VOGONS


First post, by ph4nt0m

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Got this board recently from a scrap pile. All jumpers, the BIOS/Dallas/cache chips are gone. I can put these in place, but the manual with jumper settings is nowhere to be found. The BIOS image is also needed. The chipset is somewhat unusual EFAR EC802G cache and memory controller, EC100G ISA controller and EC810PB PCI host bridge. Some jumper settings are silk screened on the board. It can do up to 50MHz system bus and take up to 1Mb of cache. Anyone to have this board?

ADWJTVE.jpg

My Active Sales on CPU-World

Reply 1 of 19, by Deksor

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Just in case someone was thinking about doing this, I've searched in th99 for the manual and in elhvb for the manual and the bios, but sadly I didn't find anything 🙁

Hopefully you'll find what you're looking for !

Trying to identify old hardware ? Visit The retro web - Project's thread The Retro Web project - a stason.org/TH99 alternative

Reply 2 of 19, by Predator99

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Before investing much time in the search for the correct BIOS image I would insert a POST card and the Supersoft-ROM and see if something happens...at least you get an idea if its totally dead or not.

The relevant jumpers for CPU configuration seem to be labeled.

Reply 4 of 19, by ph4nt0m

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

I have flashed an EFAR42S MR-BIOS to a TI 27C010A EPROM. It's for Alaris Tornado 2 which is fairly similar with additionally integrated SMC FDC37C653 chip for FDD/COM/LPT ports and OPTI 82C621A PCI IDE controller. Put a Dallas DS12887 RTC chip, cache chips and set those silk screened jumpers. The board showed signs of life, but couldn't get past 0Ah POST code. That's a base memory test. I need to set the remaining jumpers properly.

My Active Sales on CPU-World

Reply 6 of 19, by ph4nt0m

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
Deksor wrote on 2020-03-21, 18:46:

Sweet ! Have you tried to put some cache on it ?

Yeah nine 128Kx8 15ns async SRAMs. They are known to work and all cache jumpers are silk screened on the board.

My Active Sales on CPU-World

Reply 7 of 19, by Reystlin

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

IMG-20210711-172819.jpg

IMG-20210712-020804.jpg

Всем привет. Есть такая. Рабочая. Актуально еще?

ЗЫ: Джампера стоят под AMD-DX4-100

--- Google Translate ---

Hello everyone. There is one. Working. Still relevant?

PS: Jumpers are under AMD-DX4-100

Last edited by Stiletto on 2021-07-12, 21:16. Edited 1 time in total.

Reply 8 of 19, by computerguy08

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
Reystlin wrote on 2021-07-11, 21:13:
Всем привет. Есть такая. Рабочая. Актуально еще? […]
Show full quote

Всем привет. Есть такая. Рабочая. Актуально еще?

ЗЫ: Джампера стоят под AMD-DX4-100

--- Google Translate ---

Hello everyone. There is one. Working. Still relevant?

PS: Jumpers are under AMD-DX4-100

Yes, it's still relevant!
Could you dump the BIOS of your board ?

If you could provide a higher resolution motherboard image as well, it would be even better.
UH19 link: http://www.win3x.org/uh19/motherboard/show/6884

Last edited by Stiletto on 2021-07-12, 21:16. Edited 1 time in total.

Reply 9 of 19, by Reystlin

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
computerguy08 wrote on 2021-07-11, 22:10:
Yes, it's still relevant! Could you dump the BIOS of your board ? […]
Show full quote
Reystlin wrote on 2021-07-11, 21:13:

Всем привет. Есть такая. Рабочая. Актуально еще?

ЗЫ: Джампера стоят под AMD-DX4-100

Yes, it's still relevant!
Could you dump the BIOS of your board ?

If you could provide a higher resolution motherboard image as well, it would be even better.
UH19 link: http://www.win3x.org/uh19/motherboard/show/6884

Sure
bin.png

Reply 10 of 19, by Horun

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
Reystlin wrote on 2021-07-11, 22:33:
Sure https://filesend.io/themes/spirit/assets/images/file_icons/160px/bin.png […]
Show full quote

Sure
bin.png

Can you also ZIP the file and post here as an attachment ? The link to https://filesend.io/ae311f7943e4cf6d24d3c334f916f7ee/ shows me the file but does not allow download (am not a member)

Hate posting a reply and then have to edit it because it made no sense 😁 First computer was an IBM 3270 workstation with CGA monitor. Stuff: https://archive.org/details/@horun

