VOGONS


Asus p5a cache upgrade!

Topic actions

First post, by Sphere478

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

I have two of these boards, a 1.04 and a 1.06

I would like to upgrade the cache in them

What chips do I need for the 1.06?

Which chips do I need for the 1.04?

And is 2mb (or more) possible if I get the right tag chip?

1.06:

image.jpg
Filename
image.jpg
File size
1.69 MiB
Views
1176 views
File license
Public domain

1.04:

image.jpg
Filename
image.jpg
File size
1.7 MiB
Views
1176 views
File license
Public domain
Last edited by Sphere478 on 2021-12-29, 10:08. Edited 1 time in total.

Sphere's PCB projects.
-
Sphere’s socket 5/7 cpu collection.
-
SUCCESSFUL K6-2+ to K6-3+ Full Cache Enable Mod
-
Tyan S1564S to S1564D single to dual processor conversion (also s1563 and s1562)

Reply 1 of 49, by Sphere478

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Re: AMD K6 3DMARK, aiming for stars.

Would these work on both boards? 🤔

LP61 64128F-4

I can’t seem to find them for sale anywhere

Sphere's PCB projects.
-
Sphere’s socket 5/7 cpu collection.
-
SUCCESSFUL K6-2+ to K6-3+ Full Cache Enable Mod
-
Tyan S1564S to S1564D single to dual processor conversion (also s1563 and s1562)

Reply 2 of 49, by majestyk

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

I ordered some of those earlier this year to upgrade the caches on my DFI K6BV3+/66 mainboards from 1MB to 2MB.

1mb_elitemt.JPG
Filename
1mb_elitemt.JPG
File size
179.78 KiB
Views
1076 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

They should work on the ASUS P5A as well. And they are even faster than the original 512K chips.

Reply 3 of 49, by Sphere478

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
majestyk wrote on 2021-12-28, 08:34:

I ordered some of those earlier this year to upgrade the caches on my DFI K6BV3+/66 mainboards from 1MB to 2MB.

1mb_elitemt.JPG

They should work on the ASUS P5A as well. And they are even faster than the original 512K chips.

Where did you get them?

What about upgrading the tag ram?

Are those 1024kb each?

Sphere's PCB projects.
-
Sphere’s socket 5/7 cpu collection.
-
SUCCESSFUL K6-2+ to K6-3+ Full Cache Enable Mod
-
Tyan S1564S to S1564D single to dual processor conversion (also s1563 and s1562)

Reply 4 of 49, by majestyk

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Some Ebay seller in China had them for sale at the time.
Yep, they´re 1024 KB each. -> 64K x 128 /8 = 1024K

TAG RAM usually runs at a lower speed so 8nS are fast enough for the P5A 1.04 in the picture.
Does anybody know how fast the on-chip TAG RAM in the ALI-Northbridge M1541 Rev. "G" can go??

If you would upgrade the 1.04 revision to 1MB - as far as I remember - the onboard TAG-RAM chip would not be sufficient since the on-chip TAG-RAM of the "E" revision northbridge was deactivated due to some bugs of the chip design. So this upgrade would probably be quite useless.

Reply 5 of 49, by Sphere478

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Found the clock gen fsb hidden settings for the p5a btw

03209208-D00D-4D0D-98DA-0653F6CEA419.jpeg
Filename
03209208-D00D-4D0D-98DA-0653F6CEA419.jpeg
File size
112.96 KiB
Views
1022 views
File license
Public domain
majestyk wrote on 2021-12-28, 08:46:
Some Ebay seller in China had them for sale at the time. Yep, they´re 1024 KB each. -> 64K x 128 /8 = 1024K […]
Show full quote

Some Ebay seller in China had them for sale at the time.
Yep, they´re 1024 KB each. -> 64K x 128 /8 = 1024K

TAG RAM usually runs at a lower speed so 8nS are fast enough for the P5A 1.04 in the picture.
Does anybody know how fast the on-chip TAG RAM in the ALI-Northbridge M1541 Rev. "G" can go??

If you would upgrade the 1.04 revision to 1MB - as far as I remember - the onboard TAG-RAM chip would not be sufficient since the on-chip TAG-RAM of the "E" revision northbridge was deactivated due to some bugs of the chip design. So this upgrade would probably be quite useless.

Can I upgrade the tag chip to more bits?

Sphere's PCB projects.
-
Sphere’s socket 5/7 cpu collection.
-
SUCCESSFUL K6-2+ to K6-3+ Full Cache Enable Mod
-
Tyan S1564S to S1564D single to dual processor conversion (also s1563 and s1562)

Reply 6 of 49, by Lotosdrache

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Sphere478 wrote on 2021-12-27, 07:00:
I have two of these boards, a 1.04 and a 1.06 […]
Show full quote

I have two of these boards, a 1.04 and a 1.06

I would like to use the 1.06 more often but I keep preferring the 1.04 because it has 1mb cache.

