VOGONS


First post, by wsy2220

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

TLDR. Replace the 2SD1802 transistor near the cpu slot with a N-Channel MOSFET.

photo1666612941.jpeg
Filename
photo1666612941.jpeg
File size
175.5 KiB
Views
1611 views
File license
Public domain

I recently built a 1Ghz coppermine machine with P2B v1.10 motherboard. The motherboard has an HIP6019BCB controller so it can supply the 1.75v volage needed by coppermine. I use a '370 CPU CARD REV 3.2' adapter to install the cpu. Since P2Bs are relatively cheap in my area, I aquired 3 of them.

It worked flawlessly until I tried to ran memtest86+ to test a pair of new memory modules. Everytime it enters modulo 20 test (#9 in 6.00, #10 in 5.x), the system freezes in a few seconds. Sometimes it can run for a few minutes but that's rare.

When it freezes, the symptoms are very strange. First the display goes blank, then the cooling fans spin down. Less than a second later, the screen comes back with garbed text, and the fans spin up again.

I tried a bunch of things to pinpoint the problem.

To check if memtest86+ is writing to unwanted memory address like video ram or bios area, I tried to limit the target address range like 32M-64M. It still freezes. However I noticed that if I choose a smaller area like 32M-36M, the screen goes blank and never comes back, and the fans are stopped. Even the reset button doesn't work. A power cycle is needed to boot it again.

To check if the memory modules are defective, I switched to a 500MHz Katmai to ran the test again. It survived a whole night of complete memtest86+ runs. This narrowed down the problem quite a bit:

  • Memtest86+ is indeed working without writing to unwated addresses.
  • My memory modules and chipset are not defective. Since my Katami and Coppermine both run at 100MHz base frequncy, and memtest86+ showed exactly the same memory benchmark numbers, Katami is enough to saturate the memory bus and coppermine can't put extra pressure on the chipset or memory.

To check if the coopermine cpu is defective, I replaced it with another 1Ghz coppermine and still got the freeze. I also ran Prime95 under Linux to confirm the cpu is stable under extreme load.

So it has to be the motherboard, or the slotket. Though at that time I didn't realize the possibilty of slotket issue, just assumed it's the motherboard's problem. I switched to another P2B and got the same freeze. Both boards have no visually bad caps. I also measured cpu Vcc with a oscilloscope. The voltage is stable and the ripple is pretty good. So there must be a flaw in the motherboard's design.

But I had no clue where to find it. Here I realized I haven't try to search for this problem. I googled 'p2b memtest', the first result is an old usenet thread about exactly the same issue.

In that thread someone mentioned about the 'Photoshop bug'. I looked into it. It looked very similar to my problem. According to the decription of the fixes, It is caused by lacking filtering caps between Vtt and ground. I hooked up my oscilloscope to the Vtt line to verify. Indeed when modulo20 is running, Vtt frequently goes from 1.5V to 1.3V. I tried to add some capacitors between Vtt and ground according to the recommended fix but it didn't work. At least I had narrowed down the problem to Vtt power supply.

Someone in the usenet thread mentioned HIP6019 has a fault pin. I looked into the datasheet, the fault pin will go high when over-current protection is tripped 3 times in a row. Only power-cyle the chip can restore its operation. I measured the fault pin after I triggerred the unresttable freeze, it's indeed high.

So the picture is clear now, coppermine triggered Vtt overcurrent protection of HIP6019BCB under heavy load. I found Intel's Pentium III Processor Power Distribution Guidelines. Vtt current can go up to 5.38A.

2022-10-24-195123_1410x530_scrot.png
Filename
2022-10-24-195123_1410x530_scrot.png
File size
50.25 KiB
Views
1611 views
File license
Public domain

I noticed something intresting in the HIP6019BCB datasheet. In the reference design, 1.5V linear controller output GATE3 is connected to a MOSFET HUF75307D3S. I traced the pins on my P2B, GATE3 is connected to a 2SB1202 Bipolar junction transistor(BJT). The difference btween BJT and MOSFET is that BJT is a current driven device, higher emitter current requires higher base current. If GATE3 can't drive enough current through the BJT, the output voltage will go down and trigger over-current protection. While MOSFET only needs enough voltage on the gate, with a very low current requirement.

