VOGONS


Matrox VLB?

Topic actions

Reply 20 of 30, by dionb

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
zapbuzz wrote on 2021-11-16, 22:48:

[...]

I mentioned prior that i don't like cirrus but i like EISA cards more for video than VLB

Not clearly enough for me to get it...

In any event, please elaborate how EISA cards work better according to you - the numbers don't exactly speak in favour of that opinion.

Reply 21 of 30, by Claris

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Back on topic for a second:

Went back to RE PC to pickup the Matrox and a few extras. Looks like the lowered the price down to $20.

IMG_20211116_161038.jpg
Filename
IMG_20211116_161038.jpg
File size
1.82 MiB
Views
275 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

I didn't realize till i was back at the BFs house, apperently there is a small strip on one of the gold connector fingers that was chipped off. Its fine on the other side and the rest of the connectors look allright. I assuming aslong as half the gold bit is there, it can still make connection?

IMG_20211116_160923.jpg
Filename
IMG_20211116_160923.jpg
File size
1.88 MiB
Views
275 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

(Zoom in for a better look)

When i get back home on thursday, il pop it in my DX2/80 rig and give it the old benchmark treatment for the fun of it.

Reply 22 of 30, by TheMobRules

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Claris wrote on 2021-11-17, 00:14:

I didn't realize till i was back at the BFs house, apperently there is a small strip on one of the gold connector fingers that was chipped off. Its fine on the other side and the rest of the connectors look allright. I assuming aslong as half the gold bit is there, it can still make connection?

Is there even a trace going out of that contact? I cannot tell due to the quality of that pic, but unfortunately there seems to be a short trace that goes to a nearby via.

In any case, I think what's left of the contact should be enough to make a connection with the slot.

Reply 23 of 30, by cyclone3d

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
Claris wrote on 2021-11-15, 21:48:
TheMobRules wrote on 2021-11-15, 21:42:
maxtherabbit wrote on 2021-11-15, 15:59:

it seems to be best in class in the metric of longness

That's enough to warrant an "Ultra Vintage!!1! Rare retro gaming card!!" label on eBay and the 3 digit price that goes alongside it. Experiencing "slideshow Doom" in your new 486 is worth every penny 😉

$40 at RE PC? More like...$400 once i take it home and flip it on Ebay. Another retro computer saved! Booyah!

*No jk, I would never do that. Im not that evil. I love all retro pc parts i bring home and let them retire in peace in my gameroom for aslong as they want*

You have a PM.

Yamaha YMF modified setupds and drivers
Yamaha XG resource repository - updated November 27, 2018
Yamaha YMF7x4 Guide
AW744L II - YMF744 - AOpen Cobra Sound Card - Install SB-Link Header

Reply 24 of 30, by zapbuzz

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
dionb wrote on 2021-11-16, 22:52:
zapbuzz wrote on 2021-11-16, 22:48:

[...]

I mentioned prior that i don't like cirrus but i like EISA cards more for video than VLB

Not clearly enough for me to get it...

In any event, please elaborate how EISA cards work better according to you - the numbers don't exactly speak in favour of that opinion.

ok EISA isn't the size of a mothership and doesnt have both 32bit and 16bit (or 8bit) lengh bus on the same card.
How EISA handles video is much neater because its not 2 different bus bit lengths.
EISA works better than VLB systems where the VLB is used for comms as well as video; usually found together on a stock VLB system prior to built in I/O motherboards.
Using IDE on VLB with video shares resources.
So being preferable to not changing IRQ/Resource stuff manually and experiencing disk issues I use a EISA video card and VLB IDE simply to balance performance.
My last VLB system has dual IDE VLB and a trident EISA GPU with 1024mb rVRAM. I was running windows 95 1st edition and also using dos.
I tried it with cirrus logic VLB that also had 1mb ram I found myself manually manipulating resources trying to get the thing seemingly unpegged whilst running 2 x 255.9mb WD caviar on primary and a quad cdrom on secondary.
Starfield screensaver would get slower every time disk i/o was engaged it was annoying.
This scenario i pointed out to several friends in the 90's they changed their configs and thanked me. Most note worthy was the removal of this VLB cirrus card ended system file corruption of several files that were occuring in the windows system directory which as i say was most likely due to VLB issues.
I breifly borrowed a trident VLB with 2mb ram it also had issues sharing VLB.
Who knows, if there was ever a bios patch or whatever for that old thing I wouldn't had a chance to use it as internet wasn't even popular in 1996 it was easy to access for me in 1998 when it was already gone.
I appologise about this i don't want to spoil things for people.

Reply 25 of 30, by Claris

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
cyclone3d wrote on 2021-11-17, 00:44:
Claris wrote on 2021-11-15, 21:48:
TheMobRules wrote on 2021-11-15, 21:42:

That's enough to warrant an "Ultra Vintage!!1! Rare retro gaming card!!" label on eBay and the 3 digit price that goes alongside it. Experiencing "slideshow Doom" in your new 486 is worth every penny 😉

$40 at RE PC? More like...$400 once i take it home and flip it on Ebay. Another retro computer saved! Booyah!

*No jk, I would never do that. Im not that evil. I love all retro pc parts i bring home and let them retire in peace in my gameroom for aslong as they want*

You have a PM.

Read! Will get back to ya here soon.

Speaking of motherships from the discussion above. RE PC Tukwila had a honkin' chonker of a 386 motherboard on their mobo rack. Two of them. They where like $100 each.

Idk who needs a 386 motherboard that big. I don't even know if they where regular AT. They looked bigger then any motherboard trays in any of my AT cases.

Reply 26 of 30, by Claris

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Update on the card now that im home. It might just be fubar.

No signal to the monitor. Granted there are a bunch of switches on the back that I have no idea what do. Couldn't find a manual. Perhaps that small missing chunk did her in 🙁

IMG_20211118_181653.jpg
Filename
IMG_20211118_181653.jpg
File size
1.24 MiB
Views
195 views
File license
CC-BY-4.0
IMG_20211118_181704.jpg
Filename
IMG_20211118_181704.jpg
File size
1.32 MiB
Views
195 views
File license
CC-BY-4.0

Reply 27 of 30, by Anonymous Coward

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

http://www.uncreativelabs.de/th99/v/M-O/50045.htm
Although this is not exactly your card, the switch settings might be the same or similar. I would start with SW4. It should be in the off position.

"Will the highways on the internets become more few?" -Gee Dubya
V'Ger XT|Upgraded AT|Ultimate 386|Super VL/EISA 486|SMP VL/EISA Pentium

Reply 28 of 30, by PC Hoarder Patrol

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Claris wrote on 2021-11-19, 01:20:
Update on the card now that im home. It might just be fubar. […]
Show full quote

Update on the card now that im home. It might just be fubar.

No signal to the monitor. Granted there are a bunch of switches on the back that I have no idea what do. Couldn't find a manual. Perhaps that small missing chunk did her in 🙁

IMG_20211118_181653.jpg
IMG_20211118_181704.jpg

This is (DIP switch settings) from the old MURC forum - http://www.murc.ws/showthread.php?22578-I-nee … rox-ultima-card

Reply 30 of 30, by Unknown_K

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

I have that card. It is for high end 24 bit graphics on Windows 3.1 and maybe NT 3.5x.

Collector of old computers, hardware, and software