What chips do I need for the 1.06?

How much of the 1.04 can I use as reference? And is 2mb (or more) possible if I get the right tag chip?

1.06:image.jpg

1.04:image.jpg

I have never read that 2 MiB L2 cache are possible on Aladdin V and I think it's useless. 1 MiB + external TAG + internal TAG gives you a cacheable area of 4 GiB. There is no motherboard that can be equipped with such an huge RAM capacity.

You need these chips and some resistors:

EliteMT 1 MiB Cache und 8-bit Tag RAM.JPG
Filename
EliteMT 1 MiB Cache und 8-bit Tag RAM.JPG
File size
130.54 KiB
Views
1008 views
File license
Public domain

I ordered them from a supplier in Hong Kong directly last year.
I used them here for my Jetway 542C. I will post an updated electrical diagram soon.

Your Rev 1.04 board has also only 512 kiB L2 cache.
Do you have a flatbed scanner? Would you make a high resolution scan of your P5A Rev 1.04 and 1.06? You can use mainboard spacers to position it on the scanner.

Sphere478 wrote on 2021-12-28, 09:24:

Can I upgrade the tag chip to more bits?

I don't think so. When you take a look at may DFI K6XV3+/66, you see it has 2 MiB L2 cache and a 10bit TagRAM. The Tag has 32 pins whereas your board offers only 28 pads for soldering of a TagRAM.

Reply 7 of 49, by Sphere478

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
Lotosdrache wrote on 2021-12-28, 11:01:
I have never read that 2 MiB L2 cache are possible on Aladdin V and I think it's useless. 1 MiB + external TAG + internal TAG gi […]
Show full quote
Sphere478 wrote on 2021-12-27, 07:00:
I have two of these boards, a 1.04 and a 1.06 […]
Show full quote

I have two of these boards, a 1.04 and a 1.06

I would like to use the 1.06 more often but I keep preferring the 1.04 because it has 1mb cache.

What chips do I need for the 1.06?

How much of the 1.04 can I use as reference? And is 2mb (or more) possible if I get the right tag chip?

1.06:image.jpg

1.04:image.jpg

I have never read that 2 MiB L2 cache are possible on Aladdin V and I think it's useless. 1 MiB + external TAG + internal TAG gives you a cacheable area of 4 GiB. There is no motherboard that can be equipped with such an huge RAM capacity.

You need these chips and some resistors:
EliteMT 1 MiB Cache und 8-bit Tag RAM.JPG
I ordered them from a supplier in Hong Kong directly last year.
I used them here for my Jetway 542C. I will post an updated electrical diagram soon.

Your Rev 1.04 board has also only 512 kiB L2 cache.
Do you have a flatbed scanner? Would you make a high resolution scan of your P5A Rev 1.04 and 1.06? You can use mainboard spacers to position it on the scanner.

Sphere478 wrote on 2021-12-28, 09:24:

Can I upgrade the tag chip to more bits?

I don't think so. When you take a look at may DFI K6XV3+/66, you see it has 2 MiB L2 cache and a 10bit TagRAM. The Tag has 32 pins whereas your board offers only 28 pads for soldering of a TagRAM.

I don’t have a scanner.

Sweet! So those are the part numbers of the best chips that will fit this board (in the pic)?

What areas do you want to see? I can take good pics of them or the whole board from afar. My phone is high res so you can see whatever you want probably in the pics

Crap, hold up, edit:
You know what,

On this board it skipps past the screen where you see the cache size so quick and I was distracted trying to figure out the stability issues, memtest doesn’t show l3 size and whenever I started cpu-z I was overclocked with cache disabled that I guess I just assumed that having a tag chip and meant that it had 1024k but I was wrong. I’m sorry, both of these boards are actually 512k

Ugh, 🤣

Well, mark that down as even more motivation

Sphere's PCB projects.
-
Sphere’s socket 5/7 cpu collection.
-
SUCCESSFUL K6-2+ to K6-3+ Full Cache Enable Mod
-
Tyan S1564S to S1564D single to dual processor conversion (also s1563 and s1562)

Reply 8 of 49, by Sphere478

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

High res 1.06

1.04 will have to wait till it’s no longer in use.