2022-10-24-223543_1538x1599_scrot.png
Filename
2022-10-24-223543_1538x1599_scrot.png
File size
240.13 KiB
Views
1554 views
File license
Public domain

Then I realized my third P2B has a US3007CW, maybe it can drive more current to the BJT. I tested again and it passed modulo20 test without a issue. The Vtt voltage is stable at 1.5V without hiccups. According to the datasheet, US3007CW can drive 50mA current through GATE3. HIP6019BCB datasheet doesn't provide this value, but I found HIP6020A which has a drive current of only 40mA. This is consistent with my speculation. According to 2SD1802 datasheet, the collector current can only reach 3.5A when base current is 40mA, much lower than requred 5.38A.

So I ordered some IRFR1205 MOSFETs in TO252 package and replaced the BJT with it. It survived a whole night of modulo 20 test. Mystery solved after 18 years!

Here are some tips if you want to do the same modification:

  • Desoldering power transistors isn't easy, I watched a video to learn how to do it. I also cut the legs first to lower the difficulty.
  • The Rds rating of the MOSFET is not important. When used in a linear power supply, they generate the same amount of heat. But you may need the same threashold voltage of 2-4V as the reference HUF75307D3S.

Someone in that usenet thread also suspected the hardware monitor chip AS97127F(W83781D clone). This can be ruled out now. The fan spin down because another BJT to supply fan voltage near the monitor chip lost base current when the over-current protection is trippled. I also found in the kernel document someone mentioned fan stop under heavy load and blamed the asus chip 😀

I'm just a software dev with no formal training in electronics. So please correct me if I made any mistake. I've learned a lot in this journey.

Edit: 2SB1202->2SD1802

Last edited by wsy2220 on 2022-10-25, 03:49. Edited 3 times in total.

Reply 1 of 19, by weedeewee

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Nicely done troubleshooting !

Good work !

Right to repair is fundamental. You own it, you're allowed to fix it.
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
Do not ask Why !
https://www.vogonswiki.com/index.php/Serial_port

Reply 2 of 19, by mockingbird

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Wow, amazing!

I have a P2B 1.02 with the HIP6019CB (which I plan to swap with the HIP6019BCB as soon as it arrives).

My board has the 2SD1760 in that area, does the fix apply?

Thanks

Filename
2SD1760-InchangeSemiconductor.pdf
File size
227.86 KiB
Downloads
40 downloads
File license
Public domain

mslrlv.png
(Decommissioned:)
7ivtic.png

Reply 3 of 19, by wsy2220

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
mockingbird wrote on 2022-10-24, 13:33:
Wow, amazing! […]
Show full quote

Wow, amazing!

I have a P2B 1.02 with the HIP6019CB (which I plan to swap with the HIP6019BCB as soon as it arrives).

My board has the 2SD1760 in that area, does the fix apply?

Thanks

2SD1760-InchangeSemiconductor.pdf

That's very similar to 2SB1202, so the fix should apply. Though you should run memtest86+ first and check if GATE3 of HIP6019 is connected to the base leg of the transistor, which should be the rightmost one in my picture.

Reply 4 of 19, by mockingbird

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
wsy2220 wrote on 2022-10-24, 14:08:

That's very similar to 2SB1202, so the fix should apply. Though you should run memtest86+ first and check if GATE3 of HIP6019 is connected to the base leg of the transistor, which should be the rightmost one in my picture.

Thanks... I confirm, GATE3 is indeed connected to that pin. I'm tempted to replicate your testing environment before by HIP6019BCB arrives, even if I am slightly overvolting my Coppermine. I also have an Abit Slotket 3, but that might negate the test results since it has its own voltage regulator.

Which precise version/build of memtest86+ are you using please?

mslrlv.png
(Decommissioned:)
7ivtic.png

Reply 5 of 19, by wsy2220

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
mockingbird wrote on 2022-10-24, 14:49:
wsy2220 wrote on 2022-10-24, 14:08:

That's very similar to 2SB1202, so the fix should apply. Though you should run memtest86+ first and check if GATE3 of HIP6019 is connected to the base leg of the transistor, which should be the rightmost one in my picture.

