VOGONS

First post, by mmx_91

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank

Hi!
As I’m quite new in retro computing, I’m curious about some performance issues I’m experiencing since I started playing with these devices some months ago.
After dealing with an old Athlon XP I had stored in my attic (benchmarking graphic cards I had laying around, installing different OS and so on… this is fun!), I decided to recreate my first pc that was based on a Pentium MMX machine.
Luckily, I found 2 Aladdin V chipset boards for cheap that have an AGP slot, so I could use the graphic cards I stored before (basically Geforce 2 and FX models) that, although they are really overkill for such systems, will offer better performance than my S3 Virge I had back then!
So, I built a Pentium machine (oced to 250Mhz with 100 Mhz FSB) with the best of the two boards and a Geforce about 6 months ago and I’ve been playing games (mostly DOS, Tomb Raider II, 3, 4, Need for Speed III, IV, Midtown Madness) since then quite happily, counting the hardware limitations.

But a couple of months ago, I bought a quite standard Voodoo2 12MB, installed it and got very impressed!! Although the image quality is cleaarly worse tan the one from the Geforce (2/FX models, using the popular 43.45 drivers), almost all those games perform twice as fast!! Some examples:

NFS III/IV: No more 3D Control Center compatibility issues, both faster with the Voodoo2
Tomb Raider “classic” series (I-V): Better with the Geforces, but quite close!
Midtown Madness 1/2: quite choppy framerates with the Geforce, smooth with the Voodoo at 640x480 (can’t explain since it’s a DirectX 7 game!!)
International Rally Championship (1997): plays like a slideshow at fast speeds with the Geforce, smooth with the Voodoo.
And obviously the ability to run Glide games now (Descent 1/2 with the Glide renderer looks fantastic) 😉