Common searches

2.1 speaker recommendations

Topic actions

First post, by d1stortion

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

I'm using an old cheap Logitech Z323 system for my consoles, but the sound leaves something to be desired. I'm not an expert on the matter by any means but trebles and midrange lack clarity and detail a lot. Additionally, I'm not using the 3.5" jack on it and as far as I can tell the wire acts as an antenna and causes an annoying buzzing noise. So I want something tangibly better, but ideally without paying an exorbitant price.

I'm not interested in surround sound but since the system would not be used predominantly for listening to music I feel that a subwoofer should be adequate, so that's why I decided on 2.1. Can anyone recommend me some good models? I'd buy either new or used. My budget is up to about $150 but ideally less. So yeah still not quite hi-fi territory I suppose... for example at this price point I noticed the Edifier C2X, but I'm not quite sure if it's noticeably better than what I have now.

Last edited by d1stortion on 2013-09-29, 18:51. Edited 1 time in total.

Reply 1 of 28, by Malik

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

I'm using this Altec Lansing VS2421 with one of my systems :

86971_vs2421.jpg

I know it's subjective, but the sounds are ok with deep bass.

YouTube VS2421 Demonstration.

5476332566_7480a12517_t.jpgSB Dos Drivers

Reply 3 of 28, by jwt27

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

I wouldn't recommend any PC speakers. Price/quality wise none of the PC sets I've heard can compete with proper hi-fi speakers. Problem with hi-fi speakers is that they take up a lot of space, however.

Reply 4 of 28, by d1stortion

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Maybe I missed something but I see neither RCA nor 3.5mm inputs on the Klipsch sub, only a 3.5mm in on one of the satellites...