Thanks... I confirm, GATE3 is indeed connected to that pin. I'm tempted to replicate your testing environment before by HIP6019BCB arrives, even if I am slightly overvolting my Coppermine. I also have an Abit Slotket 3, but that might negate the test results since it has its own voltage regulator.

Which precise version/build of memtest86+ are you using please?

I tried v5.01 and v6.00 Beta3. You can download them here.

I ran v6.00 Beta3 most of the time and built it from source to boot it using GRUB so I can dual boot linux. You can use the 32bit iso as a raw disk image and write it to an HDD or CF card and boot into it directly. The official iso behaves exactly the same as my source build. I just tested them on my modified and unmodified board.

Reply 6 of 19, by rasz_pl

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
wsy2220 wrote on 2022-10-24, 12:21:

value, but I found HIP6020A which has a drive current of only 40mA. This is consistent with my speculation. According to 2SB1202 datasheet, the collector current can only reach 3.5A when base current is 40mA, much lower than requred 5.38A.

https://eu.mouser.com/datasheet/2/308/2SB1202_D-1801446.pdf
Collector to Emitter Voltage is 1.5V. I see more like 2.5A at 40mA, just like mockingbird P2B 1.02 2SD1760 https://pl-1.org/getproductfile.axd?id=8364&f … ame=2SD1760.pdf

ASUS_Motherboard_P2B_1.10 boardview lists Q8 as RFD3055S on the diagram, sadly BOM file is cut off/missing for 1.10.
ASUS_Motherboard_P2B_1.12 diagram Q8 is the same RFD3055S, but BOM file is present and there Q8 is 2SD1802T-TL
https://eu.mouser.com/datasheet/2/308/2SB1202_D-1801446.pdf does 3.5A at 40mA.

Same HIP6019BCB-T in both designs. There are 4 caps on 1.5V line:

C87 0.1UF/25V (0603)
CT2 10UF/16V Tantalum
CE2A - bom lacks electrolytic caps, most likely the file provided is for SMD machine. Thankfuly 1.10 bundle included test measurement report listing this cap as 100.00uF

The only visible difference between the two is fourth capacitor near the socket.
1.10 CB18. Again BOM missing but test measurement report file lists CB18 1.000uF, and diagram provides 0603 size.
1.12 C94A 1UF/16V (0805).

So according to manufacturing files the only thing that changed between those two boards is insignificant size of one SMD cap and perhaps 2SD1802. Do Coppermine slotkets provide their own additional 1.5V bypassing? or even own Vtt supply? Mine are burried deep under pile of stuff now so cant check 🙁

... and my internert died so I went for a dig 😀

A-Trend KIT370. FSB/Vcc override jumpers. Pre coppermine because I can see my mod (two ripped pins and one wire connection on the back) 😀 Vtt line has one 1uF, 9x 100nF and one 100uF electrolytic.

A-MAX 35-7712-00-02 (great slotket name). One unmarket jumper. Has some sort of regulator (LX907D ?) wired to AN3? pin you normally rip out to do a coppermine mod so Im guessing its Coppermine ready. Vtt rail has !32! 100nF and one 10uF electrolytic. Pretty impressive considering S370 has only ~19 Vtt pins 😀 and "Intel® Pentium® III and FC-PGA Celeron™ Processor/815E Chipset Universal Socket 370 Platform Customer Reference Board Schematics" (from Intel Platform Applications Engineering) suggests only 15 ceramics and two electrolytic for Vtt decoupling.

Open Source AT&T Globalyst/NCR/FIC 486-GAC-2 proprietary Cache Module reproduction

Reply 7 of 19, by mockingbird

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
rasz_pl wrote on 2022-10-25, 01:17:

Do Coppermine slotkets provide their own additional 1.5V bypassing? or even own Vtt supply? Mine are burried deep under pile of stuff now so cant check 🙁

Usually no, but there are exceptions, like the Abit Slotket 3 with its own voltage regulator. Upgradeware Slot-T also has its own regulator, and of course all Powerleap variants AFAIK.