Attachments

  • image.jpg
    Filename
    image.jpg
    File size
    1.67 MiB
    Views
    848 views
    File license
    Public domain
  • image.jpg
    Filename
    image.jpg
    File size
    1.99 MiB
    Views
    978 views
    File license
    Public domain
  • image.jpg
    Filename
    image.jpg
    File size
    1.76 MiB
    Views
    978 views
    File license
    Public domain
  • image.jpg
    Filename
    image.jpg
    File size
    1.77 MiB
    Views
    979 views
    File license
    Public domain
  • image.jpg
    Filename
    image.jpg
    File size
    1.88 MiB
    Views
    979 views
    File license
    Public domain
Last edited by Sphere478 on 2021-12-29, 03:50. Edited 1 time in total.

Sphere's PCB projects.
-
Sphere’s socket 5/7 cpu collection.
-
SUCCESSFUL K6-2+ to K6-3+ Full Cache Enable Mod
-
Tyan S1564S to S1564D single to dual processor conversion (also s1563 and s1562)

Reply 9 of 49, by Sphere478

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Final 1.06 pic

Attachments

  • image.jpg
    Filename
    image.jpg
    File size
    1.72 MiB
    Views
    977 views
    File license
    Public domain

Sphere's PCB projects.
-
Sphere’s socket 5/7 cpu collection.
-
SUCCESSFUL K6-2+ to K6-3+ Full Cache Enable Mod
-
Tyan S1564S to S1564D single to dual processor conversion (also s1563 and s1562)

Reply 10 of 49, by Lotosdrache

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Sphere478 wrote on 2021-12-27, 07:00:

How much of the 1.04 can I use as reference?

Looking at your pictures I would conclude without any warranty and at your own risk:
In order to connect the Tag to 3.3V you can use R35 and C50 as reference.
For 1 MiB L2 cache move resistor at R34 to position R33. For 512 kiB L2 leave it at R34.

P5A106.jpg
Filename
P5A106.jpg
File size
1.93 MiB
Views
950 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

It would be nice to have exact values for these (cannot read it from your pictures):
Resistors: resistor [Ohm] and power loss [mW]
Capacitors: capacitance [F] and maximum voltage [V]

I don't know if there are additional breaks in address line A19 as I found on GA-5AX and 542C (see my own thread). That's why I asked for an electrical diagram of such a board in my own thread. Maybe you can make one for your 512 kiB board. This would it make easier for @luckybob finding the soldering joints we need.

Holy shit!
What's that on the backside of your cpu socket?

Reply 11 of 49, by Sphere478

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
Lotosdrache wrote on 2021-12-28, 13:27:
Looking at your pictures I would conclude without any warranty and at your own risk: In order to connect the Tag to 3.3V you can […]
Show full quote
Sphere478 wrote on 2021-12-27, 07:00:

How much of the 1.04 can I use as reference?

Looking at your pictures I would conclude without any warranty and at your own risk:
In order to connect the Tag to 3.3V you can use R35 and C50 as reference.
For 1 MiB L2 cache move resistor at R34 to position R33. For 512 kiB L2 leave it at R34.
P5A106.jpg
It would be nice to have exact values for these (cannot read it from your pictures):
Resistors: resistor [Ohm] and power loss [mW]
Capacitors: capacitance [F] and maximum voltage [V]

I don't know if there are additional breaks in address line A19 as I found on GA-5AX and 542C (see my own thread). That's why I asked for an electrical diagram of such a board in my own thread. Maybe you can make one for your 512 kiB board. This would it make easier for @luckybob finding the soldering joints we need.

Holy shit!
What's that on the backside of your cpu socket?

I have a fluke. Want me to measure some of the SMD components?

Hahhah! That’s my WT/WB mod. I can pull it up/down or remove mod entirely with three option jumper.

Sphere's PCB projects.
-
Sphere’s socket 5/7 cpu collection.
-
SUCCESSFUL K6-2+ to K6-3+ Full Cache Enable Mod
-
Tyan S1564S to S1564D single to dual processor conversion (also s1563 and s1562)

Reply 12 of 49, by Sphere478

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Okay here is the high res for the 1.04

Attachments

  • image.jpg
    Filename
    image.jpg
    File size
    1.99 MiB
    Views
    877 views
    File license
    Public domain
  • image.jpg
    Filename
    image.jpg
    File size
    1.86 MiB
    Views
    877 views
    File license
    Public domain
  • image.jpg
    Filename
    image.jpg
    File size
    1.93 MiB
    Views
    882 views
    File license
    Public domain
  • image.jpg
    Filename
    image.jpg
    File size
    1.99 MiB
    Views
    882 views
    File license
    Public domain
  • image.jpg
    Filename
    image.jpg
    File size
    1.87 MiB
    Views
    882 views
    File license
    Public domain

Sphere's PCB projects.
-
Sphere’s socket 5/7 cpu collection.
-
SUCCESSFUL K6-2+ to K6-3+ Full Cache Enable Mod
-
Tyan S1564S to S1564D single to dual processor conversion (also s1563 and s1562)

Reply 13 of 49, by Sphere478

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Final 1.04

Attachments

  • image.jpg
    Filename
    image.jpg
    File size
    1.91 MiB
    Views
    876 views
    File license
    Public domain

Sphere's PCB projects.
-
Sphere’s socket 5/7 cpu collection.
-
SUCCESSFUL K6-2+ to K6-3+ Full Cache Enable Mod
-
Tyan S1564S to S1564D single to dual processor conversion (also s1563 and s1562)

Reply 14 of 49, by Sphere478

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

As you can guess I’ve swapped boards.

