VOGONS

General advice for building first retro gaming pc

Topic actions

First post, by theiceman085

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank

Hello everyone I am new on this board and a total noob. So I want to apologise in advance for the noob question that is comming now.

Have always been a big fan of the 90s games. I am now interested in building a retro gaming rig for the first time to re visit some of the games I played back then and I want to play also many games for the first time I have missed back then. I missed some games back then because I could not afford to upgrade my gaming pc that often.

I want to cover the area from late 1997 to late 2000 if possible. There many possibilites to build the system but are some vendors preferable over the others are is it more a matter of personal preference?

Is a intel pentium or amd cpu the better choice?
Which gpu would be a good bet? ATI; 3dfx or NVDIA?

This more an informal thread for now. So I would to be curious hearing a few suggestions for the specs for my the personal needs I have mentioned above.

Thanks for the help in advance?

Reply 1 of 135, by kolderman

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

> I want to cover the area from late 1997 to late 2000 if possible.

So you are pretty much in the Windows only era, which simplifies things a lot, but covers a good deal of Glide games like Quake 2. I would probably build something like this:

Pentium 4 Northwood / Athlon XP (former is probably cheaper, latter allows for Voodoo3/5)
Geforce 4 Ti 4600/FX5900 (latter allows for better AA at higher res)
Audigy2 ZS (best quality and fewer issue compared to Live/Audigy), could also consider Vortex2 (if you care about A3D)
Voodoo2 (possibly in SLI) for quirky Glide games from 97/98
Win98 (XP wasn't out until 2002)

You could step down to Pentium3, which would still be fast enough, and allow for ISA sound cards, but if you are sure you won't be playing games prior to 1997 then it will be cheaper and easier to build a P4 system.