Any need to add more caps to the 1.02, based on your datasheet research?

mslrlv.png
(Decommissioned:)
7ivtic.png

Reply 8 of 19, by wsy2220

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
rasz_pl wrote on 2022-10-25, 01:17:

https://eu.mouser.com/datasheet/2/308/2SB1202_D-1801446.pdf
Collector to Emitter Voltage is 1.5V. I see more like 2.5A at 40mA, just like mockingbird P2B 1.02 2SD1760 https://pl-1.org/getproductfile.axd?id=8364&f … ame=2SD1760.pdf

If I understand correctly, the Collector to Emitter Voltage should be 1.8v ( 3.3v - 1.5v). I just measured with my multimeter, it's close to 1.9v.
Found a mistake. Mine is indeed a 2SD1802 as shown in my picture.

rasz_pl wrote on 2022-10-25, 01:17:

A-Trend KIT370. FSB/Vcc override jumpers. Pre coppermine because I can see my mod (two ripped pins and one wire connection on the back) 😀 Vtt line has one 1uF, 9x 100nF and one 100uF electrolytic.

A-MAX 35-7712-00-02 (great slotket name). One unmarket jumper. Has some sort of regulator (LX907D ?) wired to AN3? pin you normally rip out to do a coppermine mod so Im guessing its Coppermine ready. Vtt rail has !32! 100nF and one 10uF electrolytic. Pretty impressive considering S370 has only ~19 Vtt pins 😀 and "Intel® Pentium® III and FC-PGA Celeron™ Processor/815E Chipset Universal Socket 370 Platform Customer Reference Board Schematics" (from Intel Platform Applications Engineering) suggests only 15 ceramics and two electrolytic for Vtt decoupling.

The original author of the usenet thread seems to fixed his problem by using an Asus S370-DL rev 1.02. I wonder if that slotket have its own power supply. My slotket use mother board Vtt directly with some 47uF caps.

I found an old news report about known good and bad slotkets by intel here. My '370 CPU Card 3.2' is on the bad list. But those good slotkets are hard to find so I tried my moset fix first and it worked. I suspect those good cards provide Vtt from Vcc.

My GA-6R7+ rev1.1 is on the way. Maybe I can verify that.

Reply 9 of 19, by rasz_pl

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
wsy2220 wrote on 2022-10-25, 03:40:
rasz_pl wrote on 2022-10-25, 01:17:

https://eu.mouser.com/datasheet/2/308/2SB1202_D-1801446.pdf
Collector to Emitter Voltage is 1.5V. I see more like 2.5A at 40mA, just like mockingbird P2B 1.02 2SD1760 https://pl-1.org/getproductfile.axd?id=8364&f … ame=2SD1760.pdf

If I understand correctly, the Collector to Emitter Voltage should be 1.8v ( 3.3v - 1.5v). I just measured with my multimeter, it's close to 1.9v.

I was going off the P2B diagram where rail is called 3V. You are right, in reality Vio is selectable on rev 1.10 with Vio jumper between afair 3.3V and 3.45V.
https://mbmanuals.retropc.se/manuals/1/p2b-110.pdf page 13. Afaik 1.12 added another jumper allowing you to bump Vcore by 0.1V
Btw P2B 1.10 already has ready spot for Vcore override jumpers on board - perfect for overclocking. Sadly they are unpopulated and disabled with R30A and RN99 (0 ohm jumper links).

Still, even with 3.45V Vio you wont go over 2.5A on 2SB1202/2SD1760 while 2SD1802 (whats supposed to be there in 1.12 documentation) does 3.5A.
>Found a mistake. Mine is indeed a 2SD1802 as shown in my picture.

never mind 😀

wsy2220 wrote on 2022-10-25, 03:40:

I found an old news report about known good and bad slotkets by intel here. My '370 CPU Card 3.2' is on the bad list.

