VOGONS


Reply 3660 of 3840, by Disruptor

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
H3nrik V! wrote on 2022-04-07, 11:00:

The Pentium II did have 512 KiB L2 cache, not 256. Never the less, you are absolutely right that in a lot of applications, the Celeron "450A" was faster than the PII

You're right. All the Klamath, Deschutes Pentium II and Katmai Pentium III have 512 kB half speed L2 cache. They need Slot 1 and there are no Socket 370 versions avaiable.
I've messed it up with the Coppermine Pentium III's which had 256 kB L2 cache, on die and full speed. They do not need Slot 1 and they exist in both Socket 370 and Slot 1 variants.
I fixed it.

Reply 3661 of 3840, by Kahenraz

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

There's nothing wrong with Celerons. Newer Celerons are often faster than older Pentiums, for example. There are also plenty of good OEM cards from this era.

The right choice of components really comes down to what software you want to run and what your hardware will support. Not all early Intel chipsets can run Coppermine anyways, so there's no point in buying as processor purely based on what you want.

Reply 3662 of 3840, by Disruptor

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Disruptor wrote on 2022-04-06, 22:14:

I just was digging in a box and found a Celeron SL2Y2. It is a Covington 300 with the newer A1 stepping.
Is this any good for? Can it be paired with a S3 Virge on a Legend QDI P6I440EX/ATX EXCELLENT 1?

Well, it's not worth hunting for a Covington. You just can emulate its behavior with a Klamath/Deschutes Pentium II, a Mendocino Celeron or a Katmai Pentium III. Run it at 66 MHz FSB and disable L2 cache.

Reply 3663 of 3840, by Miphee

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Another spring, another municipal waste collection day. Wife was NOT happy but she helped me anyway. That's true love.

Attachments

  • 1649693524452.jpg
    Filename
    1649693524452.jpg
    File size
    1.79 MiB
    Views
    559 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 3665 of 3840, by H3nrik V!

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Miphee wrote on 2022-04-11, 16:16:

Another spring, another municipal waste collection day. Wife was NOT happy but she helped me anyway. That's true love.

As in driving around the streets and picking up stuff from the curb? But yeah, she's a keeper

Please use the "quote" option if asking questions to what I write - it will really up the chances of me noticing 😀

Reply 3667 of 3840, by maestro

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Here's some free stuff that was destined for the dumpster.

maxware.JPG.jpg
Filename
maxware.JPG.jpg
File size
439 KiB
Views
469 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

1. Maxware 8086 (NEC V20)
2. WDC Paradise '88 VGA 16-bit (8-bit friendly)

Does anyone know if I can use my AT power supply with this board? There's 12 pins and plug looks similar but more primative.

Reply 3668 of 3840, by Cuttoon

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
maestro wrote on 2022-04-12, 02:08:

Does anyone know if I can use my AT power supply with this board? There's 12 pins and plug looks similar but more primative.

Someone here will.

If it's indeed an AT connector, it called a Molex 90331:
https://pinouts.ru/Power/MotherboardPower_pinout.shtml

If the middle 4 pins all lead to ground, I'd say, pretty good chances.

But that thing looks really fossil, even to an old geezer like me.

I like jumpers.

Reply 3669 of 3840, by maestro

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I'll give it a try it, one day, and wear glasses in case a tantralum blows up in my face. It's old but hopefully I can use this to verify if my PSU is still working, I also have a 486 that won't fully POST and I'm not sure if it's the 486 or PSU.

Reply 3670 of 3840, by cyclone3d

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
maestro wrote on 2022-04-12, 02:08:
Here's some free stuff that was destined for the dumpster. […]
Show full quote

Here's some free stuff that was destined for the dumpster.

maxware.JPG.jpg

1. Maxware 8086 (NEC V20)
2. WDC Paradise '88 VGA 16-bit (8-bit friendly)

Does anyone know if I can use my AT power supply with this board? There's 12 pins and plug looks similar but more primative.

The NEC V20 is the replacement for the 8088, while the v30 is the replacement for the 8086.

Yamaha YMF modified setupds and drivers
Yamaha XG resource repository - updated November 27, 2018
Yamaha YMF7x4 Guide
AW744L II - YMF744 - AOpen Cobra Sound Card - Install SB-Link Header

Reply 3672 of 3840, by MMaximus

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
maestro wrote on 2022-04-12, 02:08:
Here's some free stuff that was destined for the dumpster. […]
Show full quote

Here's some free stuff that was destined for the dumpster.

maxware.JPG.jpg

1. Maxware 8086 (NEC V20)
2. WDC Paradise '88 VGA 16-bit (8-bit friendly)

Does anyone know if I can use my AT power supply with this board? There's 12 pins and plug looks similar but more primative.

I had the same question a while ago. I'm 99% sure you can safely plug your AT PSU to this connector (provided of course you stick the black wires next to one another, the same way you would with an AT board)

Reply 3673 of 3840, by EvieSigma

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Saved this HP NetServer E50 from being scrapped today, feels good.

PXL_20220412_213622620.jpg
Filename
PXL_20220412_213622620.jpg
File size
244.5 KiB
Views
315 views
File license
CC-BY-4.0

Reply 3674 of 3840, by chrismeyer6

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
EvieSigma wrote on 2022-04-12, 23:11:

Saved this HP NetServer E50 from being scrapped today, feels good.

PXL_20220412_213622620.jpg

Nice job saving that beautiful machine.

Reply 3677 of 3840, by EvieSigma

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
chrismeyer6 wrote on 2022-04-12, 23:23:

Wow that's had quite the long deployment life. Once you get it all cleaned up and looking good it'll be a fun system to tinker and play with.

I think this is is one of those classic "nobody remembered it was there and so nobody turned it off" stories, which are always a good story.

Reply 3678 of 3840, by chrismeyer6

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
EvieSigma wrote on 2022-04-12, 23:36:
chrismeyer6 wrote on 2022-04-12, 23:23:

Wow that's had quite the long deployment life. Once you get it all cleaned up and looking good it'll be a fun system to tinker and play with.

I think this is is one of those classic "nobody remembered it was there and so nobody turned it off" stories, which are always a good story.

I've seen that happen a few times in the past. Always makes for a good story.

Reply 3679 of 3840, by maestro

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
MMaximus wrote on 2022-04-12, 20:57:

I had the same question a while ago. I'm 99% sure you can safely plug your AT PSU to this connector (provided of course you stick the black wires next to one another, the same way you would with an AT board)

Thanks for the confirmation. I'm pretty sure it will too, I'll post an image of it running if it does end up working.