VOGONS


Reply 720 of 1037, by Grosvince

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Hi red-ray

Here's the result of your utility on my Rise iDragon CPU, under Win98SE.

The CPU has the Chris Norrie Easter Egg !

Vincent

Attachments

Reply 721 of 1037, by red-ray

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Grosvince wrote on 2021-01-25, 22:31:

The CPU has the Chris Norrie Easter Egg !

Hi Vincent, Thank you for checking out SIV and I thought the Easter Egg would be there. In general SIV did OK, SIV V5.56 Beta-01 should report more for your ATI Rage 3D Pro PCI GPU, but to fully report it NT4/W2K/WXP would be needed.

I was surprised SIV did not report the disk SMART information, do any utilities manage to do this please?

Last edited by red-ray on 2021-01-27, 19:21. Edited 1 time in total.

Reply 722 of 1037, by Grosvince

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
red-ray wrote on 2021-01-25, 23:04:

I was surprised SIV did not report the disk SMART information, do any utilities manage to do this please?

Don't know about SMART function on this setup. This is a fresh Win98SE setup with an old Fujitsu disk. This "computer" is just some parts connected together laying on my workbench... Not even a sound card. I figure to test every Socket 7 possible CPU, just because know I can...

I can test the SIV with a Win2000 setup, if I found all drivers for this install.

Vincent

Reply 723 of 1037, by red-ray

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Grosvince wrote on 2021-01-26, 09:07:

Don't know about SMART function on this setup. This is a fresh Win98SE setup with an old Fujitsu disk. This "computer" is just some parts connected together laying on my workbench... Not even a sound card. I figure to test every Socket 7 possible CPU, just because know I can...

I can test the SIV with a Win2000 setup, if I found all drivers for this install.

I have W2K on a Socket 7 board with the same chipset as yours and the only drivers I needed were for GPUs.

I wonder what is happening with SMART, I suspect doing SIV32L -DBGSDM > SIV_DBGOUT.log from a command window may provide some insight.

Reply 724 of 1037, by Grosvince

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
red-ray wrote on 2021-01-26, 10:43:
Grosvince wrote on 2021-01-26, 09:07:

Don't know about SMART function on this setup. This is a fresh Win98SE setup with an old Fujitsu disk. This "computer" is just some parts connected together laying on my workbench... Not even a sound card. I figure to test every Socket 7 possible CPU, just because know I can...

I can test the SIV with a Win2000 setup, if I found all drivers for this install.

I have W2K on a Socket 7 board with the same chipset as yours and the only drivers I needed were for GPUs.

I wonder what is happening with SMART, I suspect doing SIV32L -DBGSDM > SIV_DBGOUT.log from a command window may provide some insight.

SMART was turned off in Setup !

Reply 725 of 1037, by red-ray

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Grosvince wrote on 2021-01-31, 15:46:

SMART was turned off in Setup !

Thank you for the update, so I guess SMART is now being reported, is it? What's strange though is that SIV should have enabled it anyway, I would need to see the SIV32L -DBGSDM > SIV_DBGOUT.log output to tell more.

Reply 726 of 1037, by red-ray

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Schule04 wrote on 2021-03-20, 20:24:

The Mainboard is an "Aquarius systems 5BLMP10E".

Thank you, SIV worked as I hoped and I did not spot any errors, did you? SIV did not report the Cyrix 5530 Kahula/Geode Video Controller as a GPU as no driver was installed, is there an XP/2K driver for it? I wonder if any on the W2K ones from http://www.video-drivers.com/companies/268.htm can be adjusted to work.

The SMBIOS did not report the motherboard as an Aquarius systems 5BLMP10E which is why SIV did not, see [Machine]. I had a look in the .DMI file, given what I found was able to adjust SIV so it should and also to report the BIOS version as VER:5.06.13 rather than 4.51 PG. Does >= SIV 5.57 Beta-08 report these?

Out of interest does >= SIV 5.57 Beta-08 report your C7-M ULV + P54CQS as such? If not I will need SIV save files to fix it.

I suspect the P54CQS motherboard does not have SMBIOS/DMI data which is why CPUZ is unable to report the motherboard.

Reply 727 of 1037, by Schule04

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Here is the report for the C7-M ULV. The CPU is detected properly. The mainboard is called "VIA Demo Board" by all profiling tools so I guess that name comes from the BIOS. The actual name of this machine is a "Wyse Xn0L" laptop.

There seems to be an issue with ACPI.

ACPI.png
Filename
ACPI.png
File size
34.62 KiB
Views
1195 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception
C7.png
Filename
C7.png
File size
60.19 KiB
Views
1195 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception
Filename
C7.zip
File size
200.16 KiB
Downloads
51 downloads
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 728 of 1037, by Schule04

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Here's the Geode machine again. I noticed some strange things in the machine window:

- Max CPU frequency is only 200MHz, should probably be 333MHz instead

- The memory controller is not EDO, it's SDRAM. This board has two memory slots. The slot labeled A0 is a full size SDRAM slot while slot A1 is SODIMM.

main.PNG
Filename
main.PNG
File size
22.43 KiB
Views
1190 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception
Machine.PNG
Filename
Machine.PNG
File size
23 KiB
Views
1190 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception
Filename
GX.zip
File size
185.21 KiB
Downloads
50 downloads
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 729 of 1037, by red-ray

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Schule04 wrote on 2021-03-22, 20:26:

Here's the Geode machine again. I noticed some strange things in the machine window:

- Max CPU frequency is only 200MHz, should probably be 333MHz instead
- The memory controller is not EDO, it's SDRAM. This board has two memory slots. The slot labelled A0 is a full size SDRAM slot while slot A1 is SODIMM.

Thank you for checking out the changes I made which all worked as I intended.

Yes, the BIOS sets up some strange values up in the SMBIOS/DMI, SIV merely reports what the BIOS sets and to fix these an updated BIOS would be needed. I expect all of AIDA64 + CPUZ + HWiNFO will report the same strange values.

Reply 730 of 1037, by red-ray

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Schule04 wrote on 2021-03-22, 19:50:

Here is the report for the C7-M ULV. The CPU is detected properly. The mainboard is called "VIA Demo Board" by all profiling tools so I guess that name comes from the BIOS. The actual name of this machine is a "Wyse Xn0L" laptop.

There seems to be an issue with ACPI.

Thank you for checking out SIV and you certainly have some interesting systems that I have not tested SIV on before.

It looks like some of the ACPI methods timed out while processing the [acpi-eval] section. This happens one in a while so I have adjusted >= SIV 5.57 Beta-09 to skip the problematic methods.

I also noted SIV failed to report the DIMM SPD data as it did not have support for the VIA VT8237S SMBus so I added this, please may I have new save files?

Looking further only the PCIe information was reported on the initial screen so I added the AGP information.

I will see if I can find a way to detect it's a "Wyse Xn0L", what description does it report when it posts? If "Wyse Xn0L" then I may be able to get SIV to scan the System ROM, if you do Menu->File->Save->Save System ROM does the .ROM file contain "Wyse Xn0L"?

Reply 731 of 1037, by Schule04

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Here's the report and bios dump. The BIOS shows a custom WYSE boot logo so they definitely have customized it

Attachments

  • main.png
    Filename
    main.png
    File size
    61.31 KiB
    Views
    1148 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception
  • Filename
    report.zip
    File size
    606.79 KiB
    Downloads
    45 downloads
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception
  • IMG_20210311_155802.jpg
    Filename
    IMG_20210311_155802.jpg
    File size
    898.81 KiB
    Views
    1148 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 732 of 1037, by red-ray

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Schule04 wrote on 2021-03-26, 01:30:

The BIOS shows a custom WYSE boot logo so they definitely have customized it

Thank you for checking out the changes which all worked as I intended. I can't find anything in the .ROM file to show it's a WYSE BIOS and AFAIK adding a boot logo does not result in a textual name in the BIOS.

I did spot the BIOS reports Single Channel when SIV reported Dual Channel so have fixed this for 5.57 Beta-10 and also added the command rate. I can see tCL must correct as both SIV and the BIOS report 4 and am wondering about tRCD + tRP + tRAS + tRFC. Does SIV report the same as HWiNFO and/or CPUZ please?

Reply 733 of 1037, by Schule04

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Here are the reports

Attachments

  • aida64.PNG
    Filename
    aida64.PNG
    File size
    84.22 KiB
    Views
    1117 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception
  • cpuz.PNG
    Filename
    cpuz.PNG
    File size
    19.37 KiB
    Views
    1117 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception
  • hwinfo.PNG
    Filename
    hwinfo.PNG
    File size
    198.71 KiB
    Views
    1117 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception
  • siv.PNG
    Filename
    siv.PNG
    File size
    103.9 KiB
    Views
    1117 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception
  • Filename
    SIV32X.zip
    File size
    213.5 KiB
    Downloads
    51 downloads
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 734 of 1037, by red-ray

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Schule04 wrote on 2021-03-29, 13:04:

Here are the reports

Thank you, all four utilities report the same 😀. I asked as looking at the SPD I expected 4-4-4-12 rather than 4-5-5-13 for the 266 MHz clock and wonder what would happen if you interposed the SO-DIMMs as strange things happen from time-to-time when unmatched DIMMs are used.

Reply 735 of 1037, by red-ray

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Schule04 wrote on 2021-03-20, 21:46:
Pentium P54CQS also is not detected correctly https://www.vogons.org/download/file.php?id=105773 […]
Show full quote

Pentium P54CQS also is not detected correctly
file.php?id=105773

I suspect P54C may be correct as looking at https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/P5_(micro ... re)#P54CQS the P54CQS is a 0.35μm TCP package.

It's also possible that the 0.60μm and 0.35μm parts return identical CPUID information which makes reporting them correctly tricky/impossible. If you have both a P54CQS + 120MHz P54C please will you post what SIV reports for both?

Reply 737 of 1037, by red-ray

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Schule04 wrote on 2021-03-31, 22:52:

For the wikipedia article and the source it cites, all 120MHz parts should be P54CQS.

Thank you for the link, but the article says the "Pentium Is First CPU to Reach 0.35 Micron, New Manufacturing Process Pushes Intel Processor to 120 MHz" so it's possible 120MHz P54C CPUs were produced after the article was published on 27-Mar-1995 as https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/P5_%28microarch … ls_and_variants seems to report.

It does state "The ’CQS is based on the C2 stepping of the P54C" so I suspect it's a 0.35µm P54CQS if it's stepping 5/C2 @ 120MHz so will implement this for SIV 5.57 Beta-10 . AFAIK a stepping 6/E0 CPU @ 120 MHz is a 0.60µm P54C.

Reply 738 of 1037, by Schule04

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Looks like this system is stepping C2, so the smaller core.
Is there a way to distinguish between a 120MHz C2 core that has been overclocked to 133MHz and a real 133MHz part?

Attachments

  • siv32l.png
    Filename
    siv32l.png
    File size
    13.51 KiB
    Views
    1055 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception
  • Filename
    SIV_WIN98.txt
    File size
    232.7 KiB
    Downloads
    69 downloads
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 739 of 1037, by red-ray

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Schule04 wrote on 2021-04-01, 18:11:

Is there a way to distinguish between a 120MHz C2 core that has been overclocked to 133MHz and a real 133MHz part?

Thank you for checking out SIV on your P54CQS, I have just uploaded SIV 5.57 Beta-10 which fixes/improves things and should report as below.

file.php?id=106707

Yes, AFAIK a real 133MHz is a P54CS which has a higher stepping and I expect Beta-10 will report your P54CQS as such even if you overclock it to 133MHz.

Attachments