> Gigabyte's GA-6R7 (superseded by a newer version, above), Iwill's Slocket II (no longer shipping), The MicroStar MS-6905 rev 1.0 and the Master rev 1.1 (superseded by a newer version above), the MagicPro MP-A8+ rev 4.0 (again superseded above), the Soltek SL-02A+ rev 4.0 (superseded). Others which have failed Intel's internal tests, according to the document are Azza's 370 CPU Card 3.2, Fastfame's 370SPC rev 1.0, Epox' EP-S1C revs 0.5 and 0.6, FIC's CK71 rev M99A05, 2theMax' EP-S1C rev 0.5, Eagles CM-1 and lastly the Super Slocket III CPU Card rev 1.0, produced by that top firm Unknown.

thats a lot of bad brand name sockets including something I would just blindly trust like MicroStar MS-6905 rev 1.0 and the Master rev 1.1

found picture of Azza 370 CPU Card 3.2 on year old sold auction https://allegrolokalnie.pl/oferta/slot370cpucardrev32 sold for $5 with P3 1GHz.
It doesnt look terrible when it comes to caps, as long as there is at least a couple inside the socket its not worse than my A-Trend KIT370 which I probably used with overclocked >1GHz coppermine Celerons

Open Source AT&T Globalyst/NCR/FIC 486-GAC-2 proprietary Cache Module reproduction

Reply 10 of 19, by rasz_pl

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
mockingbird wrote on 2022-10-25, 03:35:

Any need to add more caps to the 1.02, based on your datasheet research?

Sadly I dont have 1.02 manufacturing documentation 🙁 I would love to know what the pinout ready for 30 pin socket near JTCPU is!
I would definitely do wsy2220 mode and replace q8 with a mosfet if you are planning on overclocking/playing with >1GHz cpus/experience instability.

Fantastic detective work wsy2220 👍

Open Source AT&T Globalyst/NCR/FIC 486-GAC-2 proprietary Cache Module reproduction

Reply 11 of 19, by PARKE

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
rasz_pl wrote on 2022-10-25, 01:17:

A-MAX 35-7712-00-02 (great slotket name). One unmarket jumper. Has some sort of regulator (LX907D ?) wired to AN3? pin you normally rip out to do a coppermine mod so Im guessing its Coppermine ready. Vtt rail has !32! 100nF and one 10uF electrolytic. Pretty impressive considering S370 has only ~19 Vtt pins 😀 and "Intel® Pentium® III and FC-PGA Celeron™ Processor/815E Chipset Universal Socket 370 Platform Customer Reference Board Schematics" (from Intel Platform Applications Engineering) suggests only 15 ceramics and two electrolytic for Vtt decoupling.

Can you please post a photo of that slotket ?

Reply 12 of 19, by wsy2220

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

My GA-6R7+ rev 1.1 has arrived. It can pass modulo 20 test on my unmodified board. I hooked up my oscilloscope to Vtt on the motherboard. It still goes down to 1.3V.

Maybe something on this slotket make it draw less current than the other to not trigger over-current protection.

To measure the lowest voltage, I use single trigger mode of the oscilloscope, and set trigger on falling edge, trigger level to as low as possible. So if the Vtt has dropped cross the trigger level, I won't miss it.

To my suprise, when using GA-6R7+, the voltage never drops below 1.24V, while my original slotket drops to less than 0.2V before freeze.

I don't know how to explain that. Maybe the gigabyte slotket has more capacitance that it can absorb the transient load. I'll try to add some tantalum caps to the slotket. I was using electrolytic caps before.

In the HIP6019 reference design 1.5V output has 4 1000uF caps while the motherboard only has 100uF + 10uF caps. I'm not sure if that's also a problem.

Reply 13 of 19, by rasz_pl

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

First pin of slot1 edge connector A1 is Vtt. Buzz all the capacitors on the GA-6R7+ for continuity to that point and count them up. Its possible numerous strategically placed 100nF are the key. Just looking at it https://i.ebayimg.com/images/g/ZccAAOSwnjhjCDom/s-l1600.jpg I see 33uF tantalum and 12 100nF around the socket, probably another >10 inside. Every resistor network block has its own bypass cap.
GA-6R7+ also has that Q1 regulator most likely going to AN3. I still dont know whats that all about, havent dug into Coppermine docs.

wsy2220 wrote on 2022-10-25, 16:10:

To measure the lowest voltage, I use single trigger mode of the oscilloscope, and set trigger on falling edge, trigger level to as low as possible. So if the Vtt has dropped cross the trigger level, I won't miss it.

