Adaptec 1542B not working with ASPI4DOS

Discussion about old PC hardware.

Adaptec 1542B not working with ASPI4DOS

Postby elianda » 2016-7-09 @ 20:59

Hello,

I was testing a few Adaptec ISA SCSI cards and noticed that my Adaptec 1542B does not seem to work with CD-ROMs.
The card is an Adaptec 1542B with Adaptec AT BIOS 3.10 with max. HDD size of 1 GB.
When the BIOS scans the bus I see the drive initialize, but it does not shows on screen. It just waits and continues after a while with no device found.
I thought I can simply load ASPI4DOS 3.36S but it always say installation failed. As if the driver is incompatible with this card.
However when I run SCSIFRMT which is actually for formatting HDDs it scans the bus and lists the attached CD-ROM fine.

Does anyone knows something regarding this issue?
Is the 3.10 BIOS not capable of CDROMs?
Is the BIOS too old to work with ASPI4DOS or do I need an old version of ASPI4DOS?

As ID 0,1,2 is reserved for bootable devices the CD-ROM is set to ID3 and terminates the bus. It works also fine with other SCSI controllers in the same setup.
Retronn.de - Vintage Hardware Gallery, Drivers, Guides, HQ Videos.
Youtube Channel
FTP Server - Driver Archive and more
DVI2PCIe alignment and 2D image quality measurement tool
User avatar
elianda
l33t
 
Posts: 2236
Joined: 2006-4-21 @ 16:56
Location: Halle / Germany

Re: Adaptec 1542B not working with ASPI4DOS

Postby akula65 » 2016-7-09 @ 23:38

I was looking at the EZ-SCSI Deluxe Edition User's Guide (Version 5, I think), and in the aspi4dos.sys section, it mentions the following concerning the port address command line option:

/p<port address>
This option lets you change the aspi4dos.sys default I/O address from the default (330h) to another valid address (130h, 134h, 230h, 234h or 334h). For example,

device=c:\scsi\aspi4dos.sys /d /p130

If you use /p<port address>, you may need to change jumper and switch settings. Some host adapter models require disabling the host adapter BIOS if you change the I/O port address, because the BIOS only works at the default address. Please read your host adapter documentation for more information.


Are you using the default 330h port address?

Also, one other thing that might be worth checking (if you are using a motherboard with PCI support) is whether the motherboard's enumeration for IRQs matches whatever you have the Adaptec jumper settings set to. In other words, it may be that you need to match the Adaptec IRQ jumper settings with the IRQ/slot that the motherboard BIOS setup program reports for the Adaptec host adapter in order for it to work properly on that particular motherboard.
User avatar
akula65
Member
 
Posts: 487
Joined: 2004-9-28 @ 01:29
Location: North Carolina

Re: Adaptec 1542B not working with ASPI4DOS

Postby elianda » 2016-7-10 @ 00:13

I use the standard configuration with adapter at 330h and BIOS working at 330h.
I also checked vs. PCI graphics cards using IRQ 11 and onboard floppy controllers interfering and went for an old 386 board for testing. (just ISA graphics card without IRQ as second card)

It also appears that ASPI4DOS checks the non-default I/O addresses itself for a present controller, so it found e.g. a 1542CF at port 334 without giving an extra /p334.
Retronn.de - Vintage Hardware Gallery, Drivers, Guides, HQ Videos.
Youtube Channel
FTP Server - Driver Archive and more
DVI2PCIe alignment and 2D image quality measurement tool
User avatar
elianda
l33t
 
Posts: 2236
Joined: 2006-4-21 @ 16:56
Location: Halle / Germany

Re: Adaptec 1542B not working with ASPI4DOS

Postby ViDiV » 2017-1-29 @ 17:41

I have the same issue with Adaptec AHA-1542B and ASPI4DOS v3.36. Tested with BIOS v3.10 and 3.20 (latest). Jumpers in default settings.

Fortunately, older ASPI4DOS v3.00 si working. Tested with BIOS v3.10 and 3.20 (latest). Jumpers in default settings.

ASPI4_30.ZIP - 106.2 kb - 07-31-96
ftp://ftp.mpoli.fi/pub/hardware/HDD/ADA ... PI4_30.ZIP
Attachments
ASPI4_30.ZIP
(106.21 KiB) Downloaded 20 times
ViDiV
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2017-1-29 @ 17:07
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Adaptec 1542B not working with ASPI4DOS

Postby ViDiV » 2017-1-29 @ 17:58

ASPI4DOS v3.35 (1997) is also working. Tested with BIOS 3.20 (latest) and jumpers in default settings.
ftp://ftp.brain.it/public/driver/Adapte ... ompattati/
Attachments
dosdrvr 1997.exe
(122.62 KiB) Downloaded 24 times
ViDiV
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2017-1-29 @ 17:07
Location: Czech Republic


Return to General Old Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: sledge, Tiido and 11 guests