VOGONS

Common searches

First post, by JayCeeBee64

User metadata
Rank Retired
Rank
Retired

After reading a similar topic in another forum (mostly IT oriented), I figured it would be a good idea to create one here ^^.

I'll admit it, I didn't learn about computers in a classroom or by listening to someone else more experienced. It was all self-taught by mostly trial and error, reading books and magazine articles when possible, and trying out new things out of the blue. Along the way I did some things that nowadays would qualify as dumb and even downright stupid 😅

I'll start with one of my earliest experiences, trying to install a sound card in my uncle's Packard Bell in 1993. Neither one of us knew about how to configure PC resources to get one working, and the Media Vision Jazz 16 was being very stubborn in trying to use IRQ 7 no matter what (the parallel port was using it already and caused constant hangs\freezes). Out of sheer frustration I just powered the PC up and tried to plug the card in an ISA slot while it was still on; the moment I did, the Packard Bell suddenly turned itself off. We looked at each other in disbelief for a long couple of minutes, then did the only thing I could do - unplug the PC, count to 10, plug it back in and press the power switch. The Packard Bell cam back to life and booted right up as if nothing ever happened. After that scare I just grabbed the Media Vision manual, went through it in detail, and finally figured out how to change the sound card's IRQ.