Duration and frequency of transients also plays a role, not to mention location with reference to other bus activity. But I suspect the most important is the point of measurement. You would have to solder probe points directly to the slotket near few resistor networks where it seems to be most critical.

PARKE wrote on 2022-10-25, 12:43:
rasz_pl wrote on 2022-10-25, 01:17:

A-MAX 35-7712-00-02 (great slotket name).

Can you please post a photo of that slotket ?

Fffff, I put it back even deeper under the rubble of hardware grr 😀 This will take some time.

Open Source AT&T Globalyst/NCR/FIC 486-GAC-2 proprietary Cache Module reproduction

Reply 14 of 19, by piokum77

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
rasz_pl wrote on 2022-10-25, 01:17:
https://eu.mouser.com/datasheet/2/308/2SB1202_D-1801446.pdf Collector to Emitter Voltage is 1.5V. I see more like 2.5A at 40mA, […]
Show full quote
wsy2220 wrote on 2022-10-24, 12:21:

value, but I found HIP6020A which has a drive current of only 40mA. This is consistent with my speculation. According to 2SB1202 datasheet, the collector current can only reach 3.5A when base current is 40mA, much lower than requred 5.38A.

https://eu.mouser.com/datasheet/2/308/2SB1202_D-1801446.pdf
Collector to Emitter Voltage is 1.5V. I see more like 2.5A at 40mA, just like mockingbird P2B 1.02 2SD1760 https://pl-1.org/getproductfile.axd?id=8364&f … ame=2SD1760.pdf

ASUS_Motherboard_P2B_1.10 boardview lists Q8 as RFD3055S on the diagram, sadly BOM file is cut off/missing for 1.10.
ASUS_Motherboard_P2B_1.12 diagram Q8 is the same RFD3055S, but BOM file is present and there Q8 is 2SD1802T-TL
https://eu.mouser.com/datasheet/2/308/2SB1202_D-1801446.pdf does 3.5A at 40mA.

Same HIP6019BCB-T in both designs. There are 4 caps on 1.5V line:

C87 0.1UF/25V (0603)
CT2 10UF/16V Tantalum
CE2A - bom lacks electrolytic caps, most likely the file provided is for SMD machine. Thankfuly 1.10 bundle included test measurement report listing this cap as 100.00uF

The only visible difference between the two is fourth capacitor near the socket.
1.10 CB18. Again BOM missing but test measurement report file lists CB18 1.000uF, and diagram provides 0603 size.
1.12 C94A 1UF/16V (0805).

So according to manufacturing files the only thing that changed between those two boards is insignificant size of one SMD cap and perhaps 2SD1802. Do Coppermine slotkets provide their own additional 1.5V bypassing? or even own Vtt supply? Mine are burried deep under pile of stuff now so cant check 🙁

... and my internert died so I went for a dig 😀

A-Trend KIT370. FSB/Vcc override jumpers. Pre coppermine because I can see my mod (two ripped pins and one wire connection on the back) 😀 Vtt line has one 1uF, 9x 100nF and one 100uF electrolytic.

A-MAX 35-7712-00-02 (great slotket name). One unmarket jumper. Has some sort of regulator (LX907D ?) wired to AN3? pin you normally rip out to do a coppermine mod so Im guessing its Coppermine ready. Vtt rail has !32! 100nF and one 10uF electrolytic. Pretty impressive considering S370 has only ~19 Vtt pins 😀 and "Intel® Pentium® III and FC-PGA Celeron™ Processor/815E Chipset Universal Socket 370 Platform Customer Reference Board Schematics" (from Intel Platform Applications Engineering) suggests only 15 ceramics and two electrolytic for Vtt decoupling.

Hello, could you tell me more about the A-Trend KIT370 adapter?

