VOGONS


First post, by Jackhead

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

I searched on the web for a Jumper list or manual for this board. The MB Database dont have it in the list.
At the moment i have a DX40 installed and i want to switch to a DX2-66. I also have no idea where i have to connect the Power LED and Turbo SW Pin on the board.
There are pins for Reset switch, speaker, and Keylock. Can anyone help?
Here a picture of the board i found on the web.

IZox9eW.png
Filename
IZox9eW.png
File size
380.93 KiB
Views
644 views
File license
Public domain

There is a Turbo SW Header but with 5 pins and a jumper on it. My cable has 3 pins ?

IMG_0377[1].JPG
Filename
IMG_0377[1].JPG
File size
1.32 MiB
Views
639 views
File license
Public domain

Reply 3 of 19, by Tetrium

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++

I had a look at th99, but I was unable to find a perfect match.
It's possible your board is not exactly represented on th99 and some things may be different, like number of (ISA) slots or memory or cache slots, but that would take more time to look through and I got some errands to run atm.

If you decide to make any chances, do note the jumper settings you currently have in case you remain unable to figure out the jumper settings. Perhaps you will have to do some educated guesswork or perhaps someone happens to have a paper manual they can scan or something. Good luck 😜

Whats missing in your collections?
My retro rigs (old topic)
Interesting Vogons threads (links to Vogonswiki)
Report spammers here!

Reply 4 of 19, by Jackhead

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Im pretty sure
JP 18-22 (3pins) and JP24-28 (4pins) handle the CPU on my board.

IMG_0383[1].JPG
Filename
IMG_0383[1].JPG
File size
1.58 MiB
Views
593 views
File license
Public domain

Also the Turbo Switch header maybe the same as my from the postet link:

TURBO switch enabled J3 1-2
TURBO switch disabled J3 2-3
TURBO used for break switch J3 4-5

I have a jumper on J3 3-4 O-o and i have a 3 pin plug where i dont know to connect it.
Means break switch maybe the button and my 3 pin needs only 2 pins ?

Reply 5 of 19, by Paar

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

When there are no pins for Power LED just use Keylock pins. They give +5V and Ground which you need. Conserning turbo pins, it looks it's now permanently set to either Turbo On or Off. Take off the jumper and try to connect your turbo button. The orientation of the connector decides if Turbo On is set while the button is active or inactive. It possible that the first and last pin is there just for support for the connector.

As for the identification of the board - try to write BIOS ID string of the board here. Maybe that helps. Or dump it and upload it.

Reply 6 of 19, by evasive

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Yep for now no ID yet so a bios string would be most welcome.

Found it for sale but no ID yet:
https://www.shopgoodwill.com/Item/81924870
https://hardtechgroup.net/catalog/sis-471-mot … u0e0ab99ise0mh0
jheronimus has bought one on April 20 this year:
Re: Bought these (retro) hardware today
page 1674 it is described as "An unknown SIS471 VLB board without jumper description:"
https://imgur.com/V3ua5sK

Reply 10 of 19, by evasive

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Bingo. From my russian archives. Again.

So all we miss is a model but we know the make, picture, settings and bios ID string now.

Attachments

  • 271.gif
    Filename
    271.gif
    File size
    160.79 KiB
    Views
    513 views
    File license
    Public domain

Reply 11 of 19, by kuenzign

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
evasive wrote on 2020-05-29, 18:29:

Bingo. From my russian archives. Again.

So all we miss is a model but we know the make, picture, settings and bios ID string now.

I have this same mystery motherboard. Where did you find that image?

Reply 12 of 19, by computerguy08

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Found another one here: https://www.phantom.sannata.org/viewtopic.php?t=30421
Mentioned in Plasma Online as well, no model name: http://www.plasma-online.de/index.html?conten … ard/mb_mle.html

Also did a search through UH19, it appears that none of the Micro Leader Enterprises boards have been recorded in TH99.

A BIOS dump might reveal some hidden info, if you could read it (and post it here), that would be helpful.

Looking for a motherboard? You can find it in Ultimate Retro: https://www.ultimateretro.net/motherboards/search
Join our Discord server here: https://discord.gg/HWWH7hsk2p

Reply 13 of 19, by kuenzign

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
computerguy08 wrote on 2020-12-29, 09:44:
Found another one here: https://www.phantom.sannata.org/viewtopic.php?t=30421 Mentioned in Plasma Online as well, no model name: […]
Show full quote

Found another one here: https://www.phantom.sannata.org/viewtopic.php?t=30421
Mentioned in Plasma Online as well, no model name: http://www.plasma-online.de/index.html?conten … ard/mb_mle.html

Also did a search through UH19, it appears that none of the Micro Leader Enterprises boards have been recorded in TH99.

A BIOS dump might reveal some hidden info, if you could read it (and post it here), that would be helpful.

I am unable to get my motherboard to POST, so I cannot get the BIOS string like OP did, but I was able to dump the BIOS. I'm not sure what I am looking for in the BIOS, but perhaps you do?

Here is the link to my dump: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1y-dZ5k787YS0 … iew?usp=sharing

Reply 15 of 19, by evasive

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
kuenzign wrote on 2020-12-29, 06:10:
evasive wrote on 2020-05-29, 18:29:

Bingo. From my russian archives. Again.

So all we miss is a model but we know the make, picture, settings and bios ID string now.

I have this same mystery motherboard. Where did you find that image?

On the website of a russian reseller. 20 years ago.

I have some stuff online at elhvb.com but some still needs to be indexed and uploaded... That is where UH19 comes in. It is almost ideal to put the archived files into 😀

Reply 16 of 19, by evasive

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
computerguy08 wrote on 2020-12-29, 09:44:

Also did a search through UH19, it appears that none of the Micro Leader Enterprises boards have been recorded in TH99.

MLE was done and gone before stuff was downloaded I think

Reply 18 of 19, by kuenzign

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

That's great that you found those! One particular oddity though is that the layout and specs seem to match rev B like you stated, however my board and OP's board claims to be rev A?

Attachments

Reply 19 of 19, by evasive

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Maybe because they want to cause us headaches. It's possible the SIS471 Rev:B was used by another relabeler and SIS471 REV.A is the original MLE marking, who knows... I have added it to increase confusion 😁