VOGONS

First post, by Anilocin

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Hello,

I have a few early 2000s laptops and I am searching for hard drives on Ebay. I have found quite a lot of different 2.5 inch IDE hard drives from companies such as Toshiba, Samsung, Fujitsu, Seagate and WD.

I have been thinking of a IDE SSD, however they are ridiculously overpriced (80$ for 64gb !!!)

The hard drives are all similarly priced (around 10 to 20$) , however I'm not sure which hard drives are the most reliable considering these hard drives most likely over 5, if not 10 years old.

Does somebody know which manufacturers made reliable 2.5 inch IDE drives?

P.S. I'm new to Vogons and I'm not sure if this is the right place to ask this. If I should be posting this somewhere else instead, please tell me!

Medion MD 9783 2Ghz P4 Notebook w/ Win98SE/2K/XP Multiboot

694X 733Mhz P3 Build w/ Win98SE/XP Dualboot

Reply 1 of 23, by Intel486dx33

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

I always use IBM or HGST and Hitachi 72,000rpm , 2.5” IDE drives in old laptops.
They seem to work great. And have way better performance then the original hard drives and run quiet and cool.

Reply 2 of 23, by Doornkaat

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Personally I'd try my luck with an m.2-IDE adaptor in 2.5 inch form factor plus an m.2 SATA SSD instead of using old laptop HDDs that may have been knocked around a fair bit.

I know this doesn't answer your original question but since you mentioned only prices kept you away from 2.5 inch SSDs I hope this helps anyway.

Reply 3 of 23, by PTherapist

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Another option is an mSATA SSD. They're quite cheap, so long as you don't mind purchasing from China, with capacities starting from 32GB up to 2TB. You'd just need an mSATA to IDE 44-pin adapter and they should be small enough to fit into the HDD compartment of most laptops.