VOGONS


Reply 40 of 46, by Snookeroo

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

You guys won't believe my poor luck...

So you know how I got that MX400 with the bad caps on it? I contacted the guy I bought it from and he said he had another MX400 I could swap for, so I did. It looks like it's in great condition (pics attached) so I installed it and at first figured everything was good to go. But then I noticed something...

Ever since installing the new MX400 I get this strange rendering error. I get vertical lines of discoloured pixels, and also the same wacko pixels around the edge of moving objects. I know that it's nothing wrong with my monitor, because it shows up in screenshots (attached). I swapped around my nVidia drivers between a few different versions but the problem persisted each time. I swapped back to my old TNT2 M64 and the problem went away, so I must assume that it's the new MX400.

Off I go to eBay to find my third MX400 I suppose...

P.S. Switching to nVidia driver 7.76 bumped up my 3DMark 99Max score by about ~170 points on the MX400. Thanks for the tip!

Attachments

Reply 41 of 46, by RandomStranger

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

You probably should have kept the first one and recap it. This seems to be a more serious problem. If you are lucky it's something as trivial as broken solder joint which is generally an easy fix, but it could be damaged memory too.

sreq.png retrogamer-s.png

Reply 42 of 46, by Snookeroo

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Unfortunately I don't have any of the gear or time to learn how to replace the caps. The cards are only $30, so I reckon I'll just buy another one. Thanks for the tips though 😀

Reply 43 of 46, by Katmai500

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Since it sounds like you could use a bit more performance than a GF2 MX400 offers for a couple games you want to play, check out that big auction site for “04n857”. That’s the Dell part number for a nice passively cooled GF3 Ti 200 with VGA and DVI outputs. They sell for pretty reasonable prices ($25) and generally have good caps. Just check that the three along the right edge aren’t bulging.

Reply 44 of 46, by luk1999

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I would try to lower VRAM clock by 10 or 15 MHz first (you can use RivaTuner for that). Maybe it will help...
Back then in 2002 I had 2MX 400 with V-Data memory and raising their clock by just 5 MHz caused artifacts...

Pentium 4 2400 + ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe + 2 GB RAM + GF FX5700 128 MB AGP + SB Audigy + Chieftec GPS-400AA-101A + Win XP SP2
Duron 1000 + Soltek SL-75DRV4 + 256 MB RAM + Voodoo 3 2000 16 MB AGP + FM801 + FSP 400-60PFN + Win 98SE

Reply 45 of 46, by Gmlb256

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
luk1999 wrote on 2021-08-22, 16:57:

I would try to lower VRAM clock by 10 or 15 MHz first (you can use RivaTuner for that). Maybe it will help...
Back then in 2002 I had 2MX 400 with V-Data memory and raising their clock by just 5 MHz caused artifacts...

This reminds of an issue I had with text mode on a GF4 MX440 card which occasionally glitched unless I downclocked the memory clock. It has a higher memory clock by default which is not typical for that card.