe, just turn the computer off before changing speeds.

To be super fancy, you could get one of those old red LED displays that is configurable through jumpers and run the switches through there. Basically the same exact thing as an old computer that had one of those with a "Turbo" button. All the "turbo" button did was change the fsb of the motherboard on the fly.


That is another way to do it. Regarding led's and button/switch, then I need to get a case first.
After all, it is only on a testbench as of now.
Don't eat stuff off a 15 year old never cleaned cpu cooler.
Those cakes make you sick....

My blog: http://to9xct.blogspot.dk

001100 010010 011110 100001 101101 110011

Jah ich will trynen... Die Leute wie macht scheisse in dem Grünen.
User avatar
brostenen
l33t++
 
Posts: 5367
Joined: 2014-5-07 @ 21:13
Location: Northern Jutland, Denmark.

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby appiah4 » 2017-3-23 @ 18:38

Tried to make an 8GB USB Stick work with my P166MMX Windows 98 install and failed.. All pointers welcome..
A500:Rev6|+512K|ACA500+|C1084S
i386:Am386SX25|4M|GD5402|ES688|MuntPi3
i486:U5S33|8M|GD5428|YMF719|DB-S2
i586:P133|32M|T64+/MX2|V1|CT3980/32M
i686:K6-2/400|128M|V2/SLI|CT4520/32M
S370:P3-1200|384M|GF4-4200|MX300
S754:A3700+|2G|X1950PRO|SB0350
User avatar
appiah4
l33t
 
Posts: 4044
Joined: 2017-2-19 @ 07:36

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby Skyscraper » 2017-3-23 @ 18:55

appiah4 wrote:Tried to make an 8GB USB Stick work with my P166MMX Windows 98 install and failed.. All pointers welcome..



Try this driver package.

It's only USB 1.1 but my success rate with getting USB storage working in Windows 98 SE is 100% so far when using this package.

nusb24e.exe
(649 KiB) Downloaded 7 times
Main PC: Dual Xeon X5690@4.6ghz, Evga - SR-2, 48gb memory, Intel X25-M g2 SSD and a Nvidia GTX 980 ti.
Retro PC #3: K6-2 450@500mhz, PC-Chips m577, 256mb sdram, AWE64 and a Voodoo Banshee.
Skyscraper
l33t
 
Posts: 3401
Joined: 2013-9-18 @ 15:36
Location: Sweden

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby Munx » 2017-3-23 @ 19:20

Got a Socket 754 board (that I thought was dead) to post with the help of this thing.
P_20170323_210405[1].jpg


Never thought this was actually needed when using modern PSUs on older boards :dead:
My builds!
The FireStarter 2.0 - The wooden K5
The Underdog - The budget K6
The Voodoo powerhouse - The power-hungry K7
The troll PC - The Socket 423 Pentium 4
User avatar
Munx
Oldbie
 
Posts: 508
Joined: 2015-3-21 @ 19:36
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby appiah4 » 2017-3-23 @ 20:10

Skyscraper wrote:
appiah4 wrote:Tried to make an 8GB USB Stick work with my P166MMX Windows 98 install and failed.. All pointers welcome..



Try this driver package.

It's only USB 1.1 but my success rate with getting USB storage working in Windows 98 SE is 100% so far when using this package.

nusb24e.exe


Ive tried v3.3 of this but had no luck. It requires uninstalling the usb hub prior to installing the driver but the keyboard mouse I have are usb...
A500:Rev6|+512K|ACA500+|C1084S
i386:Am386SX25|4M|GD5402|ES688|MuntPi3
i486:U5S33|8M|GD5428|YMF719|DB-S2
i586:P133|32M|T64+/MX2|V1|CT3980/32M
i686:K6-2/400|128M|V2/SLI|CT4520/32M
S370:P3-1200|384M|GF4-4200|MX300
S754:A3700+|2G|X1950PRO|SB0350
User avatar
appiah4
l33t
 
Posts: 4044
Joined: 2017-2-19 @ 07:36

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby cyclone3d » 2017-3-23 @ 21:08

appiah4 wrote:Ive tried v3.3 of this but had no luck. It requires uninstalling the usb hub prior to installing the driver but the keyboard mouse I have are usb...


You don't actually have to uninstall anything before installing it. I saw that in the instructions and thought... why?

It works if you just run the installer without doing anything first.
User avatar
cyclone3d
l33t
 
Posts: 3373
Joined: 2015-4-08 @ 06:06
Location: Huntsville, AL USA

PreviousNext

Return to General Old Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Anonymous Coward, cyclone3d, flakes, foil_fresh, imi, knowledge [bot], Moer, tails, xjas and 21 guests