VOGONS

VIA VT-8321 sound on Windows 98

Topic actions

First post, by SavageKurtain

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

So, i've recently bought an old PC from a flea market, and i decided to install windows 98 on it. The problem is that the audio is missing, because of lack of drivers.
I checked the chipset and it is a VIA VT-8321, which should be compatible with win98 sound. Anyway, i ask here because maybe i'm wrong, i'm not an expert, so... Here's some photos of the chipset.

20230817-203734.jpg
20230817-203650.jpg
20230817-203642.jpg
20230817-203637.jpg

Does it will work with audio? If yes, what kind of drivers should i download, especially for Soundblaster compatibility?

Reply 2 of 90, by SavageKurtain

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Ydee wrote on 2023-08-18, 10:02:

Your AC97 codec seems to be VIA Vinyl VT1612? So you can try this driver 7.00b from member Soggi´s web: https://soggi.org/drivers/via.htm

You mean the second image? that is VIA VT-1621, not 1612. Or am i wrong?

Reply 3 of 90, by SavageKurtain

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
SavageKurtain wrote on 2023-08-18, 10:58:
Ydee wrote on 2023-08-18, 10:02:

Your AC97 codec seems to be VIA Vinyl VT1612? So you can try this driver 7.00b from member Soggi´s web: https://soggi.org/drivers/via.htm

You mean the second image? that is VIA VT-1621, not 1612. Or am i wrong?

Ah, ok, i've found it! it's in the little angle of the last photo. I didn't noticed it, at first.
image.png
Anyway, does it has support for Soundblaster, for old DOS games?

Reply 4 of 90, by asdf53

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank

Yes, it does. But some boards, especially if they are cheaper, lack an option to enable Soundblaster support it in the BIOS. If this is the case, then read here: Using VIA VT8231 southbridge for sound blaster pro emulation (edit : sound blaster emulation available using software !)

Reply 5 of 90, by SavageKurtain

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
asdf53 wrote on 2023-08-18, 13:34: