VOGONS

First post, by zimzolla

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Hello, I'm new to the retro computer scene, and I'm at a loss as to how to proceed. Googling and searching this forum hasn't helped. I was hoping to get a little advice.

I bought an IBM Aptiva 2137 and I have been trying to get Windows 95 for OEM to install on a compact flash. (I want to preserve the original 4GB hard drive for now) I have a 95 3.5" boot disk, first thing I see is language selection, after that, it detects my PC and claims it is a "non IBM" and I get the following message:

Recovery program has stopped. This is not an IBM computer.

I've reset BIOS to default settings, and I've formatted C, but that didn't change anything. My next step is to buy an external floppy drive and blank disks, and try to find some cd rom drivers to load the windows 95 disk manually. I'm learning from my googling that even if I hadn't hit this roadblock, I would have needed cd drivers since Windows 95 boot disks don't have cd drivers despite requiring a cd? I guess that wasn't available until 98.

I wanted some feedback if I'm on the right path here, or what I can do to move forward. Thanks!

Reply 1 of 17, by Caluser2000

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Try a boot disk with CD Rom support from Bootdisk.com. Boot from that, then change to the cd rom in Dos, then run the win95 set routine. The one you got from that Aptiva site(which you have deleted the link to) is for use with the original Recovery CD.

There's a glitch in the matrix.
A founding member of the 286 appreciation society.
Apparently 32-bit is dead and nobody likes P4s.
Of course, as always, I'm open to correction...😉

Reply 2 of 17, by zimzolla

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Yeah I deleted the link because I just realized that all the download links were broken. 🙁

Looks like the bootdisk.com wants money for the DOScdrom boot disk file. Could I just use the other boot disk files for windows 95 that has "IDE CD-rom Drivers Included"?