Reply 11 of 19, by Reystlin

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Horun wrote on 2021-07-11, 23:12:
Reystlin wrote on 2021-07-11, 22:33:
Sure https://filesend.io/themes/spirit/assets/images/file_icons/160px/bin.png […]
Show full quote

Sure
bin.png

Can you also ZIP the file and post here as an attachment ? The link to https://filesend.io/ae311f7943e4cf6d24d3c334f916f7ee/ shows me the file but does not allow download (am not a member)

Hi. You don't have to be a member. Just CAPTCHA. Check it again

Reply 12 of 19, by Horun

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

filesend.io seems to not like a 2020 version of Firefox or a Chrome on my computer (or maybe is just my settings)...
Can you attach the file here ? It is easy.

Hate posting a reply and then have to edit it because it made no sense 😁 First computer was an IBM 3270 workstation with CGA monitor. Stuff: https://archive.org/details/@horun

Reply 13 of 19, by Reystlin

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Horun wrote on 2021-07-12, 02:05:

filesend.io seems to not like a 2020 version of Firefox or a Chrome on my computer (or maybe is just my settings)...
Can you attach the file here ? It is easy.

Дружище. Скажи куда тебе его залить - я залью. Но чтобы без регистрации.

--- Google Translate ---

Buddy. Tell me where to fill it - I'll fill it. But without registration.

Last edited by Stiletto on 2021-07-12, 21:17. Edited 1 time in total.

Reply 14 of 19, by computerguy08

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
Horun wrote on 2021-07-12, 02:05:

filesend.io seems to not like a 2020 version of Firefox or a Chrome on my computer (or maybe is just my settings)...
Can you attach the file here ? It is easy.

I got the CAPTCHA after a few tries, uploaded the BIOS image on UH19
http://www.win3x.org/uh19/motherboard/show/6884

I'll put it here as well, for good measure.
08/24/94-EFAR-EC802G/810-2A4O3D12-00
ver: P02.01.3
core: 4.50G

Attachments

  • Filename
    PKM-0039E.zip
    File size
    61.39 KiB
    Downloads
    58 downloads
    File license
    Public domain

Reply 15 of 19, by computerguy08

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

By the way, I suspect this board has a SiS 471 chipset clone of some sorts (relabel), because:

  • 2A4O3D12-00 -> indicates a EFAR 802G + 100 combo (while this one has 802G + 810 + 100 instead)
  • there is a board which uses both SiS and EFAR labels: http://www.win3x.org/uh19/motherboard/show/6895
    (which has 2C4O3 in the POST string, basically identical to 2A4O3)

Maybe the EFAR 810 chip is used as a PCI bus translator ?

Reply 16 of 19, by Reystlin

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
computerguy08 wrote on 2021-07-12, 15:33:
I'll put it here as well, for good measure. 08/24/94-EFAR-EC802G/810-2A4O3D12-00 ver: P02.01.3 core: 4.50G […]
Show full quote

I'll put it here as well, for good measure.
08/24/94-EFAR-EC802G/810-2A4O3D12-00
ver: P02.01.3
core: 4.50G

Thanks you very much! 😀

Reply 17 of 19, by ph4nt0m

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
Reystlin wrote on 2021-07-11, 21:13:

Hello everyone. There is one. Working. Still relevant?

PS: Jumpers are under AMD-DX4-100

Can you upload a higher resolution photo, so I can actually see the jumpers? Thanks

My Active Sales on CPU-World

Reply 18 of 19, by ph4nt0m

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
computerguy08 wrote on 2021-07-12, 15:41:
By the way, I suspect this board has a SiS 471 chipset clone of some sorts (relabel), because: […]
Show full quote

By the way, I suspect this board has a SiS 471 chipset clone of some sorts (relabel), because:

  • 2A4O3D12-00 -> indicates a EFAR 802G + 100 combo (while this one has 802G + 810 + 100 instead)
  • there is a board which uses both SiS and EFAR labels: http://www.win3x.org/uh19/motherboard/show/6895
    (which has 2C4O3 in the POST string, basically identical to 2A4O3)

Maybe the EFAR 810 chip is used as a PCI bus translator ?

EC810PB is a PCI host bridge. I'm not aware of a SiS equivalent part. SiS 85C407 is some kind of a memory buffer needed for configurations with 3 or 4 32-bit SIMMs if I get it right. EFAR EC100G is a clone of OPTi 82C206 ISA controller.

My Active Sales on CPU-World