I really gotta say, this 1.06 board really sucks…

On the 1.04 I can get the k63+ stable at 600 120mhz fsb but on the 1.06 not so much. The 2.0v option won’t even post the system. I have to do 2.1v I have the bus at 100 and cpu at 500 and am starting the debugging process. Seems stable atm

Then there is the mod that you have to do to make + cpus work.. ugh 🤣

Might switch back to my 1.04 if I can’t debug these issues this time around

Sphere's PCB projects.
-
Sphere’s socket 5/7 cpu collection.
-
SUCCESSFUL K6-2+ to K6-3+ Full Cache Enable Mod
-
Tyan S1564S to S1564D single to dual processor conversion (also s1563 and s1562)

Reply 15 of 49, by fool

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Yes, that 2.0V jumpering is totally wrong and wont work. Look for the regulator datasheet and know why. Some modifocations are needed to go 2.0 and below.

Toshiba T8500 desktop
SAM/CS9233 Wavetable Synthesizer daughterboard
Coming: 40-pin 8MB SIMM kit, CS4232 ISA wavetable sound card

Reply 16 of 49, by majestyk

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Indeed - they replaced the driver circuit for the core-voltage regulator in revision 1.06.

They also used different brands of electrolytics - some boards have Rubycon and Sanyo caps only, some seem to have less reliable brands.

Reply 17 of 49, by Sphere478

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
majestyk wrote on 2021-12-29, 09:24:

Indeed - they replaced the driver circuit for the core-voltage regulator in revision 1.06.

They also used different brands of electrolytics - some boards have Rubycon and Sanyo caps only, some seem to have less reliable brands.

I’ve basically given up on the 1.06 there is something wrong with it that causes it to randomly reboot every so often almost like someone bumped the power cord it really likes doing it when I raise the core clock.

I kinda think something is messed up in the vrm.

Good or rather sad to know that the core voltage thing is normal….🤦‍♂️🙄

Something else is definitely up with this though.

The mod works though… I even got it to go through an entire 3dm 2000 and score 1600? Was it. I can’t recall which gfx card I used. It was either a gf5500 or a r9000

Open to ideas.

Sphere's PCB projects.
-
Sphere’s socket 5/7 cpu collection.
-
SUCCESSFUL K6-2+ to K6-3+ Full Cache Enable Mod
-
Tyan S1564S to S1564D single to dual processor conversion (also s1563 and s1562)

Reply 18 of 49, by Sphere478

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Got some deets:

Anonymous wrote on 2021-12-28, 13:27:
You can contact Icicle Chen Depu Electronics Co., Ltd Obsolete & Hard to Find Electronic Component Distributor Web:www.depu.hk.c […]
Show full quote

You can contact
Icicle Chen
Depu Electronics Co., Ltd
Obsolete & Hard to Find Electronic Component Distributor
Web:www.depu.hk.cn
Email:icicle@depu.hk.cn
Tel:(0086)755-83741448 ext:8013
Skype live:sales05_1410
or
Alex
alexd@express-elect.com
Express Electronics
Asked for these chips:
EliteMT LP61L64128F-4
EliteMT LP61256GS-8

Sphere's PCB projects.
-
Sphere’s socket 5/7 cpu collection.
-
SUCCESSFUL K6-2+ to K6-3+ Full Cache Enable Mod
-
Tyan S1564S to S1564D single to dual processor conversion (also s1563 and s1562)

Reply 19 of 49, by Lotosdrache

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

And now you know why I'm so happy when looking at my GA-5AX Rev. 5.2 and said that I never had tough luck in finding a P5A for an acceptable price. 😉

Why?
1st. My GA-5AX has Rev H of Aladdin V chipset. So it supports internal TagRAM.
2nd. Gigabyte designed it very well so it supports K6-III+ and K6-2+ cpus without any performance loss and without the need of any hardware modifications. They even published an adapted BIOS.
3rd. Power supply seems to be very good. I could even run a Fire GL 8800 (=Radeon 8500) on it.

There is no P5A that combines these features.

Tom's Hardware once found it to be slow. However, adjust memory timings according to P5A settings and you get some extra speed!