Reply 15 of 19, by PC Hoarder Patrol

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
piokum77 wrote on 2024-01-19, 13:38:
rasz_pl wrote on 2022-10-25, 01:17:
https://eu.mouser.com/datasheet/2/308/2SB1202_D-1801446.pdf Collector to Emitter Voltage is 1.5V. I see more like 2.5A at 40mA, […]
Show full quote
wsy2220 wrote on 2022-10-24, 12:21:

value, but I found HIP6020A which has a drive current of only 40mA. This is consistent with my speculation. According to 2SB1202 datasheet, the collector current can only reach 3.5A when base current is 40mA, much lower than requred 5.38A.

https://eu.mouser.com/datasheet/2/308/2SB1202_D-1801446.pdf
Collector to Emitter Voltage is 1.5V. I see more like 2.5A at 40mA, just like mockingbird P2B 1.02 2SD1760 https://pl-1.org/getproductfile.axd?id=8364&f … ame=2SD1760.pdf

ASUS_Motherboard_P2B_1.10 boardview lists Q8 as RFD3055S on the diagram, sadly BOM file is cut off/missing for 1.10.
ASUS_Motherboard_P2B_1.12 diagram Q8 is the same RFD3055S, but BOM file is present and there Q8 is 2SD1802T-TL
https://eu.mouser.com/datasheet/2/308/2SB1202_D-1801446.pdf does 3.5A at 40mA.

Same HIP6019BCB-T in both designs. There are 4 caps on 1.5V line:

C87 0.1UF/25V (0603)
CT2 10UF/16V Tantalum
CE2A - bom lacks electrolytic caps, most likely the file provided is for SMD machine. Thankfuly 1.10 bundle included test measurement report listing this cap as 100.00uF

The only visible difference between the two is fourth capacitor near the socket.
1.10 CB18. Again BOM missing but test measurement report file lists CB18 1.000uF, and diagram provides 0603 size.
1.12 C94A 1UF/16V (0805).

So according to manufacturing files the only thing that changed between those two boards is insignificant size of one SMD cap and perhaps 2SD1802. Do Coppermine slotkets provide their own additional 1.5V bypassing? or even own Vtt supply? Mine are burried deep under pile of stuff now so cant check 🙁

... and my internert died so I went for a dig 😀

A-Trend KIT370. FSB/Vcc override jumpers. Pre coppermine because I can see my mod (two ripped pins and one wire connection on the back) 😀 Vtt line has one 1uF, 9x 100nF and one 100uF electrolytic.

A-MAX 35-7712-00-02 (great slotket name). One unmarket jumper. Has some sort of regulator (LX907D ?) wired to AN3? pin you normally rip out to do a coppermine mod so Im guessing its Coppermine ready. Vtt rail has !32! 100nF and one 10uF electrolytic. Pretty impressive considering S370 has only ~19 Vtt pins 😀 and "Intel® Pentium® III and FC-PGA Celeron™ Processor/815E Chipset Universal Socket 370 Platform Customer Reference Board Schematics" (from Intel Platform Applications Engineering) suggests only 15 ceramics and two electrolytic for Vtt decoupling.

Hello, could you tell me more about the A-Trend KIT370 adapter?

Which adapter do you have?

A-Trend Sloket.jpg
Filename
A-Trend Sloket.jpg
File size
190.87 KiB
Views
523 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 17 of 19, by drianov

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I experience the same problem with ASUS P2B rev.1.02 and 370SP REV 2.0 adapter card (modified to support coppermine CPUs). First I changed the voltage regulator to HIP6019BCB to support the correct voltages but this did not help. Then I tried another adapter cards - 370CPU REV 1.0 (that is designed to support coppermines) and MS6905 VER 2.4 and with them the problem does not occur. Then I saw this thread and replaced B1802 with FR1205 but unfortunately this does dot help to me. The problem is obviously in the 370SP REV 2.0 adapter card. I modded it only by removing AM2 and connecting AH4 to X4. I read that it might be necessary to pull down ‘RTTCTRL' and 'SLEWCTRL’ but haven’t tried it yet. It’s strange that this 370SP REV 2.0 adapter card is working flawlessly in my P3B-F, the problem only occurs only in P2B.
Did you make some other changes to the board and the adapter meantime?